Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Consumer Services Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 22, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-4.3%
  • 3M-13.6%
  • 1Y-45.2%
  • YTD-10.8%

In the last week, the Consumer Services industry is up 2.1%, with Cogna EducaĆ§Ć£o up 1.8%. In the same time, Cruzeiro do Sul Educacional was down 6.8%. However, the industry is down 40% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 76% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Consumer Services Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 22 Mar 2023R$9.5bR$17.5b-R$942,516,000.0020.2x-10.1x0.5x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023R$10.2bR$17.5b-R$931,642,000.0024.5x-11x0.6x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023R$10.5bR$17.5b-R$931,642,000.0028.9x-11.3x0.6x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022R$10.5bR$17.4b-R$907,686,000.0030.6x-11.6x0.6x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022R$14.9bR$17.0b-R$711,144,000.0030.7x-20.9x0.9x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022R$16.2bR$17.0b-R$711,144,000.0035.4x-22.8x1x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022R$13.7bR$16.9b-R$699,446,000.0033.4x-19.5x0.8x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022R$12.6bR$16.6b-R$239,694,000.0020.3x-52.6x0.8x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022R$11.8bR$16.6b-R$239,694,000.0018.2x-49.3x0.7x
Sun, 29 May 2022R$15.6bR$16.5b-R$286,711,000.0023.9x-54.6x0.9x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022R$16.3bR$15.8b-R$51,271,000.0021.4x-317.1x1x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022R$16.9bR$15.3b-R$1,787,016,000.0018x-9.5x1.1x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022R$18.9bR$15.2b-R$1,815,307,000.0020.3x-10.4x1.2x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022R$17.6bR$15.2b-R$1,815,307,000.0021.9x-9.7x1.2x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021R$21.2bR$15.2b-R$1,815,307,000.0027.3x-11.7x1.4x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021R$21.6bR$14.8b-R$2,582,317,000.0028x-8.4x1.5x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021R$22.2bR$12.8b-R$2,634,311,000.0029.8x-8.4x1.7x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021R$23.4bR$12.8b-R$2,634,311,000.0030.9x-8.9x1.8x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021R$26.0bR$12.8b-R$2,634,311,000.0033.1x-9.9x2x
Sun, 09 May 2021R$26.1bR$12.2b-R$3,350,951,000.0038.8x-7.8x2.1x
Wed, 10 Feb 2021R$24.9bR$11.8b-R$3,404,313,000.0057.2x-7.3x2.1x
Tue, 03 Nov 2020R$19.5bR$11.5b-R$1,784,699,000.0034.2x-10.9x1.7x
Fri, 07 Aug 2020R$30.8bR$11.6b-R$384,727,000.0027.9x-80x2.6x
Thu, 30 Apr 2020R$24.2bR$12.0bR$479.3m19.2x50.4x2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

37.9x


Total Market Cap: R$18.2bTotal Earnings: R$479.3mTotal Revenue: R$12.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Consumer Services Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -32.6x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Brazilian Consumer Services industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.57x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Consumer Services industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Consumer Discretionary industry?

BR Market-1.87%
Consumer Discretionary-4.31%
Consumer Services-4.33%
Education Services-4.26%
Specialized Consumer Services-5.45%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Specialized Consumer Services industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 113% over the next 5 years.
    • In contrast, the Education Services industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 74% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    No data available
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.