Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Retail Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedSep 23, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-3.0%
  • 3M-0.2%
  • 1Y5.1%
  • YTD-9.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Retail Distributors industry has dropped 3.0%, driven by a pullback from Inchcape of 3.3%. On the other hand Supreme is actually up 5.4%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 5.1%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 20% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Retail Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 23 Sep 2023UKĀ£3.6bUKĀ£11.0bUKĀ£265.1m9.3x13.6x0.3x
Mon, 21 Aug 2023UKĀ£3.5bUKĀ£11.0bUKĀ£278.7m10.8x12.4x0.3x
Wed, 19 Jul 2023UKĀ£3.6bUKĀ£9.3bUKĀ£283.8m10x12.5x0.4x
Fri, 16 Jun 2023UKĀ£3.8bUKĀ£9.2bUKĀ£282.0m10.5x13.4x0.4x
Sun, 14 May 2023UKĀ£3.7bUKĀ£9.2bUKĀ£282.5m10.4x13.2x0.4x
Tue, 11 Apr 2023UKĀ£3.6bUKĀ£9.2bUKĀ£282.5m10.8x12.8x0.4x
Thu, 09 Mar 2023UKĀ£4.3bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£301.7m10.6x14.3x0.5x
Sat, 04 Feb 2023UKĀ£4.4bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£301.7m11.9x14.7x0.5x
Mon, 02 Jan 2023UKĀ£3.6bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£301.3m11.3x12x0.4x
Wed, 30 Nov 2022UKĀ£3.7bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£304.8m9.5x12.2x0.4x
Fri, 28 Oct 2022UKĀ£3.2bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£303.2m8.6x10.6x0.4x
Sun, 25 Sep 2022UKĀ£3.2bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£303.4m8.9x10.4x0.4x
Tue, 23 Aug 2022UKĀ£3.5bUKĀ£9.0bUKĀ£295.9m11.7x11.9x0.4x
Thu, 21 Jul 2022UKĀ£3.4bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£158.0m11.4x21.8x0.4x
Sat, 18 Jun 2022UKĀ£3.3bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£155.5m12.9x21x0.4x
Mon, 16 May 2022UKĀ£3.3bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£155.3m13.7x21.3x0.4x
Wed, 13 Apr 2022UKĀ£3.2bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£153.4m16.7x20.9x0.4x
Fri, 11 Mar 2022UKĀ£3.3bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£153.4m17.6x21.8x0.4x
Sun, 06 Feb 2022UKĀ£4.1bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.3m23.7x38.7x0.5x
Tue, 04 Jan 2022UKĀ£4.4bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£106.5m25.1x41.4x0.5x
Thu, 02 Dec 2021UKĀ£4.0bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.1m23.8x38.1x0.5x
Sat, 30 Oct 2021UKĀ£4.0bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£105.4m24.4x38.3x0.5x
Mon, 27 Sep 2021UKĀ£4.2bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£102.6m26x40.8x0.5x
Wed, 25 Aug 2021UKĀ£4.4bUKĀ£8.8bUKĀ£102.6m26.9x42.9x0.5x
Thu, 01 Jul 2021UKĀ£3.8bUKĀ£8.7bUKĀ£105.7m24.4x36x0.4x
Sun, 04 Apr 2021UKĀ£3.7bUKĀ£8.2b-UKĀ£18,905,000.0018.5x-194.7x0.4x
Wed, 06 Jan 2021UKĀ£2.9bUKĀ£7.6b-UKĀ£153,851,500.0013.2x-19x0.4x
Sat, 10 Oct 2020UKĀ£2.0bUKĀ£8.0b-UKĀ£71,233,500.0011.5x-28.6x0.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-28.6x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£2.0bTotal Earnings: -UKĀ£71,233,500.00Total Revenue: UKĀ£8.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Retail Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -3.6x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Retail Distributors industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 13.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -3.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.44x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Retail Distributors industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Consumer Discretionary industry?

GB Market-0.35%
Consumer Discretionary-2.57%
Retail Distributors-3.00%
Distributors-3.00%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SUP SupremeUKĀ£0.975.4%
+UKĀ£5.9m
14.1%PE9.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.