Header cover image

U.S. Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 30, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies27
  • 7D-4.6%
  • 3M-21.2%
  • 1Y-28.3%
  • YTD-13.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals industry has dropped 4.6%, driven by a pullback from Sociedad QuĂ­mica y Minera de Chile of 7.6%. Overall the industry is down 28% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 5.9% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 31 May 2023US$97.4bUS$66.1bUS$12.0b5.1x8.1x1.5x
Fri, 28 Apr 2023US$108.3bUS$66.8bUS$13.1b4.6x8.3x1.6x
Sun, 26 Mar 2023US$109.2bUS$66.8bUS$13.1b5.1x8.3x1.6x
Tue, 21 Feb 2023US$121.0bUS$64.1bUS$12.6b6.4x9.6x1.9x
Thu, 19 Jan 2023US$120.0bUS$63.5bUS$12.5b6.5x9.6x1.9x
Sat, 17 Dec 2022US$120.0bUS$63.5bUS$12.5b6.9x9.6x1.9x
Mon, 14 Nov 2022US$135.5bUS$61.2bUS$11.5b10.8x11.7x2.2x
Wed, 12 Oct 2022US$127.2bUS$61.8bUS$10.6b10.2x12x2.1x
Fri, 09 Sep 2022US$136.3bUS$61.8bUS$10.6b11.6x12.9x2.2x
Sun, 07 Aug 2022US$127.6bUS$59.8bUS$9.8b12.7x13x2.1x
Tue, 05 Jul 2022US$119.3bUS$54.9bUS$9.0b10.9x13.3x2.2x
Thu, 02 Jun 2022US$139.3bUS$54.9bUS$9.0b12.5x15.5x2.5x
Sat, 30 Apr 2022US$133.0bUS$49.2bUS$6.4b21.4x20.8x2.7x
Mon, 28 Mar 2022US$145.2bUS$49.2bUS$6.4b22.7x22.7x3x
Wed, 23 Feb 2022US$111.8bUS$47.1bUS$6.0b20.3x18.7x2.4x
Fri, 21 Jan 2022US$104.4bUS$45.3bUS$5.2b22.5x20.1x2.3x
Sun, 19 Dec 2021US$101.9bUS$45.3bUS$5.2b21.4x19.6x2.2x
Tue, 16 Nov 2021US$108.4bUS$45.1bUS$5.1b22.2x21.4x2.4x
Thu, 14 Oct 2021US$96.6bUS$42.7bUS$4.3b24.1x22.4x2.3x
Sat, 11 Sep 2021US$92.7bUS$43.1bUS$4.3b21.9x21.7x2.2x
Mon, 09 Aug 2021US$92.8bUS$43.2bUS$4.2b23.6x21.9x2.1x
Sun, 02 May 2021US$104.5bUS$41.2bUS$3.4b27.6x30.9x2.5x
Wed, 03 Feb 2021US$89.9bUS$39.9bUS$2.5b27.9x36.2x2.3x
Sat, 07 Nov 2020US$70.2bUS$38.8bUS$448.3m29.8x156.6x1.8x
Fri, 31 Jul 2020US$65.0bUS$39.0bUS$410.1m31.5x158.4x1.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

1697.6x


Total Market Cap: US$59.6bTotal Earnings: US$35.1mTotal Revenue: US$39.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 43.7x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 43.7x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals industry have grown 600% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 19% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals compare with similar industries?

US Market0.061%
Materials-2.65%
Chemicals-2.64%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals-4.60%
Diversified Chemicals-1.73%
Specialty Chemicals-2.13%
Industrial Gases-2.18%
Commodity Chemicals-3.44%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BIOX Bioceres Crop SolutionsUS$11.813.4%
+US$24.7m
-19.6%PE48.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CTVA

US$55.17

Corteva

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-11.9%

IPI

US$18.93

Intrepid Potash

7D

-6.5%

1Y

-71.3%

SQM

US$66.29

Sociedad QuĂ­mica y Minera de Chile

7D

-7.6%

1Y

-37.6%

BIOX

US$11.81

Bioceres Crop Solutions

7D

3.4%

1Y

-19.6%

CF

US$62.85

CF Industries Holdings

7D

-6.9%

1Y

-36.4%

CGA

US$2.63

China Green Agriculture

7D

-15.2%

1Y

-59.5%