Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Entertainment Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies50
  • 7D11.7%
  • 3M-9.8%
  • 1Y-3.2%
  • YTD-6.4%

The Entertainment industry is up 12% in the last week, with Kunlun Tech up 21%. In the past year, the industry is down 3.2%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 46% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Entertainment Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 25 Feb 2024CN¥570.9bCN¥128.8b-CN¥1,032,195,532.0061.1x-553.1x4.4x
Tue, 23 Jan 2024CN¥530.9bCN¥128.9b-CN¥1,242,348,229.0058.5x-427.3x4.1x
Thu, 21 Dec 2023CN¥661.3bCN¥128.9b-CN¥1,233,316,030.0070.4x-536.2x5.1x
Sat, 18 Nov 2023CN¥650.3bCN¥128.5b-CN¥1,561,182,615.0067.1x-416.5x5.1x
Mon, 16 Oct 2023CN¥613.6bCN¥123.8b-CN¥3,728,154,775.0045.7x-164.6x5x
Wed, 13 Sep 2023CN¥657.2bCN¥123.5b-CN¥3,816,856,268.0049.2x-172.2x5.3x
Fri, 11 Aug 2023CN¥716.8bCN¥119.6b-CN¥4,841,013,032.0050.3x-148.1x6x
Sun, 09 Jul 2023CN¥755.8bCN¥119.8b-CN¥4,748,547,672.0061.6x-159.2x6.3x
Tue, 06 Jun 2023CN¥840.5bCN¥122.4b-CN¥3,735,516,366.0070.3x-225x6.9x
Thu, 04 May 2023CN¥857.6bCN¥123.2b-CN¥4,437,179,336.0078.7x-193.3x7x
Sat, 01 Apr 2023CN¥717.5bCN¥125.4bCN¥4.0b47.6x177.4x5.7x
Mon, 27 Feb 2023CN¥575.4bCN¥125.9bCN¥3.0b38.6x192.1x4.6x
Wed, 25 Jan 2023CN¥556.4bCN¥125.8bCN¥3.0b37.4x184.6x4.4x
Fri, 23 Dec 2022CN¥504.3bCN¥125.8bCN¥3.0b34.7x167.3x4x
Sun, 20 Nov 2022CN¥514.3bCN¥125.6bCN¥3.0b39.9x170.8x4.1x
Tue, 18 Oct 2022CN¥444.2bCN¥128.7bCN¥6.0b25.7x74.1x3.5x
Thu, 15 Sep 2022CN¥494.9bCN¥128.7bCN¥6.0b27.7x83.2x3.8x
Sat, 13 Aug 2022CN¥507.9bCN¥129.7bCN¥9.2b37.3x55.2x3.9x
Mon, 11 Jul 2022CN¥496.0bCN¥129.6bCN¥9.2b33.4x54.1x3.8x
Wed, 08 Jun 2022CN¥501.2bCN¥129.6bCN¥9.2b34.2x54.6x3.9x
Fri, 06 May 2022CN¥466.7bCN¥126.5bCN¥3.5b36.6x131.9x3.7x
Sun, 03 Apr 2022CN¥546.0bCN¥127.8bCN¥4.4b31.6x124.3x4.3x
Tue, 01 Mar 2022CN¥541.9bCN¥126.1bCN¥5.6b30.5x96x4.3x
Thu, 27 Jan 2022CN¥588.0bCN¥126.1bCN¥5.7b33.2x103.7x4.7x
Sat, 25 Dec 2021CN¥676.9bCN¥126.1bCN¥5.7b39.3x119.4x5.4x
Mon, 22 Nov 2021CN¥629.1bCN¥126.1bCN¥5.7b35.6x110.3x5x
Wed, 20 Oct 2021CN¥558.7bCN¥123.0bCN¥3.4b29.2x163.2x4.5x
Fri, 17 Sep 2021CN¥578.8bCN¥119.0bCN¥3.8b31.9x150.5x4.9x
Sun, 15 Aug 2021CN¥544.8bCN¥123.2bCN¥3.4b28.4x159.8x4.4x
Thu, 10 Jun 2021CN¥686.1bCN¥115.9bCN¥2.0b33.1x340.5x5.9x
Wed, 03 Mar 2021CN¥661.7bCN¥109.0b-CN¥294,422,659.0036.5x-2247.5x6.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-2247.5x


Total Market Cap: CN¥661.7bTotal Earnings: -CN¥294,422,659.00Total Revenue: CN¥109.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Entertainment Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -36.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Chinese Entertainment industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Entertainment industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 5.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Telecom industry?

CN Market5.15%
Telecom12.69%
Entertainment11.68%
Interactive Home Entertainment13.07%
Movies and Entertainment9.75%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Movies and Entertainment industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 49% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings decline of 2.9% per year.
    • In contrast, the Interactive Home Entertainment industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 44% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    300418 Kunlun TechCN¥39.6920.7%
    +CN¥8.3b
    80.7%PE69.5x
    2261 Talkweb Information SystemLtdCN¥14.3922.2%
    +CN¥3.3b
    37.7%PS7.2x
    2602 Zhejiang Century Huatong GroupLtdCN¥4.709.6%
    +CN¥3.0b
    4.0%PS2.9x
    300459 Zhejiang Jinke Tom Culture IndustryCN¥4.6019.8%
    +CN¥2.7b
    -7.8%PE67.4x
    600088 China Television MediaCN¥24.9834.7%
    +CN¥2.6b
    154.9%PE31.8x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    300459

    CN¥4.60

    Zhejiang Jinke Tom Culture Industry

    7D

    19.8%

    1Y

    -7.8%

    300182

    CN¥4.77

    Beijing Jetsen Technology

    7D

    19.3%

    1Y

    -7.7%

    600088

    CN¥24.98

    China Television Media

    7D

    34.7%

    1Y

    154.9%

    300418

    CN¥39.69

    Kunlun Tech

    7D

    20.7%

    1Y

    80.7%

    600977

    CN¥12.09

    China Film

    7D

    -0.08%

    1Y

    -1.1%

    2739

    CN¥11.80

    Wanda Film Holding

    7D

    -1.5%

    1Y

    -12.6%

    2602

    CN¥4.70

    Zhejiang Century Huatong GroupLtd

    7D

    9.6%

    1Y

    4.0%

    2555

    CN¥18.79

    37 Interactive Entertainment Network Technology Group

    7D

    6.2%

    1Y

    -17.3%

    300315

    CN¥5.31

    Ourpalm

    7D

    16.7%

    1Y

    48.3%

    2261

    CN¥14.39

    Talkweb Information SystemLtd

    7D

    22.2%

    1Y

    37.7%