Header cover image

U.S. Food Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies18
  • 7D-3.9%
  • 3M-6.3%
  • 1Y11.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Food Distributors industry has dropped 3.9%, driven by a pullback from Sysco of 4.4%. In contrast, United Natural Foods has gained 8.9%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 11%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Food Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024US$66.1bUS$226.8bUS$3.1b25.8x21.2x0.3x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024US$66.1bUS$226.8bUS$3.1b18.9x21.4x0.3x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024US$70.1bUS$226.8bUS$3.1b18.5x22.7x0.3x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024US$67.1bUS$227.8bUS$3.0b22.6x22.4x0.3x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024US$65.8bUS$226.9bUS$2.7b23.5x24.2x0.3x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023US$63.7bUS$226.9bUS$2.7b22.4x23.4x0.3x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023US$58.7bUS$227.1bUS$2.8b23.8x20.9x0.3x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023US$55.0bUS$226.4bUS$2.8b21.5x19.9x0.2x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023US$60.7bUS$225.9bUS$2.9b22.8x21.2x0.3x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023US$64.3bUS$224.7bUS$2.5b28.9x26x0.3x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023US$62.5bUS$224.7bUS$2.5b28.8x25.3x0.3x
Sat, 27 May 2023US$60.3bUS$224.3bUS$2.5b24.1x23.7x0.3x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023US$62.7bUS$221.1bUS$2.3b31.7x27.3x0.3x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023US$61.1bUS$221.0bUS$2.3b30.1x26.9x0.3x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023US$64.5bUS$219.5bUS$2.3b25.1x27.6x0.3x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023US$65.4bUS$214.1bUS$2.3b26.1x28.1x0.3x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022US$66.2bUS$214.1bUS$2.3b25.1x28.5x0.3x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022US$64.3bUS$208.5bUS$2.2b23.6x29.3x0.3x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022US$55.5bUS$204.4bUS$2.1b20.7x26.1x0.3x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022US$62.0bUS$207.6bUS$2.1b27.3x29.1x0.3x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022US$65.5bUS$195.2bUS$1.7b31.4x38.9x0.3x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022US$63.9bUS$195.0bUS$1.7b31.6x38.3x0.3x
Sun, 29 May 2022US$64.6bUS$194.3bUS$1.6b31.7x39.1x0.3x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022US$70.2bUS$181.9bUS$1.4b19x51.3x0.4x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022US$64.0bUS$182.0bUS$1.4b18.4x47.1x0.4x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022US$65.6bUS$181.6bUS$1.3b15.2x48.8x0.4x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022US$63.4bUS$167.6bUS$1.1b14.9x57x0.4x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021US$58.3bUS$167.6bUS$1.1b14.7x52.4x0.3x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021US$62.1bUS$167.5bUS$1.0b39.2x60.3x0.4x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021US$65.1bUS$156.1bUS$782.8m18.7x83.1x0.4x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021US$58.6bUS$156.2bUS$741.0m14.2x79.1x0.4x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021US$56.1bUS$156.1bUS$789.1m13.9x71.1x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-185x


Total Market Cap: US$62.6bTotal Earnings: -US$338,167,911.99Total Revenue: US$140.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Food Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Food Distributors industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.32x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Food Distributors industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 17% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Food Distributors compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.91%
Consumer Staples-1.70%
Food and Staples Retail-0.62%
Food Distributors-3.91%
Big Box Super Stores-0.20%
Food Retail-0.53%
Drug Retail-12.96%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
UNFI United Natural FoodsUS$12.028.9%
+US$58.2m
-55.8%PS0.02x
HFFG HF Foods GroupUS$3.156.1%
+US$9.5m
-9.2%PE54.1x
DTCK Davis CommoditiesUS$1.1412.9%
+US$3.2m
n/aPE25.7x
WILC G. Willi-Food InternationalUS$9.330.8%
+US$970.7k
-27.3%PE12.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

UNFI

US$12.02

United Natural Foods

7D

8.9%

1Y

-55.8%

SPTN

US$20.55

SpartanNash

7D

-2.2%

1Y

-12.6%

USFD

US$53.29

US Foods Holding

7D

-3.0%

1Y

35.6%

WILC

US$9.33

G. Willi-Food International

7D

0.8%

1Y

-27.3%

ANDE

US$51.48

Andersons

7D

-1.9%

1Y

26.9%

HFFG

US$3.15

HF Foods Group

7D

6.1%

1Y

-9.2%

DTCK

US$1.14

Davis Commodities

7D

12.9%

1Y

n/a