Header cover image

U.S. Personal Products Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies110
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M3.1%
  • 1Y-32.7%
  • YTD-3.4%

The Personal Products is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Estée Lauder Companies has stood out, gaining 4.0%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 33% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 24% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Personal Products Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Apr 2024US$125.2bUS$48.8bUS$2.5b25.6x49.4x2.6x
Mon, 18 Mar 2024US$134.2bUS$48.7bUS$2.5b25.1x53.5x2.8x
Wed, 14 Feb 2024US$126.0bUS$49.2bUS$2.6b25.2x49.1x2.6x
Fri, 12 Jan 2024US$127.2bUS$49.9bUS$2.6b24.4x48.3x2.5x
Sun, 10 Dec 2023US$120.8bUS$49.9bUS$2.6b26.5x45.9x2.4x
Tue, 07 Nov 2023US$105.5bUS$49.7bUS$2.8b23.6x37.1x2.1x
Thu, 05 Oct 2023US$121.8bUS$50.0bUS$3.3b22.9x37x2.4x
Sat, 02 Sep 2023US$137.2bUS$50.0bUS$3.3b21x41.8x2.7x
Mon, 31 Jul 2023US$147.9bUS$49.8bUS$3.1b25.3x48.2x3x
Wed, 28 Jun 2023US$153.0bUS$49.3bUS$3.1b22.6x48.8x3.1x
Fri, 26 May 2023US$148.2bUS$49.0bUS$3.3b22.5x44.8x3x
Sun, 23 Apr 2023US$126.2bUS$34.5bUS$1.7b18.1x75.3x3.7x
Tue, 21 Mar 2023US$116.3bUS$34.8bUS$1.5b18.6x78.6x3.3x
Thu, 16 Feb 2023US$124.8bUS$35.0bUS$1.4b17.1x89.4x3.6x
Sat, 14 Jan 2023US$125.4bUS$35.9bUS$2.1b19.4x60.8x3.5x
Mon, 12 Dec 2022US$113.2bUS$35.9bUS$2.1b21.3x54x3.2x
Wed, 09 Nov 2022US$100.5bUS$35.8bUS$1.5b16.9x66.8x2.8x
Fri, 07 Oct 2022US$110.3bUS$36.4bUS$1.8b15x61.3x3x
Sun, 04 Sep 2022US$120.0bUS$36.4bUS$1.8b17.9x66.7x3.3x
Tue, 02 Aug 2022US$133.3bUS$36.6bUS$2.9b16.1x46.6x3.6x
Thu, 30 Jun 2022US$124.9bUS$36.7bUS$2.9b15.1x43.3x3.4x
Sat, 28 May 2022US$124.8bUS$36.7bUS$2.9b16.5x43.3x3.4x
Mon, 25 Apr 2022US$128.4bUS$36.1bUS$2.8b16.2x46.2x3.6x
Wed, 23 Mar 2022US$138.5bUS$36.1bUS$2.8b18.1x49.2x3.8x
Fri, 18 Feb 2022US$145.7bUS$35.4bUS$3.1b18.3x47.5x4.1x
Sun, 16 Jan 2022US$157.3bUS$34.5bUS$2.7b17.7x57.5x4.6x
Tue, 14 Dec 2021US$173.3bUS$34.4bUS$2.7b17.9x63.1x5x
Thu, 11 Nov 2021US$174.1bUS$34.4bUS$3.0b17.5x57.4x5.1x
Sat, 09 Oct 2021US$159.1bUS$33.1bUS$2.8b17.3x56.2x4.8x
Mon, 06 Sep 2021US$156.1bUS$33.1bUS$2.1b15.9x73.2x4.7x
Wed, 04 Aug 2021US$149.7bUS$33.0bUS$2.3b16.9x63.8x4.5x
Sat, 08 May 2021US$144.6bUS$29.7bUS$369.4m18.4x391.4x4.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

391.4x


Total Market Cap: US$144.6bTotal Earnings: US$369.4mTotal Revenue: US$29.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Personal Products Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 74.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Personal Products industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 49.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 74.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Personal Products industry have grown 90% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 18% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Consumer Staples industry?

US Market-3.65%
Consumer Staples-0.85%
Personal Products0.13%
Personal Products0.13%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
EL Estée Lauder CompaniesUS$144.414.0%
+US$2.0b
-43.6%PE110.9x
KVUE KenvueUS$19.582.4%
+US$861.6m
n/aPE22.5x
COTY CotyUS$11.156.1%
+US$572.9m
-9.3%PE32.1x
YSG Yatsen HoldingUS$3.7524.6%
+US$79.7m
-27.2%PS0.9x
HLF HerbalifeUS$8.849.1%
+US$73.8m
-40.6%PE6.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

OLPX

US$1.35

Olaplex Holdings

7D

-6.3%

1Y

-64.5%

ODD

US$33.48

Oddity Tech

7D

-3.3%

1Y

n/a

NUS

US$13.01

Nu Skin Enterprises

7D

8.0%

1Y

-68.6%

HNST

US$3.03

Honest Company

7D

-6.8%

1Y

68.8%

EPC

US$36.65

Edgewell Personal Care

7D

2.4%

1Y

-18.5%

SKIN

US$3.27

Beauty Health

7D

-10.7%

1Y

-74.8%

YSG

US$3.75

Yatsen Holding

7D

24.6%

1Y

-27.2%

WALD

US$5.46

Waldencast

7D

-12.9%

1Y

-39.7%

VERU

US$1.31

Veru

7D

-13.8%

1Y

-7.1%