Header cover image

U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D0.9%
  • 3M6.2%
  • 1Y49.3%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Electronics industry has dropped 2.3%, driven by a pullback from Garmin of 1.2%. In the past year, the industry has gained 44%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 11% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024US$35.5bUS$10.6bUS$880.5m22.7x40.3x3.3x
Tue, 21 May 2024US$38.4bUS$11.7bUS$850.7m24x45.1x3.3x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024US$32.7bUS$11.5bUS$1.1b21x29.9x2.8x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024US$34.0bUS$11.5bUS$1.1b21.7x31x2.9x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024US$28.7bUS$11.4bUS$841.2m22.7x34.2x2.5x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024US$28.4bUS$11.5bUS$845.6m22.4x33.6x2.5x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023US$28.9bUS$11.5bUS$845.6m22.9x34.2x2.5x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023US$26.1bUS$11.6bUS$846.1m68.3x30.9x2.3x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023US$24.4bUS$11.5bUS$810.8m19.9x30.1x2.1x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023US$24.8bUS$11.5bUS$810.8m20.4x30.6x2.2x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023US$25.4bUS$11.5bUS$838.6m20.8x30.3x2.2x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023US$24.8bUS$11.5bUS$802.5m20.1x30.9x2.2x
Wed, 24 May 2023US$25.2bUS$11.5bUS$802.5m20.6x31.4x2.2x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023US$25.3bUS$11.9bUS$969.4m24.3x26.1x2.1x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023US$24.9bUS$11.9bUS$969.4m26.5x25.7x2.1x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023US$25.9bUS$12.1bUS$944.5m30.5x27.4x2.1x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023US$25.5bUS$12.2bUS$1.0b19.8x24.4x2.1x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022US$24.5bUS$12.2bUS$1.0b18.8x24.2x2x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022US$23.1bUS$12.4bUS$1.0b16.6x22.6x1.9x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022US$22.3bUS$12.5bUS$1.4b15.9x16.5x1.8x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022US$24.1bUS$12.5bUS$1.4b17x17.8x1.9x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022US$26.6bUS$12.4bUS$1.4b20x19.3x2.1x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022US$26.3bUS$12.5bUS$1.4b18x18.2x2.1x
Thu, 26 May 2022US$135.4bUS$90.5bUS$8.4b16.8x16.2x1.5x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022US$28.9bUS$12.3bUS$1.5b19.9x19.6x2.3x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022US$32.2bUS$12.3bUS$1.5b21.8x21.8x2.6x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022US$33.8bUS$12.4bUS$1.6b20.4x21.1x2.7x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022US$37.0bUS$12.3bUS$1.6b22.5x23.2x3x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021US$38.5bUS$12.3bUS$1.6b22x23.4x3.1x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021US$40.7bUS$12.3bUS$1.7b21.9x23.6x3.3x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021US$42.3bUS$12.1bUS$1.5b23.4x28.1x3.5x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021US$47.9bUS$12.3bUS$1.5b25.1x31.6x3.9x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021US$43.7bUS$12.3bUS$1.5b21.5x28.9x3.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28.7x


Total Market Cap: US$41.7bTotal Earnings: US$1.4bTotal Revenue: US$11.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 26.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Consumer Electronics industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 40.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 26.8x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.5x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Electronics industry have declined 15% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Consumer Electronics compare with similar industries?

US Market0.54%
Consumer Discretionary1.68%
Consumer Durables-1.07%
Consumer Electronics0.89%
Home Furnishings1.84%
Household Appliances-0.48%
Homebuilding-1.70%
Housewares and Specialties-3.82%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GRMN GarminUS$161.451.2%
+US$368.8m
59.0%PE22.7x
VOXX VOXX InternationalUS$3.748.1%
+US$6.3m
-66.8%PS0.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.