Header cover image

U.S. Tobacco Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-1.4%
  • 3M-7.6%
  • 1Y-1.0%
  • YTD-7.5%

In the last week, Tobacco has been flat. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 78% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Tobacco Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 22 Feb 2024US$5.5bUS$5.5b-US$5,914,278.6021.3x-922.2x1x
Sat, 20 Jan 2024US$5.2bUS$5.6b-US$19,686,092.0023.8x-266x0.9x
Mon, 18 Dec 2023US$5.9bUS$5.6b-US$29,805,348.0024.3x-196.5x1x
Wed, 15 Nov 2023US$5.3bUS$5.5b-US$45,041,930.0032.9x-117.1x1x
Fri, 13 Oct 2023US$4.6bUS$5.6bUS$55.0m29.5x84x0.8x
Sun, 10 Sep 2023US$4.5bUS$5.6bUS$52.6m32.2x84.8x0.8x
Tue, 08 Aug 2023US$4.8bUS$5.8bUS$84.5m26.2x56.7x0.8x
Thu, 06 Jul 2023US$5.0bUS$5.7bUS$91.0m29x55.5x0.9x
Sat, 03 Jun 2023US$5.1bUS$5.7bUS$82.9m28.5x61.6x0.9x
Mon, 01 May 2023US$6.2bUS$5.9bUS$189.5m18x32.9x1.1x
Wed, 29 Mar 2023US$5.4bUS$5.8bUS$200.7m15.1x27x0.9x
Fri, 24 Feb 2023US$5.3bUS$6.0bUS$344.6m10.1x15.4x0.9x
Sun, 22 Jan 2023US$6.3bUS$5.7bUS$315.6m11.9x20.1x1.1x
Tue, 20 Dec 2022US$5.6bUS$5.7bUS$306.7m11.3x18.4x1x
Thu, 17 Nov 2022US$4.4bUS$5.6bUS$307.6m8.4x14.3x0.8x
Sat, 15 Oct 2022US$3.5bUS$5.4bUS$364.6m6.7x9.7x0.7x
Mon, 12 Sep 2022US$4.2bUS$5.5bUS$431.1m7.6x9.8x0.8x
Wed, 10 Aug 2022US$4.7bUS$5.5bUS$473.1m8x9.8x0.8x
Fri, 08 Jul 2022US$5.7bUS$5.4bUS$487.5m8.5x11.7x1x
Sun, 05 Jun 2022US$5.4bUS$5.3bUS$377.5m8.3x14.3x1x
Tue, 03 May 2022US$5.6bUS$5.4bUS$231.2m10.8x24.4x1x
Thu, 31 Mar 2022US$5.1bUS$5.5bUS$248.3m9.7x20.5x0.9x
Sat, 26 Feb 2022US$6.6bUS$5.4bUS$141.4m12.4x46.6x1.2x
Mon, 24 Jan 2022US$7.3bUS$5.4bUS$159.1m13.5x45.9x1.4x
Wed, 22 Dec 2021US$7.6bUS$5.4bUS$158.0m13.6x47.9x1.4x
Fri, 19 Nov 2021US$8.5bUS$5.3bUS$6.3m13.3x1350.6x1.6x
Sun, 17 Oct 2021US$99.9bUS$26.3bUS$4.6b19.9x21.5x3.8x
Tue, 14 Sep 2021US$98.9bUS$26.3bUS$4.6b19.7x21.3x3.8x
Thu, 12 Aug 2021US$99.6bUS$26.3bUS$4.6b19.6x21.5x3.8x
Mon, 07 Jun 2021US$112.2bUS$25.4bUS$4.2b20.2x26.5x4.4x
Sun, 28 Feb 2021US$109.3bUS$25.3bUS$4.4b19.6x25.1x4.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

25.1x


Total Market Cap: US$109.3bTotal Earnings: US$4.4bTotal Revenue: US$25.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Tobacco Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -23.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Tobacco industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.99x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Tobacco industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 40% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Consumer Staples industry?

US Market-0.48%
Consumer Staples2.20%
Tobacco-1.38%
Tobacco-1.38%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PM Philip Morris InternationalUS$90.571.5%
+US$2.1b
-9.1%PE18x
MO Altria GroupUS$40.470.2%
+US$123.4m
-14.1%PE8.8x
TPB Turning Point BrandsUS$22.881.1%
+US$4.2m
6.3%PE33.5x
XXII 22nd Century GroupUS$0.162.4%
+US$162.0k
-98.9%PS0.08x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.