Header cover image

U.S. Systems Software Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies64
  • 7D-3.1%
  • 3M11.1%
  • 1Y27.2%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Systems Software industry has dropped 3.1%, driven by Microsoft declining 3.2%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 27%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Systems Software Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 19 Jul 2024US$4.2tUS$333.6bUS$101.7b40.7x41.2x12.5x
Sun, 16 Jun 2024US$4.2tUS$333.7bUS$101.6b38.8x41x12.5x
Tue, 14 May 2024US$3.6tUS$280.1bUS$90.5b38.5x39.3x12.7x
Thu, 11 Apr 2024US$3.7tUS$271.0bUS$87.1b39.8x42x13.5x
Sat, 09 Mar 2024US$3.5tUS$270.9bUS$87.1b39.7x40.3x13x
Mon, 05 Feb 2024US$3.7tUS$286.6bUS$85.8b41.5x42.7x12.8x
Wed, 03 Jan 2024US$3.3tUS$276.8bUS$80.3b41.4x41.1x11.9x
Fri, 01 Dec 2023US$3.3tUS$276.4bUS$79.9b42.3x41.8x12.1x
Sun, 29 Oct 2023US$2.9tUS$280.2bUS$79.7b41.7x36.8x10.5x
Tue, 26 Sep 2023US$2.9tUS$273.4bUS$74.8b42.3x38.2x10.5x
Thu, 24 Aug 2023US$2.9tUS$272.8bUS$74.5b42.3x39.3x10.8x
Sat, 22 Jul 2023US$3.0tUS$262.2bUS$68.2b48.3x44.2x11.5x
Mon, 19 Jun 2023US$3.0tUS$262.1bUS$68.3b45.1x43.9x11.4x
Wed, 17 May 2023US$2.7tUS$261.1bUS$68.0b41.2x39.7x10.3x
Fri, 14 Apr 2023US$2.5tUS$256.9bUS$65.0b44.8x39.2x9.9x
Sun, 12 Mar 2023US$2.2tUS$256.7bUS$65.2b41.9x33.9x8.6x
Tue, 07 Feb 2023US$2.2tUS$243.0bUS$63.4b44.6x35.2x9.2x
Thu, 05 Jan 2023US$2.0tUS$241.4bUS$65.6b42.1x30.4x8.3x
Sat, 03 Dec 2022US$2.2tUS$241.2bUS$66.4b43.9x33.3x9.2x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022US$2.0tUS$231.3bUS$67.7b49x29.9x8.7x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022US$2.0tUS$225.6bUS$70.8b53.6x28.5x8.9x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022US$2.3tUS$225.2bUS$70.9b59.7x33.1x10.4x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022US$2.3tUS$222.3bUS$71.5b44.3x31.8x10.2x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022US$2.2tUS$222.3bUS$71.5b40.4x30.2x9.7x
Thu, 19 May 2022US$2.3tUS$221.9bUS$71.4b41.3x32x10.3x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022US$2.5tUS$213.1bUS$70.3b56.7x35.3x11.6x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022US$2.4tUS$213.0bUS$70.5b51x34.7x11.5x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022US$2.8tUS$230.1bUS$72.5b32.1x38.5x12.1x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022US$2.9tUS$221.0bUS$69.2b34.7x41.3x12.9x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021US$2.9tUS$220.8bUS$69.3b35.7x42.5x13.3x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021US$3.1tUS$220.5bUS$69.3b36.4x44.5x14x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021US$2.7tUS$211.7bUS$62.8b39.3x42.6x12.7x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021US$2.8tUS$210.6bUS$63.0b35.7x44.8x13.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

42.9x


Total Market Cap: US$2.7tTotal Earnings: US$63.0bTotal Revenue: US$210.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Systems Software Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 38.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Systems Software industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 38.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 11.4x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 12.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Systems Software industry have grown 17% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 17% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Systems Software compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.71%
Tech-3.48%
Software-2.39%
Systems Software-3.06%
Application Software-0.72%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GTLB GitLabUS$53.014.0%
+US$327.3m
6.0%PS13.5x
CHKP Check Point Software TechnologiesUS$172.101.2%
+US$237.1m
34.1%PE23.1x
APPN AppianUS$35.378.9%
+US$208.1m
-26.8%PS4.6x
RBRK RubrikUS$34.003.1%
+US$181.9m
n/aPS9x
TENB Tenable HoldingsUS$43.863.2%
+US$164.0m
4.0%PS6.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CYBR

US$261.81

CyberArk Software

7D

-2.8%

1Y

70.4%

TENB

US$43.86

Tenable Holdings

7D

3.2%

1Y

4.0%

APPN

US$35.37

Appian

7D

8.9%

1Y

-26.8%

FTNT

US$58.13

Fortinet

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-25.2%

GTLB

US$53.01

GitLab

7D

4.0%

1Y

6.0%

MSFT

US$440.37

Microsoft

7D

-3.2%

1Y

27.0%

FROG

US$37.57

JFrog

7D

4.2%

1Y

28.7%

CHKP

US$172.10

Check Point Software Technologies

7D

1.2%

1Y

34.1%

DLB

US$80.80

Dolby Laboratories

7D

1.5%

1Y

-9.1%

PANW

US$323.88

Palo Alto Networks

7D

-2.2%

1Y

33.8%