Header cover image

U.S. Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies401
  • 7D0.8%
  • 3M8.6%
  • 1Y7.0%
  • YTD3.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has remained flat, although notably Keurig Dr Pepper declined by 5.5%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 7.0% in that time. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 10% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024US$3.0tUS$2.6tUS$111.5b20.7x26.8x1.1x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024US$2.8tUS$2.6tUS$107.8b21.2x26.3x1.1x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023US$2.8tUS$2.6tUS$104.5b22x26.7x1.1x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023US$2.7tUS$2.6tUS$102.8b21.3x26.2x1x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023US$2.6tUS$2.6tUS$101.6b20.9x25.7x1x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023US$2.8tUS$2.6tUS$98.9b22.1x28x1.1x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023US$2.9tUS$2.6tUS$96.4b22.2x29.8x1.1x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023US$2.8tUS$2.5tUS$93.0b21.7x30x1.1x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023US$2.8tUS$2.5tUS$93.5b21.6x29.5x1.1x
Sat, 06 May 2023US$2.9tUS$2.5tUS$96.6b21.3x30x1.1x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023US$2.8tUS$2.5tUS$96.8b20.5x28.8x1.1x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023US$2.5tUS$2.3tUS$90.5b20.3x28x1.1x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023US$2.6tUS$2.3tUS$92.9b20.7x28.3x1.1x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022US$2.7tUS$2.3tUS$100.0b20.5x26.9x1.2x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022US$2.7tUS$2.3tUS$100.1b23.9x27.2x1.2x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022US$2.4tUS$2.2tUS$103.5b19x23.4x1.1x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022US$2.5tUS$2.2tUS$104.6b20x23.9x1.1x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022US$2.6tUS$2.2tUS$104.8b20.2x25.3x1.2x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022US$2.5tUS$2.2tUS$105.3b19.3x24.1x1.2x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022US$2.5tUS$2.2tUS$103.8b19x24.1x1.1x
Sun, 08 May 2022US$2.7tUS$2.2tUS$102.8b19.5x26.1x1.2x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022US$2.8tUS$2.2tUS$99.1b24.7x28.2x1.3x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022US$2.7tUS$2.2tUS$98.0b22.2x27.8x1.3x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022US$2.7tUS$2.1tUS$91.9b22.4x29.6x1.3x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021US$2.8tUS$2.1tUS$88.5b25.2x31.3x1.3x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021US$2.7tUS$2.1tUS$88.3b23.5x30.8x1.3x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021US$2.7tUS$2.1tUS$93.2b23.8x29.1x1.3x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021US$2.7tUS$2.1tUS$94.2b22.9x28.6x1.3x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021US$2.8tUS$2.1tUS$94.0b21.9x29.2x1.3x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021US$2.6tUS$2.0tUS$87.1b20.7x30.1x1.3x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021US$2.4tUS$2.0tUS$85.1b19.5x28.5x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28.5x


Total Market Cap: US$2.4tTotal Earnings: US$85.1bTotal Revenue: US$2.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Consumer Staples industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have grown 9.4% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Consumer Staples sector?

US Market1.81%
Consumer Staples0.84%
Food and Staples Retail1.66%
Personal Products1.60%
Household Products1.26%
Food0.22%
Beverage-0.38%
Tobacco-2.43%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Personal Products industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 73.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 25.1%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 16.1% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Tobacco industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 78% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 69% per year.
  • In contrast, the Household Products industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
COST Costco WholesaleUS$745.352.7%
+US$8.7b
53.9%PE50.7x
WMT WalmartUS$59.601.7%
+US$6.5b
25.8%PE30.9x
PG Procter & GambleUS$160.221.1%
+US$4.0b
16.5%PE26x
ELF e.l.f. BeautyUS$199.6116.5%
+US$1.6b
167.0%PE85.6x
CL Colgate-PalmoliveUS$86.151.8%
+US$1.3b
17.5%PE30.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

FRPT

US$110.12

Freshpet

7D

22.4%

1Y

77.1%

ELF

US$199.61

e.l.f. Beauty

7D

16.5%

1Y

167.0%

WBA

US$20.99

Walgreens Boots Alliance

7D

-5.9%

1Y

-40.9%

PM

US$90.42

Philip Morris International

7D

0.9%

1Y

-7.1%

KDP

US$29.50

Keurig Dr Pepper

7D

-5.5%

1Y

-14.6%

CL

US$86.15

Colgate-Palmolive

7D

1.8%

1Y

17.5%

GIS

US$65.00

General Mills

7D

-1.2%

1Y

-18.2%

BF.B

US$57.00

Brown-Forman

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-12.1%

KR

US$47.26

Kroger

7D

-1.5%

1Y

9.6%