Header cover image

U.S. Industrial Machinery Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 12, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies123
  • 7D3.6%
  • 3M-3.1%
  • 1Y8.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Industrial Machinery industry has risen 3.6%, driven by gains in Parker-Hannifin and Ingersoll Rand of 3.0% and 4.9%, respectively. Meanwhile, Helios Technologies actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 7.2% in the last week. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 8.1%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 18% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Industrial Machinery Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 13 Jul 2024US$509.5bUS$179.1bUS$17.3b25.8x29.4x2.8x
Mon, 10 Jun 2024US$491.4bUS$179.1bUS$17.3b25.4x28.4x2.7x
Wed, 08 May 2024US$537.7bUS$179.1bUS$17.3b26.4x31x3x
Fri, 05 Apr 2024US$551.8bUS$178.1bUS$16.3b26.3x33.9x3.1x
Sun, 03 Mar 2024US$535.2bUS$178.2bUS$16.2b26.3x33x3x
Tue, 30 Jan 2024US$513.1bUS$184.3bUS$16.5b24.6x31.1x2.8x
Thu, 28 Dec 2023US$528.1bUS$183.8bUS$16.5b25.2x31.9x2.9x
Sat, 25 Nov 2023US$483.5bUS$183.8bUS$16.5b22.5x29.2x2.6x
Mon, 23 Oct 2023US$440.4bUS$181.4bUS$15.2b20.7x28.9x2.4x
Wed, 20 Sep 2023US$462.7bUS$181.1bUS$15.2b22x30.4x2.6x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023US$474.6bUS$181.3bUS$15.2b22.2x31.2x2.6x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023US$494.0bUS$178.1bUS$14.5b24.6x34.2x2.8x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023US$463.4bUS$179.4bUS$14.7b23.4x31.5x2.6x
Thu, 11 May 2023US$431.6bUS$179.2bUS$14.7b21.2x29.4x2.4x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023US$422.8bUS$179.7bUS$14.2b21.5x29.8x2.4x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023US$446.6bUS$175.0bUS$14.3b24x31.3x2.6x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023US$434.0bUS$172.1bUS$14.4b24.9x30.1x2.5x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022US$397.4bUS$171.7bUS$13.8b21.6x28.9x2.3x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022US$415.2bUS$171.5bUS$13.7b22.9x30.2x2.4x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022US$368.8bUS$167.7bUS$15.3b19.6x24.2x2.2x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022US$365.4bUS$166.9bUS$15.0b19.9x24.4x2.2x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022US$410.6bUS$166.7bUS$15.0b22.9x27.5x2.5x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022US$353.8bUS$162.9bUS$15.5b21.9x22.8x2.2x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022US$348.6bUS$162.5bUS$15.7b21.5x22.2x2.1x
Fri, 13 May 2022US$363.1bUS$162.0bUS$15.8b23.7x23x2.2x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022US$395.9bUS$159.3bUS$16.2b26.2x24.5x2.5x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022US$413.2bUS$160.8bUS$16.1b27.2x25.7x2.6x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022US$454.1bUS$160.8bUS$17.3b28.6x26.2x2.8x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022US$496.5bUS$162.3bUS$17.2b31.7x28.8x3.1x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021US$489.5bUS$162.1bUS$17.1b31.2x28.6x3x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021US$478.8bUS$159.0bUS$16.3b32.9x29.3x3x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021US$471.8bUS$160.7bUS$16.2b33.5x29.1x2.9x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021US$482.6bUS$160.7bUS$16.2b31.2x29.7x3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

30x


Total Market Cap: US$487.1bTotal Earnings: US$16.2bTotal Revenue: US$160.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Industrial Machinery Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 29.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Industrial Machinery industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 29.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Industrial Machinery industry have grown 2.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 3.7% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Industrial Machinery compare with similar industries?

US Market1.00%
Industrials1.64%
Machinery2.27%
Industrial Machinery3.63%
Construction Machinery and Vehicles1.06%
Agricultural Machinery0.039%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PH Parker-HannifinUS$537.906.4%
+US$4.2b
35.8%PE25x
ITW Illinois Tool WorksUS$245.935.5%
+US$3.8b
-1.5%PE24x
IR Ingersoll RandUS$97.286.5%
+US$2.4b
47.1%PE47.9x
SWK Stanley Black & DeckerUS$88.4111.1%
+US$1.4b
-8.2%PS0.9x
OTIS Otis WorldwideUS$100.213.4%
+US$1.3b
13.0%PE28.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

IR

US$97.28

Ingersoll Rand

7D

6.5%

1Y

47.1%

ZONE

US$2.09

CleanCore Solutions

7D

-12.9%

1Y

n/a

HLIO

US$44.00

Helios Technologies

7D

-5.5%

1Y

-32.0%

DM

US$4.99

Desktop Metal

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-72.7%

FTV

US$75.59

Fortive

7D

4.4%

1Y

1.9%

OTIS

US$100.21

Otis Worldwide

7D

3.4%

1Y

13.0%

CLIR

US$0.83

ClearSign Technologies

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-38.6%

SWK

US$88.41

Stanley Black & Decker

7D

11.1%

1Y

-8.2%

FATH

US$5.05

Fathom Digital Manufacturing

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-41.3%