Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Publishing Industry Analysis

UpdatedSep 21, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies30
  • 7D-1.9%
  • 3M-16.0%
  • 1Y44.9%
  • YTD33.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Publishing industry has dropped 1.9%, and China Science Publishing & Media contributed the most with a 7.0% decline. On the other hand China South Publishing & Media Group is actually up 7.3%. In the past year, the industry has gained 45%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 15% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Publishing Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 21 Sep 2023CN„304.3bCN„125.5bCN„14.0b37.5x21.7x2.4x
Sat, 19 Aug 2023CN„305.5bCN„123.9bCN„13.8b39.1x22.1x2.5x
Mon, 17 Jul 2023CN„343.1bCN„123.9bCN„13.8b43.8x24.8x2.8x
Wed, 14 Jun 2023CN„394.2bCN„123.9bCN„13.8b51.6x28.5x3.2x
Fri, 12 May 2023CN„395.4bCN„123.6bCN„13.8b55x28.7x3.2x
Sun, 09 Apr 2023CN„285.9bCN„121.7bCN„13.0b30.8x22x2.3x
Tue, 07 Mar 2023CN„248.4bCN„121.7bCN„13.0b25.9x19x2x
Thu, 02 Feb 2023CN„227.4bCN„121.0bCN„13.0b23x17.4x1.9x
Sat, 31 Dec 2022CN„220.4bCN„120.6bCN„13.2b21.5x16.7x1.8x
Mon, 28 Nov 2022CN„214.1bCN„120.6bCN„13.2b22.9x16.2x1.8x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022CN„189.2bCN„120.3bCN„14.2b20.2x13.3x1.6x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022CN„206.7bCN„120.5bCN„14.2b20.9x14.5x1.7x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022CN„198.5bCN„120.0bCN„14.4b16.5x13.8x1.7x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022CN„195.1bCN„120.2bCN„14.3b16x13.6x1.6x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022CN„210.0bCN„120.2bCN„14.3b17.5x14.7x1.7x
Sat, 14 May 2022CN„197.0bCN„120.2bCN„14.3b16.1x13.8x1.6x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022CN„224.2bCN„119.7bCN„12.9b18.3x17.4x1.9x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022CN„227.1bCN„120.4bCN„12.7b17.9x17.8x1.9x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022CN„219.9bCN„121.3bCN„12.5b21x17.6x1.8x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022CN„247.3bCN„121.3bCN„12.5b24.6x19.8x2x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021CN„215.8bCN„121.3bCN„12.5b21.4x17.2x1.8x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021CN„205.1bCN„119.5bCN„12.6b18.9x16.3x1.7x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021CN„218.5bCN„119.9bCN„12.5b19.1x17.5x1.8x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021CN„199.7bCN„117.8bCN„12.2b17.6x16.3x1.7x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021CN„188.4bCN„106.4bCN„10.8b17.3x17.4x1.8x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021CN„189.8bCN„104.0bCN„9.8b17.2x19.4x1.8x
Mon, 04 Jan 2021CN„184.9bCN„100.4bCN„8.9b16.1x20.9x1.8x
Thu, 08 Oct 2020CN„201.8bCN„98.7bCN„10.6b19.6x19x2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19x


Total Market Cap: CN„201.8bTotal Earnings: CN„10.6bTotal Revenue: CN„98.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Publishing Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 18.6x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Chinese Publishing industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 21.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 18.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.0x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Publishing industry have grown 9.7% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Chinese Publishing compare with similar industries?

CN Market-1.42%
Telecom-2.87%
Media-2.25%
Publishing-1.93%
Broadcasting-0.72%
Advertising-2.30%
Cable and Satellite-3.01%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
601098 China South Publishing & Media GroupCN„12.017.3%
+CN„1.5b
19.6%PE14x
601928 Jiangsu Phoenix Publishing & MediaCN„10.163.9%
+CN„967.1m
15.5%PE12.1x
601019 Shandong Publishing&MediaLtdCN„9.044.1%
+CN„751.3m
38.7%PE11x
600373 Chinese Universe Publishing and Media GroupCN„12.194.2%
+CN„664.0m
35.9%PE8.2x
601921 Zhejiang Publishing & MediaCN„7.880.3%
+CN„44.4m
7.9%PE12x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

601900

CN„15.23

Southern Publishing and MediaLtd

7D

-5.8%

1Y

94.0%

719

CN„10.58

Central China Land MediaLTD

7D

-5.7%

1Y

14.6%

600373

CN„12.19

Chinese Universe Publishing and Media Group

7D

4.2%

1Y

35.9%

603000

CN„34.52

People.cn

7D

-3.9%

1Y

194.8%

601019

CN„9.04

Shandong Publishing&MediaLtd

7D

4.1%

1Y

38.7%

603888

CN„29.29

Xinhuanet

7D

-7.5%

1Y

57.0%

601928

CN„10.16

Jiangsu Phoenix Publishing & Media

7D

3.9%

1Y

15.5%

601858

CN„28.89

China Science Publishing & Media

7D

-7.0%

1Y

287.8%

300788

CN„25.72

Citic Press

7D

-5.9%

1Y

44.7%

601921

CN„7.88

Zhejiang Publishing & Media

7D

0.3%

1Y

7.9%

603096

CN„17.61

Thinkingdom Media Group

7D

0.7%

1Y

-2.5%

300364

CN„12.94

COL GroupLtd

7D

-5.8%

1Y

48.6%