Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Gas Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 30, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies20
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M-1.9%
  • 1Y-10.2%
  • YTD0.5%

The Gas Utilities is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Chengdu Gas Group has stood out, gaining 3.8%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 6.8% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Gas Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 30 Nov 2023CN„175.8bCN„265.6bCN„12.2b19.2x14.4x0.7x
Sat, 28 Oct 2023CN„180.6bCN„269.9bCN„13.0b18.7x13.9x0.7x
Mon, 25 Sep 2023CN„178.5bCN„269.3bCN„12.9b18.9x13.8x0.7x
Wed, 23 Aug 2023CN„183.8bCN„274.9bCN„13.0b20.6x14.1x0.7x
Fri, 21 Jul 2023CN„187.6bCN„273.2bCN„13.0b20.8x14.4x0.7x
Sun, 18 Jun 2023CN„182.1bCN„267.0bCN„12.6b19.4x14.4x0.7x
Tue, 16 May 2023CN„192.4bCN„267.0bCN„12.6b20.8x15.3x0.7x
Thu, 13 Apr 2023CN„188.1bCN„263.0bCN„11.5b16.8x16.3x0.7x
Sat, 11 Mar 2023CN„185.7bCN„250.3bCN„9.4b17.4x19.8x0.7x
Mon, 06 Feb 2023CN„185.1bCN„250.3bCN„9.6b17.3x19.3x0.7x
Wed, 04 Jan 2023CN„171.7bCN„244.7bCN„9.3b17.5x18.4x0.7x
Fri, 02 Dec 2022CN„190.5bCN„244.7bCN„9.3b19.1x20.4x0.8x
Sun, 30 Oct 2022CN„165.5bCN„244.5bCN„9.7b16.7x17.1x0.7x
Tue, 27 Sep 2022CN„180.0bCN„233.8bCN„9.0b18x20x0.8x
Thu, 25 Aug 2022CN„191.2bCN„231.0bCN„8.8b19.9x21.7x0.8x
Sat, 23 Jul 2022CN„166.9bCN„218.6bCN„9.5b17.8x17.7x0.8x
Mon, 20 Jun 2022CN„166.2bCN„215.8bCN„9.7b16.6x17.1x0.8x
Wed, 18 May 2022CN„152.1bCN„212.8bCN„10.0b16.8x15.2x0.7x
Fri, 15 Apr 2022CN„160.8bCN„198.0bCN„9.9b18.3x16.3x0.8x
Sun, 13 Mar 2022CN„153.8bCN„196.2bCN„10.1b18.1x15.2x0.8x
Tue, 08 Feb 2022CN„158.7bCN„188.3bCN„10.2b17.7x15.6x0.8x
Thu, 06 Jan 2022CN„170.1bCN„186.0bCN„10.2b19.3x16.7x0.9x
Sat, 04 Dec 2021CN„174.8bCN„185.7bCN„10.1b19.9x17.3x0.9x
Mon, 01 Nov 2021CN„168.5bCN„185.9bCN„10.1b18.8x16.6x0.9x
Wed, 29 Sep 2021CN„202.9bCN„174.7bCN„9.5b25x21.3x1.2x
Fri, 27 Aug 2021CN„183.4bCN„174.7bCN„9.5b20.7x19.4x1x
Sat, 03 Jul 2021CN„147.4bCN„174.7bCN„9.5b17.9x15.6x0.8x
Tue, 06 Apr 2021CN„167.6bCN„165.9bCN„8.1b22.6x20.7x1x
Fri, 08 Jan 2021CN„137.8bCN„150.3bCN„6.6b23.1x20.9x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

21.2x


Total Market Cap: CN„140.4bTotal Earnings: CN„6.6bTotal Revenue: CN„142.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Gas Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.5x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Gas Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 17.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.82x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Gas Utilities industry have grown 23% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 23% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Utilities industry?

CN Market-0.65%
Utilities-0.39%
Gas Utilities-0.55%
Gas Utilities-0.55%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
605368 Henan Lantian GasLtdCN„10.765.6%
+CN„394.9m
11.2%PE12.3x
1331 Senton EnergyLtdCN„20.548.9%
+CN„282.2m
-20.3%PE20.1x
603053 Chengdu Gas GroupCN„10.662.8%
+CN„257.8m
7.4%PE18.8x
603393 Xinjiang Xintai Natural GasCN„31.971.8%
+CN„236.6m
34.9%PE15.4x
421 Nanjing Public Utilities DevelopmentCN„5.623.3%
+CN„104.1m
-3.3%PE30.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

593

CN„7.98

Delong Composite Energy Group

7D

-1.8%

1Y

-13.4%

603706

CN„17.35

Xinjiang East Universe GasLtd

7D

-2.0%

1Y

12.1%

1331

CN„20.54

Senton EnergyLtd

7D

8.9%

1Y

-20.3%

300332

CN„8.26

Top Resource Energy

7D

-4.0%

1Y

-36.4%

603393

CN„31.97

Xinjiang Xintai Natural Gas

7D

1.8%

1Y

34.9%

601139

CN„6.76

Shenzhen Gas

7D

0.3%

1Y

-3.8%

605368

CN„10.76

Henan Lantian GasLtd

7D

5.6%

1Y

11.2%

600681

CN„4.17

Bestsun Energy

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-7.7%

600635

CN„3.09

Shanghai Dazhong Public Utilities(Group)Ltd

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-1.0%

600803

CN„16.03

ENN Natural GasLtd

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-11.7%

603053

CN„10.66

Chengdu Gas Group

7D

2.8%

1Y

7.4%

2700

CN„4.96

Xinjiang Haoyuan Natural Gas

7D

-5.0%

1Y

-0.2%

603080

CN„17.95

Xinjiang Torch Gas

7D

1.9%

1Y

14.8%

2911

CN„11.96

Foran Energy Group

7D

-0.7%

1Y

-20.6%

421

CN„5.62

Nanjing Public Utilities Development

7D

3.3%

1Y

-3.3%

2267

CN„7.38

Shaanxi Provincial Natural GasLtd

7D

0.8%

1Y

-4.5%