Header cover image

U.S. Paper Packaging Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D1.2%
  • 3M11.6%
  • 1Y30.8%
  • YTDn/a

The Paper Packaging industry is up 1.2% in the last week, with International Paper up 12%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 31%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 17% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Paper Packaging Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024US$101.6bUS$95.1bUS$3.7b22.9x27.2x1.1x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024US$92.4bUS$96.7bUS$1.8b20.2x52.2x1x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024US$95.3bUS$96.7bUS$1.8b20.6x53.9x1x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024US$84.2bUS$91.6bUS$1.4b20x60.3x0.9x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024US$84.8bUS$92.8bUS$2.3b15.9x37.6x0.9x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023US$81.2bUS$92.8bUS$2.3b15.3x35.9x0.9x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023US$76.6bUS$93.2bUS$2.4b14.2x32x0.8x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023US$75.7bUS$95.2bUS$3.5b10.8x21.7x0.8x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023US$77.7bUS$95.2bUS$3.5b11.7x22.3x0.8x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023US$78.7bUS$96.1bUS$3.8b11.4x20.7x0.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023US$73.4bUS$97.5bUS$4.1b11.6x17.7x0.8x
Mon, 29 May 2023US$71.8bUS$97.5bUS$4.1b11.8x17.3x0.7x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023US$76.3bUS$98.2bUS$6.6b12.2x11.6x0.8x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023US$75.3bUS$98.1bUS$6.6b12.1x11.4x0.8x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023US$82.1bUS$98.1bUS$6.4b12.8x12.8x0.8x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023US$84.5bUS$97.7bUS$6.6b13.7x12.7x0.9x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022US$83.3bUS$97.7bUS$6.6b13.3x12.5x0.9x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022US$81.5bUS$97.7bUS$6.7b12.3x12.2x0.8x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022US$73.0bUS$94.9bUS$5.7b11.9x12.7x0.8x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022US$85.1bUS$94.9bUS$5.7b13.4x14.8x0.9x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022US$87.7bUS$93.7bUS$5.8b13.5x15.2x0.9x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022US$66.8bUS$76.9bUS$3.9b14x17x0.9x
Tue, 31 May 2022US$75.4bUS$76.9bUS$3.9b16.1x19.2x1x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022US$76.1bUS$75.0bUS$3.9b16.3x19.6x1x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022US$75.9bUS$73.6bUS$3.7b18.3x20.4x1x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022US$77.1bUS$73.2bUS$3.7b18.5x20.8x1.1x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022US$77.5bUS$74.3bUS$4.2b20x18.4x1x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021US$77.8bUS$74.3bUS$4.2b20.2x18.4x1x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021US$82.4bUS$74.3bUS$4.2b21x19.5x1.1x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021US$82.4bUS$72.0bUS$1.8b21.9x46.5x1.1x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021US$87.2bUS$72.0bUS$1.8b24x49.3x1.2x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021US$83.8bUS$72.0bUS$1.8b22.5x47.3x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

54.3x


Total Market Cap: US$89.6bTotal Earnings: US$1.6bTotal Revenue: US$69.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Paper Packaging Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 26.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Paper Packaging industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 26.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.94x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Paper Packaging industry have grown 31% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Paper Packaging compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.22%
Materials-1.30%
Packaging0.24%
Paper Packaging1.19%
Metal and Glass Containers-1.34%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
IP International PaperUS$45.4611.9%
+US$1.7b
48.5%PE84.9x
WRK WestRockUS$54.132.2%
+US$307.2m
90.1%PE45.8x
AVY Avery DennisonUS$227.050.3%
+US$60.4m
39.3%PE33x
PKG Packaging Corporation of AmericaUS$183.770.3%
+US$57.1m
44.5%PE22.9x
SON Sonoco ProductsUS$60.610.5%
+US$32.4m
-0.2%PE15.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.