Header cover image

U.S. Drug Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 15, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D-1.8%
  • 3M-25.3%
  • 1Y-52.5%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Drug Retail industry has dropped 1.8%, driven by Walgreens Boots Alliance declining 1.8%. The industry has fallen 52% in the last year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 68% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Drug Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 16 Jun 2024US$13.6bUS$146.9b-US$6,131,623,623.57n/a-2.2x0.09x
Tue, 14 May 2024US$15.8bUS$146.9b-US$6,142,285,879.7738.5x-2.6x0.1x
Thu, 11 Apr 2024US$16.7bUS$146.9b-US$6,127,189,811.2233.2x-2.7x0.1x
Sat, 09 Mar 2024US$18.4bUS$144.7bUS$499.4m31.8x36.9x0.1x
Mon, 05 Feb 2024US$19.7bUS$144.7bUS$445.1m34.2x44.3x0.1x
Wed, 03 Jan 2024US$23.3bUS$141.4b-US$3,209,145,481.0042.1x-7.2x0.2x
Fri, 01 Dec 2023US$17.5bUS$141.4b-US$3,209,913,668.0044.4x-5.5x0.1x
Sun, 29 Oct 2023US$18.6bUS$164.8b-US$4,853,205,285.00361.3x-3.8x0.1x
Tue, 26 Sep 2023US$18.7bUS$138.4b-US$3,448,493,859.00361.3x-5.4x0.1x
Thu, 24 Aug 2023US$23.3bUS$138.3b-US$3,453,990,612.00361.3x-6.7x0.2x
Sat, 22 Jul 2023US$26.7bUS$138.3b-US$3,448,804,737.00361.3x-7.8x0.2x
Mon, 19 Jun 2023US$28.6bUS$135.5b-US$3,278,348,548.00n/a-8.7x0.2x
Wed, 17 May 2023US$27.4bUS$135.5b-US$3,264,926,785.00n/a-8.4x0.2x
Fri, 14 Apr 2023US$31.2bUS$135.5b-US$3,266,802,866.00n/a-9.5x0.2x
Sun, 12 Mar 2023US$28.9bUS$134.2b-US$3,076,264,669.00n/a-9.4x0.2x
Tue, 07 Feb 2023US$31.6bUS$134.3b-US$3,077,282,324.00n/a-10.3x0.2x
Thu, 05 Jan 2023US$32.6bUS$134.8bUS$4.2b7.5x7.7x0.2x
Sat, 03 Dec 2022US$36.2bUS$134.7bUS$4.2b8.3x8.6x0.3x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022US$31.9bUS$134.7bUS$4.2b7.3x7.6x0.2x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022US$28.3bUS$136.5bUS$5.0b5.5x5.7x0.2x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022US$32.1bUS$136.6bUS$5.0b6.2x6.5x0.2x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022US$33.8bUS$136.6bUS$5.0b6.5x6.8x0.2x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022US$34.2bUS$138.0bUS$5.8b5.7x5.9x0.2x
Thu, 19 May 2022US$39.1bUS$138.0bUS$5.8b6x6.8x0.3x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022US$39.1bUS$138.1bUS$5.8b51.3x6.8x0.3x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022US$41.7bUS$161.4bUS$5.6b6.9x7.4x0.3x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022US$43.9bUS$161.4bUS$5.6b7.2x7.8x0.3x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022US$46.3bUS$158.9bUS$1.6b22.7x28.1x0.3x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021US$41.3bUS$158.8bUS$1.7b20.2x24.4x0.3x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021US$42.3bUS$158.7bUS$1.7b20.5x24.6x0.3x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021US$43.6bUS$172.3bUS$2.0b18.7x22.1x0.3x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021US$42.6bUS$148.0bUS$2.1b18.6x20.3x0.3x
Sun, 04 Jul 2021US$46.7bUS$148.0bUS$2.1b20.2x22.2x0.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

22.2x


Total Market Cap: US$46.7bTotal Earnings: US$2.1bTotal Revenue: US$148.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Drug Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Drug Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.21x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Drug Retail industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Drug Retail compare with similar industries?

US Market1.21%
Consumer Staples-1.11%
Food and Staples Retail0.62%
Drug Retail-1.82%
Big Box Super Stores0.93%
Food Retail-0.0071%
Food Distributors-2.83%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CJJD China Jo-Jo DrugstoresUS$2.36-18.5%
US$2.2m
-77.7%PS0.07x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MGRX

US$0.32

Mangoceuticals

7D

-25.6%

1Y

-80.1%

WBA

US$15.55

Walgreens Boots Alliance

7D

-1.8%

1Y

-52.4%

CJJD

US$2.36

China Jo-Jo Drugstores

7D

-18.5%

1Y

-77.7%

YI

US$1.08

111

7D

-3.6%

1Y

-62.1%

MDVL

US$1.80

MedAvail Holdings

7D

-40.6%

1Y

-90.3%