Header cover image

U.S. Gas Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D3.3%
  • 3M3.9%
  • 1Y-13.1%
  • YTD-2.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Gas Utilities industry has risen 2.6%, driven by gains from every company within the industry. In contrast, the industry has lost 14% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Gas Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 22 Feb 2024US$53.0bUS$34.4bUS$1.8b14.7x29.3x1.5x
Sat, 20 Jan 2024US$56.0bUS$38.4bUS$1.5b15.4x37.8x1.5x
Mon, 18 Dec 2023US$57.7bUS$38.4bUS$1.5b16.2x39.1x1.5x
Wed, 15 Nov 2023US$53.6bUS$39.4bUS$1.6b14.9x33.6x1.4x
Fri, 13 Oct 2023US$51.2bUS$37.5bUS$684.8m17.1x74.7x1.4x
Sun, 10 Sep 2023US$52.2bUS$37.5bUS$684.8m18.2x76.3x1.4x
Tue, 08 Aug 2023US$54.1bUS$37.3bUS$649.4m19.1x83.3x1.4x
Thu, 06 Jul 2023US$54.4bUS$38.4bUS$1.5b18.9x36.7x1.4x
Sat, 03 Jun 2023US$54.8bUS$38.4bUS$1.5b20x37x1.4x
Mon, 01 May 2023US$56.2bUS$38.5bUS$2.4b19.6x23.7x1.5x
Wed, 29 Mar 2023US$56.1bUS$38.5bUS$2.4b19.6x23.7x1.5x
Fri, 24 Feb 2023US$57.8bUS$38.1bUS$2.7b20.9x21.3x1.5x
Sun, 22 Jan 2023US$57.0bUS$36.7bUS$3.4b19.3x16.6x1.6x
Tue, 20 Dec 2022US$56.0bUS$36.7bUS$3.4b18.8x16.3x1.5x
Thu, 17 Nov 2022US$55.9bUS$35.9bUS$3.7b20.4x15.1x1.6x
Sat, 15 Oct 2022US$51.5bUS$35.0bUS$3.6b18x14.1x1.5x
Mon, 12 Sep 2022US$59.4bUS$35.0bUS$3.6b20.6x16.3x1.7x
Wed, 10 Aug 2022US$59.2bUS$34.6bUS$3.7b21x16.1x1.7x
Fri, 08 Jul 2022US$58.1bUS$32.9bUS$3.6b21.5x16.3x1.8x
Sun, 05 Jun 2022US$62.0bUS$32.9bUS$3.6b22.5x17.4x1.9x
Tue, 03 May 2022US$57.0bUS$30.4bUS$3.1b21.7x18.5x1.9x
Thu, 31 Mar 2022US$58.6bUS$30.4bUS$3.1b21.7x19x1.9x
Sat, 26 Feb 2022US$57.9bUS$31.6bUS$3.6b17.3x15.9x1.8x
Mon, 24 Jan 2022US$57.4bUS$30.9bUS$3.8b17.4x15x1.9x
Wed, 22 Dec 2021US$57.7bUS$30.9bUS$3.8b18.1x15.1x1.9x
Fri, 19 Nov 2021US$55.1bUS$30.3bUS$3.4b17.6x16.4x1.8x
Sun, 17 Oct 2021US$49.0bUS$27.3bUS$3.1b17.8x15.8x1.8x
Tue, 14 Sep 2021US$47.8bUS$27.3bUS$3.1b17.5x15.5x1.7x
Thu, 12 Aug 2021US$51.7bUS$27.5bUS$3.1b19x16.6x1.9x
Mon, 07 Jun 2021US$50.9bUS$26.6bUS$3.1b18.2x16.3x1.9x
Sun, 28 Feb 2021US$44.7bUS$24.8bUS$2.3b16.7x19.5x1.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.5x


Total Market Cap: US$44.7bTotal Earnings: US$2.3bTotal Revenue: US$24.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Gas Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Gas Utilities industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 29.3x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 25.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Gas Utilities industry have declined 7.6% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Utilities industry?

US Market-0.48%
Utilities2.71%
Gas Utilities3.28%
Gas Utilities3.28%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BIPC Brookfield InfrastructureUS$37.115.6%
+US$280.3m
-15.0%PE47.8x
NFG National Fuel GasUS$49.616.1%
+US$262.6m
-13.5%PE10.4x
ATO Atmos EnergyUS$114.691.5%
+US$257.9m
-0.8%PE18.7x
SWX Southwest Gas HoldingsUS$61.876.1%
+US$256.0m
-3.5%PS0.8x
UGI UGIUS$24.523.5%
+US$176.0m
-35.5%PS0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.