Header cover image

U.S. Publishing Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies16
  • 7D0.3%
  • 3M8.6%
  • 1Y24.8%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Publishing industry has remained flat, although notably Gannett declined by 6.2%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 25% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 27% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Publishing Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024US$26.4bUS$18.9bUS$383.8m27.5x68.8x1.4x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024US$26.1bUS$18.9bUS$316.6m20.5x82.6x1.4x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023US$25.4bUS$18.9bUS$278.3m18.9x91.3x1.3x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023US$23.5bUS$18.9bUS$334.1m21.5x70.2x1.2x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023US$23.7bUS$18.9bUS$272.5m40.8x87.1x1.3x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023US$23.2bUS$18.9bUS$301.2m40.4x77x1.2x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023US$24.1bUS$19.0bUS$365.1m61.4x66.1x1.3x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023US$22.0bUS$19.2bUS$432.1m38.4x50.9x1.1x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023US$21.4bUS$19.3bUS$406.6m31.9x52.6x1.1x
Sat, 06 May 2023US$20.6bUS$19.3bUS$383.8m32.8x53.6x1.1x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023US$20.5bUS$19.4bUS$370.4m33.2x55.4x1.1x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023US$21.5bUS$20.2bUS$488.2m29x44.1x1.1x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023US$22.8bUS$20.4bUS$589.2m25.4x38.7x1.1x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022US$20.6bUS$20.4bUS$588.1m22.4x35.1x1x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022US$20.8bUS$20.3bUS$653.4m22.1x31.8x1x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022US$18.9bUS$20.4bUS$900.4m18.4x21x0.9x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022US$19.5bUS$20.4bUS$921.7m17.8x21.2x1x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022US$22.3bUS$20.4bUS$953.3m19.9x23.4x1.1x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022US$18.8bUS$20.1bUS$903.0m18.3x20.9x0.9x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022US$20.9bUS$20.1bUS$904.0m19.9x23.1x1x
Sun, 08 May 2022US$21.6bUS$20.5bUS$969.0m21.7x22.3x1.1x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022US$27.3bUS$20.3bUS$869.1m26.3x31.4x1.3x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022US$29.5bUS$23.2bUS$1.1b23.7x26.7x1.3x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022US$27.9bUS$22.9bUS$995.2m23.1x28x1.2x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021US$29.5bUS$22.9bUS$995.8m23.9x29.7x1.3x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021US$28.3bUS$21.5bUS$977.8m22.9x28.9x1.3x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021US$31.7bUS$21.1bUS$763.0m31.9x41.6x1.5x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021US$29.1bUS$21.0bUS$747.4m21.5x39x1.4x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021US$38.0bUS$24.6bUS$860.0m17.6x44.2x1.5x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021US$39.1bUS$23.8b-US$244,524,821.7719.5x-159.7x1.6x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021US$37.4bUS$23.7b-US$1,670,923,821.7715.7x-22.4x1.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-22.4x


Total Market Cap: US$37.4bTotal Earnings: -US$1,670,923,821.77Total Revenue: US$23.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Publishing Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Publishing industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 68.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 27.8x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Publishing industry have gone up over the last three years and the industry is now profitable.
  • Revenues have declined 7.3% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Publishing compare with similar industries?

US Market1.81%
Telecom-0.42%
Media-0.18%
Publishing0.31%
Cable and Satellite0.40%
Advertising0.0017%
Broadcasting-5.12%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
NWSA NewsUS$26.360.4%
+US$61.8m
53.7%PE66x
NYT New York TimesUS$43.530.7%
+US$49.2m
13.1%PE30.7x
WLY John Wiley & SonsUS$33.460.5%
+US$9.3m
-24.8%PS0.9x
DALN DallasNewsUS$3.941.3%
+US$267.6k
-13.8%PS0.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.