Header cover image

U.S. Publishing Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 02, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies21
  • 7D2.0%
  • 3M-2.0%
  • 1Y-1.5%
  • YTD3.1%

In the last week, Publishing has been flat. Furthermore, the industry has been flat for the past year as well. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 23% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Publishing Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 02 Jun 2023US$21.1bUS$19.3bUS$406.6m30.9x51.8x1.1x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023US$21.0bUS$19.4bUS$370.5m33.8x56.7x1.1x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023US$19.7bUS$19.4bUS$370.4m31.7x53.1x1x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023US$22.0bUS$20.3bUS$433.0m29.4x50.8x1.1x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023US$21.7bUS$20.4bUS$589.2m24.5x36.9x1.1x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022US$20.1bUS$20.4bUS$631.5m21.9x31.8x1x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022US$21.5bUS$20.3bUS$653.4m22.5x33x1.1x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022US$18.4bUS$20.4bUS$900.4m18.4x20.4x0.9x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022US$20.6bUS$20.4bUS$921.6m19.1x22.3x1x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022US$20.8bUS$20.2bUS$881.7m19.4x23.6x1x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022US$18.9bUS$20.1bUS$903.0m18.5x20.9x0.9x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022US$21.3bUS$20.1bUS$904.0m21x23.6x1.1x
Mon, 02 May 2022US$24.1bUS$20.3bUS$869.2m24.1x27.7x1.2x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022US$27.8bUS$20.3bUS$869.1m26.3x32x1.4x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022US$28.5bUS$23.3bUS$1.0b23x28.4x1.2x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022US$28.2bUS$22.9bUS$995.2m23.6x28.4x1.2x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021US$28.1bUS$22.9bUS$995.8m22.5x28.2x1.2x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021US$30.3bUS$21.5bUS$977.8m24.5x30.9x1.4x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021US$31.7bUS$21.1bUS$763.0m31.6x41.5x1.5x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021US$28.9bUS$21.3bUS$618.1m16.2x46.8x1.4x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021US$38.5bUS$24.6bUS$860.0m17.5x44.8x1.6x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021US$39.1bUS$23.8b-US$244,524,821.7719.5x-159.7x1.6x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021US$37.4bUS$23.7b-US$1,670,923,821.7715.7x-22.4x1.6x
Tue, 01 Dec 2020US$30.1bUS$23.6b-US$1,891,269,821.7745.3x-15.9x1.3x
Fri, 04 Sep 2020US$28.0bUS$23.6b-US$2,257,180,821.7731.3x-12.4x1.2x
Mon, 08 Jun 2020US$25.8bUS$24.0b-US$1,337,518,821.7716.3x-19.3x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-19.3x


Total Market Cap: US$25.8bTotal Earnings: -US$1,337,518,821.77Total Revenue: US$24.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Publishing Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 7.5x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Publishing industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 51.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 7.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Publishing industry have gone up over the last three years and the industry is now profitable.
  • Revenues have declined 7.0% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Publishing compare with similar industries?

US Market1.80%
Telecom2.68%
Media1.87%
Publishing1.96%
Advertising5.23%
Broadcasting2.64%
Cable and Satellite0.61%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
NWSA NewsUS$18.692.5%
+US$261.2m
5.5%PE40.1x
WLY John Wiley & SonsUS$36.884.4%
+US$85.9m
-32.2%PS1x
SCHL ScholasticUS$43.272.4%
+US$33.0m
15.3%PE22.8x
NYT New York TimesUS$35.990.4%
+US$24.7m
3.7%PE30.9x
LEE Lee EnterprisesUS$13.757.5%
+US$5.8m
-34.8%PS0.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

NWSA

US$18.69

News

7D

2.5%

1Y

5.5%

WLY

US$36.88

John Wiley & Sons

7D

4.4%

1Y

-32.2%

GCI

US$2.19

Gannett

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-45.0%

DJCO

US$289.80

Daily Journal

7D

0.2%

1Y

3.1%

DALN

US$3.86

DallasNews

7D

1.1%

1Y

-42.0%

LEE

US$13.75

Lee Enterprises

7D

7.5%

1Y

-34.8%

SCHL

US$43.27

Scholastic

7D

2.4%

1Y

15.3%