Header cover image

U.S. Construction Machinery and Vehicles Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies36
  • 7D-2.2%
  • 3M-6.8%
  • 1Y28.9%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Construction Machinery and Vehicles industry has dropped 2.2%, driven by Caterpillar declining 2.5%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 29%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 2.1% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Construction Machinery and Vehicles Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 18 Jun 2024US$314.9bUS$192.3bUS$20.7b14x15.2x1.6x
Thu, 16 May 2024US$341.6bUS$192.4bUS$20.7b15.6x16.5x1.8x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024US$356.6bUS$191.3bUS$17.9b15.6x20x1.9x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024US$328.6bUS$190.2bUS$17.4b15.4x18.9x1.7x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024US$313.2bUS$188.7bUS$18.8b14.5x16.7x1.7x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024US$284.5bUS$191.4bUS$17.1b16x16.6x1.5x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023US$265.8bUS$190.2bUS$17.1b14x15.6x1.4x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023US$248.7bUS$188.3bUS$16.1b13.6x15.4x1.3x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023US$271.5bUS$185.6bUS$15.4b16.1x17.6x1.5x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023US$272.1bUS$185.5bUS$15.4b16.2x17.7x1.5x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023US$273.7bUS$176.3bUS$13.4b17.2x20.4x1.6x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023US$251.0bUS$176.1bUS$13.4b17.5x18.8x1.4x
Fri, 19 May 2023US$227.5bUS$176.0bUS$13.4b18.1x17x1.3x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023US$235.6bUS$168.3bUS$12.5b17.6x18.8x1.4x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023US$237.1bUS$167.8bUS$12.4b17.6x19x1.4x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023US$257.8bUS$166.9bUS$12.6b22.4x20.5x1.5x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023US$250.5bUS$159.3bUS$12.1b21x20.8x1.6x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022US$249.7bUS$159.8bUS$12.1b20x20.7x1.6x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022US$235.6bUS$157.8bUS$12.3b21.9x19.2x1.5x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022US$189.6bUS$152.4bUS$11.2b18.1x16.9x1.2x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022US$214.1bUS$152.5bUS$11.4b20.4x18.8x1.4x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022US$202.7bUS$149.2bUS$10.8b17.7x18.8x1.4x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022US$204.7bUS$148.9bUS$10.8b17.5x19x1.4x
Sat, 21 May 2022US$211.6bUS$148.9bUS$10.8b16.6x19.6x1.4x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022US$234.6bUS$146.0bUS$11.4b18.9x20.6x1.6x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022US$232.6bUS$145.6bUS$11.5b20.3x20.3x1.6x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022US$233.5bUS$145.5bUS$11.6b20.4x20.1x1.6x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022US$251.1bUS$140.7bUS$10.4b23.2x24.3x1.8x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021US$232.7bUS$140.5bUS$10.3b24.6x22.6x1.7x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021US$238.4bUS$138.9bUS$10.4b23.3x22.9x1.7x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021US$225.4bUS$135.6bUS$9.6b23.5x23.5x1.7x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021US$240.3bUS$135.9bUS$9.2b25.1x26x1.8x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021US$250.9bUS$133.6bUS$8.9b23.9x28.1x1.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28.1x


Total Market Cap: US$250.9bTotal Earnings: US$8.9bTotal Revenue: US$133.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Construction Machinery and Vehicles Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 19.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Construction Machinery and Heavy Trucks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 15.2x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 19.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Construction Machinery and Heavy Trucks industry have grown 32% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Construction Machinery and Vehicles compare with similar industries?

US Market0.97%
Industrials-1.02%
Machinery-1.19%
Construction Machinery and Vehicles-2.19%
Agricultural Machinery2.30%
Industrial Machinery-1.48%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PCAR PACCARUS$107.750.3%
+US$167.7m
37.0%PE11.2x
TRN Trinity IndustriesUS$29.601.5%
+US$36.0m
23.9%PE17.3x
WNC Wabash NationalUS$21.273.2%
+US$29.7m
-20.7%PE4.8x
HYLN Hyliion HoldingsUS$1.499.6%
+US$22.6m
-19.0%PS716.3x
MVST Microvast HoldingsUS$0.4615.7%
+US$19.8m
-73.5%PS0.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MVST

US$0.46

Microvast Holdings

7D

15.7%

1Y

-73.5%

CAT

US$322.40

Caterpillar

7D

-2.2%

1Y

31.4%

TEX

US$53.76

Terex

7D

-4.9%

1Y

-7.5%

HYLN

US$1.49

Hyliion Holdings

7D

9.6%

1Y

-19.0%

KITT

US$0.19

Nauticus Robotics

7D

-18.9%

1Y

-92.5%