Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Aerospace & Defense Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D3.4%
  • 3M0.3%
  • 1Y30.7%
  • YTD28.7%

In the last week, the Aerospace & Defense industry is up 3.4%, with BAE Systems up 4.8%. This means that the industry has gained 31% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Aerospace & Defense Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 28 Nov 2022UK£39.1bUK£29.5bUK£1.8b18.6x21.3x1.3x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022UK£39.0bUK£29.4bUK£1.7b20.8x22.5x1.3x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022UK£39.4bUK£29.4bUK£1.7b21.9x22.7x1.3x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022UK£39.7bUK£29.4bUK£1.7b22.9x22.9x1.4x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022UK£39.5bUK£29.1bUK£1.2b23.1x33.6x1.4x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022UK£38.2bUK£29.1bUK£1.2b21.8x32.6x1.3x
Sat, 14 May 2022UK£37.5bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b25.9x32.3x1.3x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022UK£37.3bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b23.8x32.1x1.3x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022UK£37.2bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b22.3x31.2x1.3x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022UK£31.0bUK£28.8bUK£1.2b20.3x26.3x1.1x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022UK£30.6bUK£28.8bUK£1.2b20.5x26.1x1.1x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021UK£30.4bUK£28.7bUK£311.2m26.5x97.7x1.1x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021UK£31.6bUK£28.7bUK£361.2m26.3x87.5x1.1x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021UK£32.4bUK£28.7bUK£362.2m26.2x89.4x1.1x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021UK£33.5bUK£28.7bUK£360.6m27.6x92.9x1.2x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021UK£28.0bUK£28.7bUK£354.0m24.6x79.2x1x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021UK£26.8bUK£28.8b-UK£140,183,285.0618.7x-191.5x0.9x
Mon, 04 Jan 2021UK£26.5bUK£28.8bUK£120.7m20.4x219.6x0.9x
Thu, 08 Oct 2020UK£24.3bUK£29.0bUK£839.5m19.4x28.9x0.8x
Wed, 01 Jul 2020UK£24.7bUK£29.0bUK£924.0m19.9x26.7x0.9x
Sat, 04 Apr 2020UK£25.9bUK£28.9bUK£1.4b19.9x18.1x0.9x
Tue, 07 Jan 2020UK£32.2bUK£28.7bUK£2.0b27x16.2x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

15x


Total Market Cap: UK£31.9bTotal Earnings: UK£2.1bTotal Revenue: UK£28.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Aerospace & Defense Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 30.5x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Aerospace & Defense industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 21.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 30.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Aerospace & Defense industry have declined 4.7% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Industrials industry?

GB Market1.33%
Industrials1.99%
Aerospace & Defense3.42%
Aerospace and Defense3.42%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BA. BAE SystemsUK£8.074.8%
+UK£1.1b
46.7%PE18.1x
RR. Rolls-Royce HoldingsUK£0.916.3%
+UK£449.2m
-25.3%PS0.7x
BAB Babcock International GroupUK£3.014.1%
+UK£59.6m
-2.2%PE10.4x
CHG Chemring GroupUK£3.094.7%
+UK£39.7m
12.8%PE18.8x
QQ. QinetiQ GroupUK£3.471.9%
+UK£37.7m
33.5%PE11x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.