Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Food and Staples Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D-5.6%
  • 3M-9.1%
  • 1Y-6.7%
  • YTD-8.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Food and Staples Retail industry has dropped 5.3%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. The industry has fallen 6.5% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 32% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Food and Staples Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 28 May 2024R$105.3bR$280.1bR$2.4b20.2x43.8x0.4x
Thu, 25 Apr 2024R$105.7bR$273.8bR$2.3b22.3x46.9x0.4x
Sat, 23 Mar 2024R$117.7bR$273.8bR$2.3b23.5x52.2x0.4x
Mon, 19 Feb 2024R$105.8bR$268.2bR$2.9b20.9x36x0.4x
Wed, 17 Jan 2024R$114.6bR$268.2bR$2.9b22.4x39x0.4x
Fri, 15 Dec 2023R$112.9bR$268.2bR$3.0b21.7x38.3x0.4x
Sun, 12 Nov 2023R$102.7bR$267.8bR$3.1b20.9x33.5x0.4x
Tue, 10 Oct 2023R$101.1bR$262.6bR$2.0b20x50.1x0.4x
Thu, 07 Sep 2023R$107.4bR$262.6bR$2.0b21x53.3x0.4x
Sat, 05 Aug 2023R$118.5bR$259.2bR$2.1b21.7x56.4x0.5x
Mon, 03 Jul 2023R$119.4bR$253.8bR$3.3b18x36.3x0.5x
Wed, 31 May 2023R$107.7bR$253.8bR$3.3b15.3x32.7x0.4x
Fri, 28 Apr 2023R$100.6bR$240.2bR$4.1b14.2x24.7x0.4x
Sun, 26 Mar 2023R$102.3bR$240.2bR$4.1b15.4x25.1x0.4x
Tue, 21 Feb 2023R$118.8bR$272.2bR$5.2b18.5x23x0.4x
Thu, 19 Jan 2023R$122.8bR$259.8bR$5.9b18.7x20.9x0.5x
Sat, 17 Dec 2022R$110.1bR$259.8bR$5.9b16.6x18.7x0.4x
Mon, 14 Nov 2022R$123.6bR$259.8bR$5.9b19.4x21x0.5x
Wed, 12 Oct 2022R$127.8bR$244.3bR$6.6b16x19.5x0.5x
Fri, 09 Sep 2022R$130.5bR$244.3bR$6.6b16.3x19.9x0.5x
Sun, 07 Aug 2022R$119.8bR$239.2bR$6.5b16.6x18.6x0.5x
Tue, 05 Jul 2022R$97.6bR$230.3bR$6.5b12.4x15x0.4x
Thu, 02 Jun 2022R$113.1bR$230.3bR$6.5b17.3x17.4x0.5x
Sat, 30 Apr 2022R$117.5bR$222.8bR$7.3b17.7x16.1x0.5x
Mon, 28 Mar 2022R$129.9bR$222.7bR$7.3b19.5x17.8x0.6x
Wed, 23 Feb 2022R$118.1bR$218.8bR$7.7b19.5x15.3x0.5x
Fri, 21 Jan 2022R$102.6bR$218.8bR$7.7b18.7x13.3x0.5x
Sun, 19 Dec 2021R$117.1bR$218.8bR$7.7b20.4x15.2x0.5x
Tue, 16 Nov 2021R$121.5bR$218.0bR$7.7b21.7x15.7x0.6x
Thu, 14 Oct 2021R$130.3bR$213.5bR$7.6b23.6x17.1x0.6x
Sat, 11 Sep 2021R$133.9bR$213.5bR$7.6b24.2x17.5x0.6x
Mon, 09 Aug 2021R$139.4bR$213.5bR$7.6b25.5x18.2x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20.7x


Total Market Cap: R$152.4bTotal Earnings: R$7.4bTotal Revenue: R$207.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Food and Staples Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Brazilian Consumer Retailing industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 43.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 27.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.49x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Retailing industry have declined 31% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Consumer Staples industry?

BR Market-2.66%
Consumer Staples-3.18%
Food and Staples Retail-5.55%
Food Distributors0%
Food Retail-1.27%
Big Box Super Stores-4.78%
Drug Retail-6.55%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Big Box Super Stores industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 19.8x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 37.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 11.7% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Big Box Super Stores industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 37% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 12% per year.
  • In contrast, the Food Retail industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 25% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.