Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Water Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies22
  • 7D1.4%
  • 3M-8.3%
  • 1Y-6.7%
  • YTD-7.2%

The Water Utilities is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Jiangxi Hongcheng EnvironmentLtd has stood out, gaining 4.9%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 6.7% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 12% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Water Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024CN¥180.3bCN¥90.0bCN¥11.1b17x16.2x2x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024CN¥186.3bCN¥90.0bCN¥11.1b18.7x16.7x2.1x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023CN¥194.5bCN¥90.0bCN¥11.1b20.4x17.5x2.2x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023CN¥195.0bCN¥90.0bCN¥11.1b19.3x17.5x2.2x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023CN¥180.6bCN¥87.5bCN¥12.1b17.3x15x2.1x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023CN¥182.5bCN¥87.5bCN¥12.1b17.7x15.1x2.1x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023CN¥194.2bCN¥87.1bCN¥12.2b20.1x15.9x2.2x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023CN¥186.8bCN¥87.0bCN¥12.2b20.9x15.4x2.1x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023CN¥192.8bCN¥87.0bCN¥12.2b21.8x15.8x2.2x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023CN¥185.8bCN¥86.8bCN¥12.1b20.6x15.3x2.1x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023CN¥182.8bCN¥85.5bCN¥10.4b17.4x17.5x2.1x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023CN¥184.3bCN¥83.2bCN¥9.2b16.9x20.1x2.2x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023CN¥180.6bCN¥83.1bCN¥9.2b16.4x19.7x2.2x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022CN¥179.5bCN¥83.1bCN¥9.2b16.5x19.6x2.2x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022CN¥182.3bCN¥83.1bCN¥9.2b16.6x19.9x2.2x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022CN¥175.3bCN¥83.7bCN¥8.4b15x21x2.1x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022CN¥188.2bCN¥84.1bCN¥8.4b16.6x22.4x2.2x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022CN¥186.9bCN¥82.7bCN¥9.2b16.9x20.3x2.3x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022CN¥194.2bCN¥82.7bCN¥9.2b16.5x21x2.3x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022CN¥192.0bCN¥82.7bCN¥9.2b16.3x20.8x2.3x
Mon, 02 May 2022CN¥179.6bCN¥82.6bCN¥9.8b17.2x18.3x2.2x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022CN¥194.9bCN¥79.1bCN¥10.4b19.5x18.7x2.5x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022CN¥210.0bCN¥78.0bCN¥9.7b21.5x21.6x2.7x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022CN¥213.2bCN¥78.1bCN¥9.7b22.8x21.9x2.7x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021CN¥223.3bCN¥78.1bCN¥9.7b20.5x23x2.9x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021CN¥215.9bCN¥78.1bCN¥9.7b22.3x22.2x2.8x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021CN¥215.1bCN¥76.6bCN¥8.8b19.8x24.3x2.8x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021CN¥244.0bCN¥77.1bCN¥9.0b21.8x27.2x3.2x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021CN¥216.3bCN¥77.1bCN¥9.0b20.1x24.1x2.8x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021CN¥221.4bCN¥72.6bCN¥7.5b16.5x29.7x3x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021CN¥169.8bCN¥66.7bCN¥6.3b17.7x26.8x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

26.8x


Total Market Cap: CN¥169.8bTotal Earnings: CN¥6.3bTotal Revenue: CN¥66.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Water Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Water Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 20.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Water Utilities industry have grown 21% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Utilities industry?

CN Market1.80%
Utilities3.07%
Water Utilities1.43%
Water1.43%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
1376 Jiangxi Bestoo EnergyLtdCN¥16.679.2%
+CN¥649.9m
n/aPE65.9x
600461 Jiangxi Hongcheng EnvironmentLtdCN¥9.535.4%
+CN¥554.1m
34.2%PE10.2x
603291 Jiangsu United Water TechnologyLtdCN¥11.609.6%
+CN¥431.7m
n/aPE31.9x
3039 Guangdong Shunkong DevelopmentLtdCN¥12.644.5%
+CN¥339.6m
-30.1%PE32.2x
300055 Beijing Water Business DoctorCN¥4.748.2%
+CN¥301.2m
-48.5%PE211.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1376

CN¥16.67

Jiangxi Bestoo EnergyLtd

7D

9.2%

1Y

n/a

600167

CN¥5.83

Luenmei QuantumLtd

7D

-4.7%

1Y

-12.2%

600864

CN¥5.49

Harbin Hatou InvestmentLtd

7D

2.2%

1Y

9.6%

603291

CN¥11.60

Jiangsu United Water TechnologyLtd

7D

9.6%

1Y

n/a

3039

CN¥12.64

Guangdong Shunkong DevelopmentLtd

7D

4.5%

1Y

-30.1%

300055

CN¥4.74

Beijing Water Business Doctor

7D

8.2%

1Y

-48.5%

300262

CN¥2.11

SafBon Water Service (Holding)Shanghai

7D

16.6%

1Y

-24.9%

600323

CN¥16.37

Grandblue Environment

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-13.3%

600461

CN¥9.53

Jiangxi Hongcheng EnvironmentLtd

7D

5.4%

1Y

34.2%

600008

CN¥2.82

Beijing Capital Eco-Environment Protection Group

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-3.4%