Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Semiconductors Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies213
  • 7D-3.0%
  • 3M-8.3%
  • 1Y-39.5%
  • YTD-18.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Semiconductors industry has dropped 3.0%, driven by a pullback from Hygon Information Technology of 6.8%. However, the industry is down 39% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 37% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Semiconductors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024CN¥3.4tCN¥1.5tCN¥127.4b46.7x26.8x2.3x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024CN¥4.0tCN¥1.5tCN¥124.4b57.6x31.9x2.7x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024CN¥3.5tCN¥1.4tCN¥127.5b48x27.4x2.4x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024CN¥3.9tCN¥1.4tCN¥124.5b61.6x31x2.7x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023CN¥4.2tCN¥1.4tCN¥124.1b69x34x3x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023CN¥4.4tCN¥1.4tCN¥125.1b73.3x35.2x3.1x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023CN¥4.3tCN¥1.4tCN¥136.8b68.5x31.2x3x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023CN¥4.4tCN¥1.4tCN¥134.4b71.3x33x3.2x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023CN¥4.6tCN¥1.3tCN¥139.6b66.1x33.2x3.4x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023CN¥4.9tCN¥1.3tCN¥138.4b68.2x35.6x3.7x
Mon, 29 May 2023CN¥5.0tCN¥1.3tCN¥137.8b68.7x36.3x3.9x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023CN¥4.8tCN¥31.1tCN¥842.7b61.9x5.7x0.2x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023CN¥4.9tCN¥1.2tCN¥133.9b62.1x36.4x4.2x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023CN¥4.5tCN¥983.8bCN¥103.4b55.9x43.4x4.6x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023CN¥4.4tCN¥981.9bCN¥103.3b53.8x43x4.5x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022CN¥4.3tCN¥978.5bCN¥102.5b53.2x42.2x4.4x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022CN¥4.5tCN¥968.2bCN¥101.2b54.5x44.2x4.6x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022CN¥4.2tCN¥880.8bCN¥96.1b46.6x44x4.8x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022CN¥4.7tCN¥873.5bCN¥94.5b54.1x50.1x5.4x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022CN¥4.6tCN¥782.0bCN¥86.8b55.5x53x5.9x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022CN¥4.6tCN¥770.2bCN¥82.5b55.3x55.5x5.9x
Tue, 31 May 2022CN¥3.9tCN¥765.3bCN¥81.6b46.9x48.3x5.2x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022CN¥3.4tCN¥715.3bCN¥78.6b42.6x43.7x4.8x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022CN¥4.1tCN¥681.6bCN¥70.3b63x58.3x6x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022CN¥4.1tCN¥653.0bCN¥63.8b64.9x64.4x6.3x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022CN¥4.5tCN¥614.7bCN¥62.6b70.6x71.5x7.3x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021CN¥4.8tCN¥608.1bCN¥62.6b77.4x76.5x7.9x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021CN¥4.8tCN¥606.0bCN¥62.1b75.6x77.1x7.9x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021CN¥4.1tCN¥550.8bCN¥53.5b70x76.2x7.4x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021CN¥4.3tCN¥550.0bCN¥53.4b78.6x80.4x7.8x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021CN¥4.5tCN¥542.6bCN¥52.3b73.2x86.1x8.3x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021CN¥2.9tCN¥484.8bCN¥42.4b59.3x68.1x6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

68.1x


Total Market Cap: CN¥2.9tTotal Earnings: CN¥42.4bTotal Revenue: CN¥484.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Semiconductors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 49.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Semiconductor industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 26.8x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 49.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Semiconductor industry have grown 44% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 45% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Tech industry?

CN Market-0.40%
Tech-2.71%
Semiconductors-3.01%
Semiconductor Equipment-2.41%
Semiconductors-3.25%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Semiconductors industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 53.3x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 43.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 27.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Semiconductor Equipment industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 44.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Semiconductors industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 43% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 28% per year.
  • In contrast, the Semiconductor Equipment industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 25% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
601012 LONGi Green Energy TechnologyCN¥18.783.2%
+CN¥4.4b
-46.4%PE8.1x
603986 Giga Device SemiconductorCN¥74.508.2%
+CN¥3.8b
-36.7%PE230.2x
688525 BIWIN Storage TechnologyCN¥45.0420.3%
+CN¥3.3b
-43.7%PS5.4x
300661 SG MicroCN¥67.3011.6%
+CN¥3.3b
-28.6%PE118.7x
688375 Guobo ElectronicsCN¥70.619.1%
+CN¥2.4b
-13.9%PE49.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

688484

CN¥33.19

Southchip Semiconductor Technology(Shanghai)

7D

19.3%

1Y

-21.9%

603986

CN¥74.50

Giga Device Semiconductor

7D

8.2%

1Y

-36.7%

600584

CN¥23.52

JCET Group

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-25.3%

2371

CN¥302.86

NAURA Technology Group

7D

-2.0%

1Y

-8.5%

2459

CN¥14.33

JA Solar Technology

7D

-6.2%

1Y

-61.0%

688525

CN¥45.04

BIWIN Storage Technology

7D

20.3%

1Y

-43.7%