Header cover image

U.S. Soft Drinks Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies36
  • 7D-1.9%
  • 3M4.1%
  • 1Y2.3%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Soft Drinks industry has dropped 1.9%, driven by pullbacks in Coca-Cola and PepsiCo of 1.9% and 2.1%, respectively. As for the longer term, the industry's performance has been flat for the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 8.8% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Soft Drinks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 25 May 2024US$680.7bUS$185.2bUS$25.9b25.1x26.3x3.7x
Mon, 22 Apr 2024US$646.8bUS$183.3bUS$25.5b25.1x25.3x3.5x
Wed, 20 Mar 2024US$653.8bUS$183.6bUS$25.5b26x25.6x3.6x
Fri, 16 Feb 2024US$636.4bUS$182.7bUS$25.3b25.4x25.2x3.5x
Sun, 14 Jan 2024US$650.3bUS$182.3bUS$24.6b28.1x26.5x3.6x
Tue, 12 Dec 2023US$638.6bUS$181.8bUS$24.5b28.1x26x3.5x
Thu, 09 Nov 2023US$627.0bUS$181.7bUS$24.5b28.1x25.6x3.5x
Sat, 07 Oct 2023US$586.5bUS$177.8bUS$23.1b26.9x25.4x3.3x
Mon, 04 Sep 2023US$651.4bUS$178.7bUS$23.1b29.9x28.2x3.6x
Wed, 02 Aug 2023US$675.6bUS$178.4bUS$22.9b31.2x29.5x3.8x
Fri, 30 Jun 2023US$659.5bUS$175.0bUS$20.6b32.4x32x3.8x
Sun, 28 May 2023US$660.2bUS$174.6bUS$20.6b33.4x32.1x3.8x
Tue, 25 Apr 2023US$678.3bUS$171.1bUS$22.4b31.6x30.2x4x
Thu, 23 Mar 2023US$639.3bUS$170.7bUS$22.4b30.1x28.5x3.7x
Sat, 18 Feb 2023US$640.9bUS$169.7bUS$22.7b27.5x28.3x3.8x
Mon, 16 Jan 2023US$647.1bUS$166.0bUS$23.8b27.7x27.1x3.9x
Wed, 14 Dec 2022US$672.6bUS$165.6bUS$23.8b29.2x28.3x4.1x
Fri, 11 Nov 2022US$652.9bUS$165.5bUS$24.0b30.9x27.2x3.9x
Sun, 09 Oct 2022US$586.0bUS$161.1bUS$23.4b25.3x25x3.6x
Tue, 06 Sep 2022US$630.8bUS$161.1bUS$23.4b29.5x26.9x3.9x
Thu, 04 Aug 2022US$658.1bUS$160.5bUS$23.5b30.5x28x4.1x
Sat, 02 Jul 2022US$642.3bUS$157.5bUS$25.3b27.7x25.4x4.1x
Mon, 30 May 2022US$643.6bUS$157.4bUS$25.3b25.3x25.4x4.1x
Wed, 27 Apr 2022US$644.8bUS$156.0bUS$25.0b25.4x25.8x4.1x
Fri, 25 Mar 2022US$611.0bUS$153.3bUS$21.9b27.1x27.8x4x
Sun, 20 Feb 2022US$625.4bUS$152.2bUS$21.5b28.1x29.1x4.1x
Tue, 18 Jan 2022US$640.5bUS$149.0bUS$21.1b30.2x30.4x4.3x
Thu, 16 Dec 2021US$615.4bUS$148.6bUS$21.0b29.2x29.3x4.1x
Sat, 13 Nov 2021US$598.9bUS$149.2bUS$21.1b28.5x28.3x4x
Mon, 11 Oct 2021US$575.0bUS$146.7bUS$20.2b29x28.5x3.9x
Wed, 08 Sep 2021US$589.1bUS$145.0bUS$20.3b26.4x29.1x4.1x
Fri, 06 Aug 2021US$584.4bUS$145.0bUS$20.3b27.8x28.8x4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

30.8x


Total Market Cap: US$569.2bTotal Earnings: US$18.5bTotal Revenue: US$137.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Soft Drinks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Soft Drinks industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 3.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Soft Drinks industry have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Soft Drinks compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.91%
Consumer Staples-1.70%
Beverage-2.18%
Soft Drinks-1.86%
Distillers and Wine Makers-4.30%
Brewers-6.24%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
KDP Keurig Dr PepperUS$34.191.3%
+US$596.5m
8.9%PE21.4x
COKE Coca-Cola ConsolidatedUS$992.655.9%
+US$521.6m
47.5%PE20.4x
CELH Celsius HoldingsUS$95.152.3%
+US$496.5m
125.8%PE103x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.