Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Food Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 12, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-1.3%
  • 3M-10.3%
  • 1Y-27.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Food Retail industry has remained flat, although notably Jiajiayue Group gained 8.0%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 25% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 54% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Food Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 13 Apr 2024CN¥96.0bCN¥190.3b-CN¥2,351,588,278.0035.2x-40.8x0.5x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024CN¥94.2bCN¥190.2b-CN¥2,377,058,596.0033x-39.6x0.5x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024CN¥88.6bCN¥190.2b-CN¥2,383,233,891.0030.4x-37.2x0.5x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024CN¥108.4bCN¥190.0b-CN¥2,417,382,511.0035.3x-44.9x0.6x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023CN¥118.3bCN¥190.0b-CN¥2,417,382,511.0039.1x-48.9x0.6x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023CN¥114.1bCN¥191.9b-CN¥2,399,476,918.0040.8x-47.5x0.6x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023CN¥118.8bCN¥193.6b-CN¥2,901,428,090.0044.9x-40.9x0.6x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023CN¥127.9bCN¥201.9b-CN¥3,746,801,283.0047.4x-34.1x0.6x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023CN¥139.6bCN¥201.9b-CN¥3,756,687,568.0050.7x-37.2x0.7x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023CN¥134.7bCN¥202.0b-CN¥3,759,300,861.0047.3x-35.8x0.7x
Fri, 19 May 2023CN¥135.8bCN¥201.9b-CN¥3,562,672,838.0049.2x-38.1x0.7x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023CN¥136.0bCN¥213.8b-CN¥2,259,360,043.0047.9x-60.2x0.6x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023CN¥138.1bCN¥214.0b-CN¥2,409,455,050.0044.3x-57.3x0.6x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023CN¥138.1bCN¥214.0b-CN¥1,900,335,144.0044.4x-72.7x0.6x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023CN¥138.5bCN¥214.0b-CN¥1,900,335,144.0044.5x-72.9x0.6x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022CN¥132.8bCN¥214.0b-CN¥1,900,335,141.0043.3x-69.9x0.6x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022CN¥114.7bCN¥214.0b-CN¥1,900,335,142.0039.5x-60.4x0.5x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022CN¥119.6bCN¥215.8b-CN¥1,972,858,746.0036.6x-60.6x0.6x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022CN¥131.0bCN¥225.7b-CN¥2,089,598,159.0029.6x-62.7x0.6x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022CN¥85.3bCN¥89.9bCN¥1.2b36.2x74x0.9x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022CN¥83.6bCN¥89.8bCN¥1.1b36.7x73.5x0.9x
Sat, 21 May 2022CN¥86.6bCN¥89.8bCN¥1.1b40.6x76.1x1x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022CN¥89.5bCN¥89.4bCN¥2.1b35.2x42.5x1x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022CN¥82.8bCN¥89.3bCN¥2.6b33.9x32.4x0.9x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022CN¥93.7bCN¥89.2bCN¥1.9b49.2x48.5x1.1x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022CN¥93.1bCN¥89.2bCN¥1.9b44.1x48.3x1x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021CN¥87.1bCN¥89.2bCN¥1.9b46.7x45.2x1x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021CN¥69.6bCN¥80.1bCN¥1.6b44.1x44.7x0.9x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021CN¥65.2bCN¥79.6bCN¥1.9b32.9x33.4x0.8x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021CN¥63.2bCN¥79.3bCN¥1.9b32.6x32.4x0.8x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021CN¥73.1bCN¥79.3bCN¥1.9b36.3x37.5x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

34.7x


Total Market Cap: CN¥71.6bTotal Earnings: CN¥2.1bTotal Revenue: CN¥79.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Food Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -10.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Food Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.75x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Food Retail industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 34% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Chinese Food Retail compare with similar industries?

CN Market-2.07%
Consumer Staples-3.99%
Food and Staples Retail-0.36%
Food Retail-1.27%
Drug Retail1.64%
Big Box Super Stores-5.21%
Food Distributors-5.42%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2697 Chengdu Hongqi ChainLtdCN¥5.414.2%
+CN¥299.2m
-10.3%PE12.6x
603708 Jiajiayue GroupCN¥10.802.0%
+CN¥134.1m
-13.3%PE92.1x
601116 Sanjiang Shopping ClubLtdCN¥9.511.4%
+CN¥71.2m
-26.2%PE39.6x
600113 Zhejiang Dongri LimitedCN¥7.930.1%
+CN¥4.2m
3.3%PE16.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

603777

CN¥10.92

Shanghai LaiyifenLtd

7D

-4.1%

1Y

-35.6%

601933

CN¥2.19

Yonghui Superstores

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-34.0%

601116

CN¥9.51

Sanjiang Shopping ClubLtd

7D

1.4%

1Y

-26.2%

2336

CN¥8.10

Renrenle Commercial GroupLtd

7D

-15.8%

1Y

-43.8%

61

CN¥5.73

Shenzhen Agricultural Products Group

7D

-6.1%

1Y

-7.1%

301078

CN¥6.36

Kidswant Children ProductsLtd

7D

-6.3%

1Y

-45.5%

605188

CN¥8.11

Jiangxi Guoguang Commercial Chains

7D

-10.0%

1Y

7.4%

603708

CN¥10.80

Jiajiayue Group

7D

2.0%

1Y

-13.3%

600827

CN¥9.02

Shanghai Bailian (Group)

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-27.9%

600113

CN¥7.93

Zhejiang Dongri Limited

7D

0.1%

1Y

3.3%