Header cover image

U.S. Industrials Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D1.1%
  • 3M10.9%
  • 1Y18.4%
  • YTD5.2%

The Industrials industry is up 1.1% in the last week, with General Electric up 3.4%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 18%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Industrials Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024US$364.1bUS$212.9bUS$3.9b9.6x94.1x1.7x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024US$343.4bUS$218.6bUS$6.5b6.5x52.4x1.6x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023US$346.4bUS$234.5bUS$8.0b6.5x43.5x1.5x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023US$321.8bUS$234.5bUS$8.0b4.6x40.4x1.4x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023US$295.2bUS$232.4bUS$13.5b11.3x21.9x1.3x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023US$323.4bUS$232.4bUS$13.5b12.3x24x1.4x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023US$319.2bUS$232.4bUS$13.5b12.1x23.6x1.4x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023US$335.4bUS$231.5bUS$18.9b12.8x17.8x1.4x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023US$319.7bUS$231.4bUS$19.1b12.3x16.7x1.4x
Tue, 09 May 2023US$315.7bUS$232.9bUS$19.7b12.1x16x1.4x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023US$310.4bUS$230.3bUS$12.3b17.6x25.3x1.3x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023US$312.0bUS$230.3bUS$12.2b18.5x25.5x1.4x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023US$318.9bUS$227.0bUS$12.2b18.5x26.1x1.4x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022US$327.1bUS$226.1bUS$7.3b10.5x44.9x1.4x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022US$338.3bUS$226.0bUS$7.3b10.8x46.3x1.5x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022US$292.1bUS$221.3bUS$5.3b15.6x55.5x1.3x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022US$282.8bUS$221.3bUS$5.3b15.6x53.8x1.3x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022US$334.2bUS$221.3bUS$5.3b20.2x63.5x1.5x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022US$280.3bUS$217.1bUS$5.9b13.2x47.3x1.3x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022US$307.2bUS$217.1bUS$5.9b14x51.8x1.4x
Wed, 11 May 2022US$320.4bUS$217.1bUS$5.9b15.2x54x1.5x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022US$389.9bUS$218.7bUS$8.7b19.8x44.9x1.8x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022US$387.9bUS$209.4bUS$8.7b23.6x44.4x1.9x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022US$410.0bUS$207.3bUS$9.5b25.7x43.1x2x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021US$425.2bUS$211.7bUS$14.5b35.9x29.2x2x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021US$426.1bUS$211.7bUS$14.5b35.2x29.3x2x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021US$445.0bUS$207.2bUS$12.2b27.1x36.5x2.1x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021US$428.6bUS$206.2bUS$11.6b26.8x36.8x2.1x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021US$453.4bUS$206.2bUS$11.6b20.8x39x2.2x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021US$472.5bUS$197.1bUS$10.7b32.5x44.2x2.4x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021US$415.2bUS$195.4bUS$14.7b35.6x28.3x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28.3x


Total Market Cap: US$415.2bTotal Earnings: US$14.7bTotal Revenue: US$195.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Industrials Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 39.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Industrials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 94.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 39.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Industrials industry have declined 36% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.9% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Industrials industry?

US Market0.43%
Industrials1.28%
Industrials1.13%
Industrial Conglomerates1.13%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GE General ElectricUS$156.893.4%
+US$5.7b
83.0%PE19.5x
IEP Icahn EnterprisesUS$20.011.2%
+US$463.4m
-62.8%PS0.8x
VINO Gaucho Group HoldingsUS$0.587.2%
+US$286.6k
-94.9%PS2.1x
AULT Ault AllianceUS$0.4512.2%
+US$136.9k
-99.9%PS0.008x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

IEP

US$20.01

Icahn Enterprises

7D

1.2%

1Y

-62.8%

BBUC

US$22.86

Brookfield Business

7D

-1.5%

1Y

16.0%

GE

US$156.89

General Electric

7D

3.4%

1Y

83.0%

EFSH

US$2.78

1847 Holdings

7D

-12.6%

1Y

-98.1%

HON

US$198.73

Honeywell International

7D

-1.0%

1Y

2.2%

AULT

US$0.45

Ault Alliance

7D

12.2%

1Y

-99.9%

VINO

US$0.58

Gaucho Group Holdings

7D

7.2%

1Y

-94.9%