Header cover image

U.S. Industrial Gases Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D0.7%
  • 3M1.3%
  • 1Y15.6%
  • YTDn/a

The Industrial Gases industry has been flat over the last week, but Global Gas has lost 14%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 16% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 9.2% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Industrial Gases Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024US$268.2bUS$44.9bUS$8.8b28.5x30.6x6x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024US$266.4bUS$45.3bUS$8.5b28.4x31.2x5.9x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024US$278.5bUS$45.3bUS$8.5b29.5x32.7x6.2x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024US$258.3bUS$45.3bUS$8.5b27.7x30.3x5.7x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024US$257.0bUS$45.1bUS$8.3b29.4x31.1x5.7x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023US$266.3bUS$45.1bUS$8.3b30.2x32.2x5.9x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023US$247.9bUS$45.1bUS$8.3b28.6x30x5.5x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023US$244.7bUS$46.1bUS$7.9b30.3x31.1x5.3x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023US$256.0bUS$46.1bUS$7.9b31.9x32.5x5.6x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023US$253.7bUS$46.2bUS$7.9b31.8x32.3x5.5x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023US$253.1bUS$46.5bUS$6.7b36.1x38x5.4x
Mon, 29 May 2023US$235.2bUS$46.5bUS$6.7b33.5x35.4x5.1x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023US$244.4bUS$46.2bUS$6.4b36x38.2x5.3x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023US$227.3bUS$46.2bUS$6.4b33.4x35.5x4.9x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023US$220.5bUS$46.2bUS$6.4b32.9x34.4x4.8x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023US$233.7bUS$46.5bUS$6.1b36.8x38.4x5x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022US$240.6bUS$46.5bUS$6.1b38x39.5x5.2x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022US$227.2bUS$46.5bUS$6.1b35.5x37.3x4.9x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022US$187.1bUS$44.6bUS$5.8b30.6x32.4x4.2x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022US$192.2bUS$44.6bUS$5.8b31.6x33.2x4.3x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022US$207.6bUS$44.0bUS$5.7b34.3x36.3x4.7x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022US$196.6bUS$43.1bUS$6.2b30.2x31.8x4.6x
Tue, 31 May 2022US$220.7bUS$43.1bUS$6.2b33.3x35.7x5.1x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022US$207.0bUS$41.7bUS$5.9b32.6x34.9x5x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022US$214.4bUS$41.8bUS$5.9b33.9x36.2x5.1x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022US$207.4bUS$41.8bUS$5.9b32.8x35x5x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022US$226.8bUS$40.1bUS$5.6b38.5x40.6x5.7x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021US$240.5bUS$40.1bUS$5.6b40.9x43.1x6x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021US$241.1bUS$40.1bUS$5.6b41.1x43.2x6x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021US$210.8bUS$38.8bUS$5.2b38.2x40.3x5.4x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021US$220.0bUS$38.8bUS$5.2b39.6x42.3x5.7x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021US$222.1bUS$38.8bUS$5.2b40.4x42.7x5.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

46.9x


Total Market Cap: US$222.3bTotal Earnings: US$4.7bTotal Revenue: US$37.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Industrial Gases Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 35.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Industrial Gases industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 30.6x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 35.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.3x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 6.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Industrial Gases industry have grown 23% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.6% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Industrial Gases compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.22%
Materials-1.30%
Chemicals-0.71%
Industrial Gases0.71%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals-0.81%
Specialty Chemicals-1.34%
Commodity Chemicals-1.64%
Diversified Chemicals-4.03%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LIN LindeUS$435.570.7%
+US$1.5b
22.3%PE33.2x
APD Air Products and ChemicalsUS$264.610.7%
+US$424.6m
-3.4%PE23.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.