Header cover image

U.S. Air Freight and Logistics Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies25
  • 7D1.1%
  • 3M-8.8%
  • 1Y-11.4%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Air Freight and Logistics industry is up 1.1%, with FedEx up 2.9%. In the same time, ZTO Express (Cayman) was down 5.1%. In contrast, the industry has lost 11% in the last 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 12% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Air Freight and Logistics Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024US$235.0bUS$228.6bUS$12.7b20x18.5x1x
Tue, 21 May 2024US$248.4bUS$228.6bUS$12.7b21.2x19.6x1.1x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024US$236.3bUS$230.2bUS$13.8b15.9x17.1x1x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024US$249.4bUS$231.7bUS$13.6b19.5x18.4x1.1x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024US$239.0bUS$233.1bUS$13.7b17x17.4x1x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024US$258.0bUS$241.0bUS$16.1b15.9x16.1x1.1x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023US$261.0bUS$241.7bUS$15.9b15.9x16.4x1.1x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023US$246.3bUS$243.6bUS$16.1b14.9x15.3x1x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023US$263.5bUS$248.9bUS$17.8b13.2x14.8x1.1x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023US$279.0bUS$250.8bUS$17.6b15.6x15.8x1.1x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023US$297.8bUS$258.0bUS$18.8b15x15.9x1.2x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023US$269.9bUS$258.4bUS$18.8b14x14.4x1x
Wed, 24 May 2023US$272.2bUS$261.0bUS$17.8b14.5x15.3x1x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023US$294.4bUS$266.8bUS$18.8b14.9x15.6x1.1x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023US$282.1bUS$266.6bUS$18.8b13.9x15x1.1x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023US$285.4bUS$269.7bUS$19.3b14x14.8x1.1x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023US$274.5bUS$272.1bUS$19.1b14.3x14.3x1x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022US$263.6bUS$272.6bUS$19.4b12.5x13.6x1x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022US$240.8bUS$271.9bUS$19.3b10.6x12.5x0.9x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022US$250.3bUS$270.7bUS$19.2b10.5x13.1x0.9x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022US$294.7bUS$268.7bUS$19.4b12x15.2x1.1x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022US$299.1bUS$266.7bUS$19.2b11.5x15.5x1.1x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022US$287.5bUS$264.1bUS$18.9b12.8x15.2x1.1x
Thu, 26 May 2022US$272.2bUS$262.2bUS$20.2b11.3x13.5x1x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022US$281.3bUS$256.1bUS$22.0b12.2x12.8x1.1x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022US$322.6bUS$260.5bUS$22.1b14.8x14.6x1.2x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022US$325.4bUS$253.8bUS$21.7b14.6x15x1.3x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022US$334.2bUS$248.1bUS$15.1b18.1x22.2x1.3x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021US$330.7bUS$245.1bUS$15.2b18x21.7x1.3x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021US$327.8bUS$249.7bUS$14.9b17.2x22x1.3x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021US$294.3bUS$242.4bUS$14.0b18.9x21x1.2x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021US$321.3bUS$234.9bUS$14.5b18.2x22.2x1.4x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021US$313.4bUS$234.9bUS$14.5b17.6x21.6x1.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

22.8x


Total Market Cap: US$328.9bTotal Earnings: US$14.4bTotal Revenue: US$227.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Air Freight and Logistics Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 16.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Air Freight and Logistics industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 18.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 16.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Air Freight and Logistics industry have declined 4.1% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Air Freight and Logistics compare with similar industries?

US Market0.51%
Industrials1.32%
Logistics1.08%
Air Freight and Logistics1.08%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FDX FedExUS$253.662.9%
+US$1.8b
9.2%PE14.2x
UPS United Parcel ServiceUS$136.600.7%
+US$812.8m
-19.3%PE19.7x
EXPD Expeditors International of WashingtonUS$126.422.5%
+US$428.0m
10.5%PE25.7x
CHRW C.H. Robinson WorldwideUS$86.793.8%
+US$373.5m
-4.0%PE33.5x
AAWW Atlas Air Worldwide HoldingsUS$102.483.0%
+US$84.8m
19.2%PE8.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CHRW

US$86.79

C.H. Robinson Worldwide

7D

3.8%

1Y

-4.0%

FDX

US$253.66

FedEx

7D

2.9%

1Y

9.2%

GXO

US$47.85

GXO Logistics

7D

-0.2%

1Y

-20.8%

BEST

US$2.72

BEST

7D

17.2%

1Y

35.3%

FWRD

US$20.18

Forward Air

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-79.7%

HUBG

US$43.05

Hub Group

7D

2.4%

1Y

12.5%

GVH

US$0.87

Globavend Holdings

7D

-10.3%

1Y

n/a

ATXG

US$0.87

Addentax Group

7D

-12.1%

1Y

-88.6%

AAWW

US$102.48

Atlas Air Worldwide Holdings

7D

3.0%

1Y

19.2%