Header cover image

U.S. Pharma Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies278
  • 7D-1.7%
  • 3M-2.1%
  • 1Y17.9%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Pharma industry has dropped 1.7%, driven by a pullback from Johnson & Johnson of 4.5%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 18%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 24% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Pharma Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 29 May 2024US$1.9tUS$358.3bUS$14.1b16x133.3x5.2x
Fri, 26 Apr 2024US$1.8tUS$359.5bUS$17.5b21.9x101.6x5x
Sun, 24 Mar 2024US$1.9tUS$355.3bUS$22.6b19.8x82.6x5.3x
Tue, 20 Feb 2024US$1.9tUS$355.0bUS$23.9b28.3x79.4x5.4x
Thu, 18 Jan 2024US$1.8tUS$375.2bUS$33.9b27.6x51.7x4.7x
Sat, 16 Dec 2023US$1.6tUS$375.1bUS$33.9b26.7x48.6x4.4x
Mon, 13 Nov 2023US$1.6tUS$375.5bUS$34.1b26.5x47.6x4.3x
Wed, 11 Oct 2023US$1.7tUS$381.8bUS$43.8b18.1x38.6x4.4x
Fri, 08 Sep 2023US$1.8tUS$381.8bUS$43.9b19.3x41.3x4.7x
Sun, 06 Aug 2023US$1.7tUS$379.8bUS$43.1b21.5x39.1x4.4x
Tue, 04 Jul 2023US$1.7tUS$392.8bUS$60.2b18.6x29x4.4x
Thu, 01 Jun 2023US$1.7tUS$393.0bUS$60.6b17.8x27.7x4.3x
Sat, 29 Apr 2023US$1.7tUS$400.2bUS$62.2b17.4x27x4.2x
Mon, 27 Mar 2023US$1.6tUS$401.2bUS$69.5b14.7x22.3x3.9x
Wed, 22 Feb 2023US$1.6tUS$401.7bUS$68.4b17.9x23.6x4x
Fri, 20 Jan 2023US$1.7tUS$403.7bUS$70.6b17.7x23.9x4.2x
Sun, 18 Dec 2022US$1.7tUS$403.7bUS$70.7b16.7x24.6x4.3x
Tue, 15 Nov 2022US$1.7tUS$403.6bUS$71.1b12.9x24x4.2x
Thu, 13 Oct 2022US$1.6tUS$403.0bUS$71.3b12.2x21.8x3.9x
Sat, 10 Sep 2022US$1.6tUS$403.0bUS$71.3b14x22.5x4x
Mon, 08 Aug 2022US$1.6tUS$403.3bUS$69.5b19.3x23.5x4.1x
Wed, 06 Jul 2022US$1.7tUS$392.4bUS$65.1b22.1x26x4.3x
Fri, 03 Jun 2022US$1.7tUS$392.5bUS$64.8b21.5x25.7x4.2x
Sun, 01 May 2022US$1.6tUS$380.0bUS$61.3b20.5x26.7x4.3x
Tue, 29 Mar 2022US$1.7tUS$373.8bUS$60.4b22.2x27.4x4.4x
Thu, 24 Feb 2022US$1.5tUS$373.4bUS$59.2b20.8x25.4x4x
Sat, 22 Jan 2022US$1.6tUS$361.3bUS$37.7b22.8x41.4x4.3x
Mon, 20 Dec 2021US$1.6tUS$361.1bUS$38.1b22.6x42.9x4.5x
Wed, 17 Nov 2021US$1.6tUS$360.6bUS$38.5b24.1x41.4x4.4x
Fri, 15 Oct 2021US$1.5tUS$337.7bUS$24.8b21.6x60x4.4x
Sun, 12 Sep 2021US$1.5tUS$338.7bUS$25.4b18.4x60.1x4.5x
Tue, 10 Aug 2021US$1.6tUS$338.5bUS$25.8b21.9x61.7x4.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

68.9x


Total Market Cap: US$1.5tTotal Earnings: US$21.4bTotal Revenue: US$323.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Pharma Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 42.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Pharmaceuticals industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 133x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 42.8x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.4x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 5.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Pharmaceuticals industry have declined 13% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 3.5% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Pharma compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.58%
Healthcare-2.29%
Pharma-1.72%
Pharma-1.72%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LLY Eli LillyUS$811.531.1%
+US$7.8b
89.0%PE119x
CORT Corcept TherapeuticsUS$31.5310.2%
+US$303.0m
34.2%PE28x
ELAN Elanco Animal HealthUS$17.402.8%
+US$232.3m
113.5%PS2x
GHRS GH ResearchUS$14.3416.0%
+US$103.0m
31.6%PB3.6x
BLTE Belite BioUS$47.796.1%
+US$80.5m
189.8%PB14.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

VTRS

US$10.31

Viatris

7D

-5.2%

1Y

12.7%

MRK

US$125.90

Merck

7D

-4.0%

1Y

14.0%

CORT

US$31.53

Corcept Therapeutics

7D

10.2%

1Y

34.2%

ZTS

US$170.80

Zoetis

7D

-0.7%

1Y

4.8%

HROW

US$18.56

Harrow

7D

12.6%

1Y

-3.1%

ELAN

US$17.40

Elanco Animal Health

7D

2.8%

1Y

113.5%

GHRS

US$14.34

GH Research

7D

16.0%

1Y

31.6%

TEVA

US$16.45

Teva Pharmaceutical Industries

7D

-2.5%

1Y

128.5%

RPRX

US$26.39

Royalty Pharma

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-19.4%

GPCR

US$37.08

Structure Therapeutics

7D

3.5%

1Y

17.1%

BLTE

US$47.79

Belite Bio

7D

6.1%

1Y

189.8%