Header cover image

U.S. Household Products Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 30, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D-0.2%
  • 3M3.5%
  • 1Y-0.9%
  • YTD-11.7%

In the last week, Household Products has been flat. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 6.9% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Household Products Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 30 Nov 2022US$459.2bUS$121.7bUS$17.8b26.9x25.9x3.8x
Fri, 28 Oct 2022US$363.5bUS$107.0bUS$16.2b23.4x22.5x3.4x
Sun, 25 Sep 2022US$373.4bUS$106.7bUS$16.4b22.9x22.8x3.5x
Tue, 23 Aug 2022US$412.9bUS$106.7bUS$16.4b25x25.2x3.9x
Thu, 21 Jul 2022US$396.6bUS$106.0bUS$16.2b21.7x24.4x3.7x
Sat, 18 Jun 2022US$369.9bUS$106.0bUS$16.2b19.7x22.8x3.5x
Mon, 16 May 2022US$429.2bUS$106.0bUS$16.2b22.9x26.4x4x
Wed, 13 Apr 2022US$509.7bUS$121.9bUS$18.1b26.8x28.1x4.2x
Fri, 11 Mar 2022US$477.6bUS$121.9bUS$18.1b24.4x26.3x3.9x
Sun, 06 Feb 2022US$515.1bUS$121.8bUS$18.2b27.2x28.4x4.2x
Tue, 04 Jan 2022US$531.8bUS$120.4bUS$18.5b29.3x28.7x4.4x
Thu, 02 Dec 2021US$473.8bUS$120.4bUS$18.5b23.3x25.6x3.9x
Sat, 30 Oct 2021US$467.0bUS$118.7bUS$18.9b23.9x24.7x3.9x
Mon, 27 Sep 2021US$469.8bUS$117.6bUS$19.1b22.5x24.6x4x
Wed, 25 Aug 2021US$468.0bUS$117.6bUS$19.1b18x24.5x4x
Thu, 01 Jul 2021US$459.4bUS$117.5bUS$19.2b16.8x23.9x3.9x
Sun, 04 Apr 2021US$397.6bUS$98.7bUS$16.5b18.4x24.1x4x
Wed, 06 Jan 2021US$481.6bUS$113.7bUS$19.0b20.8x25.4x4.2x
Sat, 10 Oct 2020US$476.4bUS$111.1bUS$18.7b23x25.5x4.3x
Fri, 03 Jul 2020US$360.3bUS$95.2bUS$15.0b23.2x24.1x3.8x
Mon, 06 Apr 2020US$323.5bUS$94.0bUS$6.6b21.2x49.4x3.4x
Thu, 09 Jan 2020US$359.3bUS$89.7bUS$6.0b25.8x60.2x4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

64.1x


Total Market Cap: US$351.1bTotal Earnings: US$5.5bTotal Revenue: US$88.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Household Products Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 30.2x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Household Products industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 25.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 30.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 3.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Household Products industry have grown 48% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Consumer Staples industry?

US Market-0.94%
Consumer Staples-0.30%
Household Products-0.17%
Household Products-0.17%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CHD Church & DwightUS$79.491.8%
+US$341.4m
-11.1%PE26.3x
REYN Reynolds Consumer ProductsUS$31.630.5%
+US$33.6m
8.4%PE25.9x
SPB Spectrum Brands HoldingsUS$49.501.6%
+US$31.8m
-50.5%PS0.6x
ENR Energizer HoldingsUS$33.211.0%
+US$24.2m
-10.7%PS0.8x
ODC Oil-Dri Corporation of AmericaUS$32.340.3%
+US$783.2k
-2.9%PE40.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.