Header cover image

U.S. Specialty Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies49
  • 7D-2.2%
  • 3M-8.2%
  • 1Y-1.7%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Specialty Stores industry has dropped 2.6%, driven by declines in Ulta Beauty and DICK'S Sporting Goods of 6.2% and 6.7%, respectively. The industry has fallen 3.1% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Specialty Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024US$99.1bUS$101.6bUS$3.2b15.9x31.1x1x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024US$99.2bUS$101.9bUS$3.1b15.4x31.6x1x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024US$109.9bUS$101.7bUS$2.7b13.2x40.4x1.1x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024US$102.4bUS$101.3bUS$2.8b12.4x37.2x1x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024US$98.9bUS$106.2bUS$2.5b10.9x40.3x0.9x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023US$96.4bUS$106.2bUS$2.5b10.8x39.2x0.9x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023US$87.6bUS$106.2bUS$3.9b15.4x22.2x0.8x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023US$86.9bUS$106.1bUS$4.0b15.2x21.7x0.8x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023US$94.7bUS$106.3bUS$4.0b10x23.6x0.9x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023US$108.6bUS$106.2bUS$4.3b12.5x25.4x1x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023US$107.9bUS$105.9bUS$4.3b12x25.1x1x
Sat, 27 May 2023US$98.3bUS$105.6bUS$4.2b11.1x23.1x0.9x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023US$116.6bUS$105.0bUS$4.6b11.8x25.5x1.1x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023US$116.7bUS$104.7bUS$4.6b11.8x25.6x1.1x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023US$99.7bUS$84.9bUS$5.5b12.3x18.2x1.2x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023US$94.0bUS$84.2bUS$5.5b10.9x17.2x1.1x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022US$90.1bUS$84.2bUS$5.5b9.9x16.5x1.1x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022US$79.7bUS$83.6bUS$5.6b6.7x14.2x1x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022US$78.1bUS$85.5bUS$5.8b6.7x13.5x0.9x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022US$79.9bUS$85.6bUS$5.8b6.8x13.7x0.9x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022US$78.1bUS$85.8bUS$6.2b5.7x12.7x0.9x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022US$73.7bUS$85.4bUS$6.1b4.9x12x0.9x
Sun, 29 May 2022US$80.5bUS$85.4bUS$6.4b5.9x12.5x0.9x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022US$89.7bUS$85.1bUS$6.5b6.9x13.8x1.1x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022US$94.2bUS$84.5bUS$6.4b6.9x14.8x1.1x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022US$91.1bUS$83.9bUS$5.9b7.4x15.5x1.1x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022US$95.5bUS$83.3bUS$5.8b7.3x16.6x1.1x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021US$100.2bUS$83.1bUS$5.8b7.7x17.4x1.2x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021US$110.0bUS$81.1bUS$5.3b9.3x20.7x1.4x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021US$94.9bUS$80.2bUS$5.4b8.2x17.5x1.2x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021US$98.0bUS$80.3bUS$5.4b8.8x18x1.2x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021US$90.5bUS$78.9bUS$4.4b8.8x20.4x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

30.7x


Total Market Cap: US$84.0bTotal Earnings: US$2.7bTotal Revenue: US$70.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Specialty Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Specialty Stores industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 31.0x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 22.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Stores industry have grown 5.7% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Specialty Stores compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.91%
Consumer Discretionary-2.55%
Specialty Stores-3.06%
Specialty Stores-2.22%
Apparel Retail-0.33%
Automotive Retail-4.44%
Home Improvement Retail-5.45%
Home Furnishing Retail-8.68%
Computer and Electronics Retail-16.27%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TSCO Tractor SupplyUS$283.262.6%
+US$760.1m
32.5%PE27.2x
WOOF Petco Health and Wellness CompanyUS$3.1728.9%
+US$195.2m
-60.7%PS0.1x
WRBY Warby ParkerUS$16.804.1%
+US$78.4m
50.0%PS2.9x
FTEL FitellUS$17.1054.1%
+US$66.7m
n/aPS49.2x
BNED Barnes & Noble EducationUS$0.79343.7%
+US$32.5m
-44.0%PS0.03x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

WOOF

US$3.17

Petco Health and Wellness Company

7D

28.9%

1Y

-60.7%

ELA

US$4.54

Envela

7D

0.4%

1Y

-34.7%

FIVE

US$129.60

Five Below

7D

-8.1%

1Y

-27.7%

EYE

US$15.00

National Vision Holdings

7D

-6.3%

1Y

-41.0%

WRBY

US$16.80

Warby Parker

7D

4.1%

1Y

50.0%

BNED

US$0.79

Barnes & Noble Education

7D

343.7%

1Y

-44.0%

FTEL

US$17.10

Fitell

7D

54.1%

1Y

n/a