Header cover image

U.S. IT Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies103
  • 7D-3.7%
  • 3M-6.6%
  • 1Y23.7%
  • YTD-3.4%

Over the last 7 days, the IT industry has dropped 3.7%, driven by Accenture declining 5.3%. In the past year, the industry has gained 24%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 17% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. IT Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024US$752.7bUS$227.8bUS$13.7b25x54.7x3.3x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024US$802.3bUS$227.8bUS$14.3b22.8x55.9x3.5x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024US$816.2bUS$226.7bUS$13.1b19.7x62.4x3.6x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024US$757.8bUS$229.5bUS$12.8b20x59x3.3x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023US$761.8bUS$228.9bUS$12.7b21.2x59.8x3.3x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023US$632.6bUS$227.8bUS$11.4b19.8x55.5x2.8x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023US$657.2bUS$227.2bUS$6.5b24x101.3x2.9x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023US$674.4bUS$226.3bUS$6.6b21.2x101.9x3x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023US$693.1bUS$228.6bUS$6.2b25.6x111.7x3x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023US$675.0bUS$228.2bUS$5.9b23.2x114.1x3x
Sat, 20 May 2023US$639.4bUS$229.3bUS$5.2b21.8x123.7x2.8x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023US$588.9bUS$225.6bUS$2.5b23.6x239.4x2.6x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023US$1.9tUS$463.9bUS$22.4b25x84.3x4.1x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023US$2.0tUS$459.5bUS$40.5b26.6x50.4x4.4x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023US$1.9tUS$458.0bUS$39.2b27.3x49.5x4.2x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022US$2.0tUS$456.9bUS$39.0b28.9x50.1x4.3x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022US$1.8tUS$453.0bUS$37.5b26.1x48.9x4x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022US$1.8tUS$449.4bUS$41.7b25.2x42.3x3.9x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022US$2.0tUS$446.6bUS$41.6b29x48.7x4.5x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022US$2.0tUS$442.9bUS$47.6b28.9x41.6x4.5x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022US$1.9tUS$442.1bUS$47.1b27.2x40.7x4.3x
Sun, 22 May 2022US$2.0tUS$438.4bUS$45.9b27.4x42.9x4.5x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022US$2.3tUS$431.1bUS$47.1b31x47.8x5.2x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022US$2.2tUS$425.4bUS$47.2b30x47.5x5.3x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022US$2.4tUS$421.5bUS$48.1b31.3x50.3x5.7x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022US$2.6tUS$432.2bUS$48.3b36.1x54.6x6.1x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021US$2.6tUS$429.3bUS$48.0b35.6x54.8x6.1x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021US$2.9tUS$406.8bUS$51.3b36x56.2x7.1x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021US$2.9tUS$396.0bUS$46.8b34.8x61.6x7.3x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021US$2.9tUS$389.7bUS$46.2b34x63.1x7.5x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021US$2.8tUS$387.8bUS$47.0b34.3x60.6x7.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

64.6x


Total Market Cap: US$2.7tTotal Earnings: US$42.4bTotal Revenue: US$369.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. IT Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 70.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American IT industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 54.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 70.8x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.7x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the IT industry have declined 31% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 15% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Tech industry?

US Market-1.73%
Tech-0.35%
IT-3.72%
Data Processing Services-0.69%
Internet Services and Infrastructure-3.14%
IT Consulting-4.01%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the IT Consulting industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 34.8x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 10.5%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 0.6% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Internet Services and Infrastructure industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 29% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the IT Consulting industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 10% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SNOW SnowflakeUS$158.563.1%
+US$1.6b
11.6%PS18.9x
FSLY FastlyUS$13.638.8%
+US$147.6m
-14.4%PS3.6x
TWLO TwilioUS$60.851.3%
+US$140.2m
2.1%PS2.7x
EGIO EdgioUS$17.8452.9%
+US$36.1m
-35.2%PS0.3x
CINT CI&TUS$4.704.2%
+US$25.3m
1.5%PE24.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

NET

US$93.76

Cloudflare

7D

-2.5%

1Y

45.0%

MDB

US$352.06

MongoDB

7D

-3.0%

1Y

57.8%

CTSH

US$69.26

Cognizant Technology Solutions

7D

-2.6%

1Y

15.4%

TWLO

US$60.85

Twilio

7D

1.3%

1Y

2.1%

SHOP

US$70.00

Shopify

7D

-7.0%

1Y

50.9%

ACN

US$315.40

Accenture

7D

-5.3%

1Y

12.9%

IBM

US$182.27

International Business Machines

7D

-3.6%

1Y

42.2%

CINT

US$4.70

CI&T

7D

4.2%

1Y

1.5%

XTIA

US$3.09

XTI Aerospace

7D

11.2%

1Y

n/a

EGIO

US$17.84

Edgio

7D

52.9%

1Y

-35.2%

FSLY

US$13.63

Fastly

7D

8.8%

1Y

-14.4%

UIS

US$5.61

Unisys

7D

2.2%

1Y

43.8%