Header cover image

U.S. Tobacco Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D-6.7%
  • 3M-2.9%
  • 1Y-1.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Tobacco industry has dropped 6.7%, driven by Altria Group declining 1.3%. As for the longer term, the industry's performance has been flat for the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 33% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Tobacco Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024US$4.7bUS$5.6bUS$233.5m11.5x20.1x0.8x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024US$4.4bUS$5.4bUS$219.8m11.1x20.1x0.8x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024US$5.4bUS$5.5bUS$82.4m11.4x65.2x1x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024US$5.5bUS$5.5b-US$2,028,174.8621.4x-2732.8x1x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024US$5.4bUS$5.6b-US$19,706,938.0024.5x-275.7x1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023US$5.6bUS$5.6b-US$29,906,166.0023.8x-187.5x1x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023US$4.8bUS$5.6bUS$2.4m32.1x2005.5x0.9x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023US$4.5bUS$5.6bUS$55.0m31.5x82.4x0.8x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023US$4.7bUS$5.6bUS$53.2m34.1x88.2x0.8x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023US$4.8bUS$5.7bUS$93.4m25.9x51.4x0.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023US$5.0bUS$5.7bUS$90.9m28.9x55x0.9x
Mon, 29 May 2023US$5.4bUS$5.7bUS$83.2m32.1x64.6x0.9x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023US$6.1bUS$5.9bUS$189.0m17.6x32.2x1x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023US$5.7bUS$5.8bUS$202.4m15.5x28.2x1x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023US$5.4bUS$6.0bUS$346.1m10.5x15.6x0.9x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023US$6.3bUS$5.7bUS$319.2m12.1x19.9x1.1x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022US$6.1bUS$5.7bUS$307.9m12.1x19.8x1.1x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022US$4.4bUS$5.6bUS$364.7m7.9x12.1x0.8x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022US$3.2bUS$5.4bUS$368.6m6.6x8.8x0.6x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022US$4.0bUS$5.5bUS$429.3m7.2x9.4x0.7x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022US$4.7bUS$5.5bUS$473.3m8x10x0.9x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022US$5.8bUS$5.4bUS$487.5m8.7x11.9x1.1x
Tue, 31 May 2022US$5.7bUS$5.3bUS$377.5m8.7x15.1x1.1x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022US$5.6bUS$5.4bUS$233.4m10.5x24x1x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022US$5.2bUS$5.5bUS$247.4m10.1x21.1x1x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022US$7.2bUS$5.4bUS$139.2m13.2x51.7x1.3x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022US$7.5bUS$5.4bUS$158.6m13.8x47.3x1.4x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021US$7.5bUS$5.4bUS$158.2m13.4x47.4x1.4x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021US$9.4bUS$5.3b-US$816,803.0015.8x-11547.7x1.8x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021US$95.5bUS$26.3bUS$4.6b19.5x20.6x3.6x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021US$105.5bUS$26.3bUS$4.6b20.4x22.8x4x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021US$97.4bUS$26.3bUS$4.6b20x21x3.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

26.5x


Total Market Cap: US$112.2bTotal Earnings: US$4.2bTotal Revenue: US$25.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Tobacco Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -27x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Tobacco industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 20.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -27.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.84x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Tobacco industry have declined 62% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 40% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Tobacco compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.22%
Consumer Staples-1.18%
Tobacco-6.65%
Tobacco-6.65%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PM Philip Morris InternationalUS$99.930.1%
+US$155.5m
10.0%PE19.6x
ISPR Ispire TechnologyUS$7.869.3%
+US$37.8m
5.8%PS3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

UVV

US$46.00

Universal

7D

-14.9%

1Y

-13.5%

PM

US$99.93

Philip Morris International

7D

0.1%

1Y

10.0%

ISPR

US$7.86

Ispire Technology

7D

9.3%

1Y

5.8%

MO

US$45.49

Altria Group

7D

-1.3%

1Y

2.0%

VGR

US$10.84

Vector Group

7D

-2.8%

1Y

-8.7%

RLX

US$1.91

RLX Technology

7D

-6.4%

1Y

-5.4%

XXII

US$1.24

22nd Century Group

7D

-10.8%

1Y

-99.2%

HPCO

US$1.03

Hempacco

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-82.2%