Header cover image

U.S. Transportation Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies39
  • 7D-3.1%
  • 3M7.9%
  • 1Y34.7%
  • YTD6.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Transportation industry has dropped 3.1%, driven by Union Pacific declining 4.0%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 35%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 22% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Transportation Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 17 Apr 2024US$618.3bUS$214.9bUS$18.2b22.8x34x2.9x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024US$647.0bUS$212.8bUS$17.5b22.5x36.9x3x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024US$624.3bUS$212.9bUS$16.6b24.8x37.6x2.9x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024US$566.0bUS$216.1bUS$16.9b21.6x33.4x2.6x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023US$557.1bUS$216.1bUS$16.8b21.5x33.2x2.6x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023US$500.8bUS$214.5bUS$14.9b19.1x33.7x2.3x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023US$500.7bUS$217.5bUS$16.6b14.3x30.2x2.3x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023US$521.6bUS$214.3bUS$13.8b15.1x37.9x2.4x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023US$545.8bUS$214.6bUS$11.7b13.3x46.7x2.5x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023US$483.3bUS$217.0bUS$12.9b12.7x37.4x2.2x
Tue, 23 May 2023US$468.0bUS$217.5bUS$12.9b13.8x36.3x2.2x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023US$460.5bUS$220.7bUS$3.5b13.5x132.6x2.1x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023US$442.0bUS$221.0bUS$3.5b14.2x125.5x2x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023US$500.1bUS$220.3bUS$2.6b15.5x194.4x2.3x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023US$491.6bUS$221.6bUS$3.4b10.5x144.9x2.2x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022US$478.2bUS$220.9bUS$3.6b10.3x133.1x2.2x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022US$444.0bUS$219.5bUS$3.5b9.2x126.9x2x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022US$425.8bUS$206.1bUS$992.9m9x428.8x2.1x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022US$470.0bUS$206.9bUS$757.1m9.1x620.8x2.3x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022US$477.7bUS$202.3bUS$4.2b9.7x114.1x2.4x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022US$450.0bUS$195.5bUS$2.5b9.4x179.8x2.3x
Wed, 25 May 2022US$434.8bUS$195.4bUS$2.4b9.8x180.8x2.2x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022US$510.9bUS$187.2bUS$5.8b13.4x88.8x2.7x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022US$582.7bUS$187.9bUS$7.7b15.3x75.7x3.1x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022US$561.2bUS$186.6bUS$7.7b15.3x72.4x3x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022US$611.7bUS$183.9bUS$4.5b17x135.6x3.3x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021US$619.7bUS$181.2bUS$12.4b17.4x49.8x3.4x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021US$651.6bUS$180.8bUS$12.6b19x51.5x3.6x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021US$583.7bUS$171.9bUS$11.5b17.7x50.6x3.4x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021US$591.2bUS$174.4bUS$11.2b18.3x52.7x3.4x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021US$595.1bUS$174.4bUS$11.2b18.7x53x3.4x
Wed, 05 May 2021US$564.3bUS$131.8bUS$7.9b28.3x71x4.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

71x


Total Market Cap: US$564.3bTotal Earnings: US$7.9bTotal Revenue: US$131.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Transportation Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 151.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Transportation industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 34.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 152x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Transportation industry have grown 32% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 18% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Industrials industry?

US Market-3.45%
Industrials-3.21%
Transportation-3.13%
Trucking-1.47%
Railroads-3.75%
Cargo Ground Transportation-4.13%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Trucking industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 42.5%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 70.1% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Railroads industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 21.3x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Trucking industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 43% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 70% per year.
  • In contrast, the Railroads industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.6% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FIP FTAI InfrastructureUS$6.775.0%
+US$32.5m
115.6%PS2.1x
MRT Marti TechnologiesUS$1.4610.6%
+US$8.0m
-86.0%n/a
DSKE DasekeUS$8.290.2%
+US$944.0k
7.8%PS0.2x
PATI Patriot Transportation HoldingUS$16.260.5%
+US$284.3k
118.3%PE21.6x
YGMZ MingZhu Logistics HoldingsUS$0.391.4%
+US$148.7k
-67.3%PS0.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News