Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Investment Banking and Brokerage Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies49
  • 7D0.5%
  • 3M-1.8%
  • 1Y-8.8%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Investment Banking and Brokerage industry has dropped 1.5%, driven by CITIC Securities declining 6.9%. On the other hand Capital Securities is actually up 7.3%. However, the industry is down 11% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Investment Banking and Brokerage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Apr 2024CN¥2.2tCN¥485.5bCN¥110.9b24.4x19.8x4.5x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024CN¥2.3tCN¥488.2bCN¥119.7b25.3x19.1x4.7x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024CN¥2.2tCN¥489.5bCN¥118.5b26.4x18.8x4.6x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024CN¥2.2tCN¥494.1bCN¥120.6b26.6x18.2x4.4x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023CN¥2.4tCN¥494.1bCN¥120.6b25.8x19.6x4.8x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023CN¥2.4tCN¥494.7bCN¥120.6b26.4x19.7x4.8x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023CN¥2.4tCN¥484.1bCN¥118.4b29.4x20x4.9x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023CN¥2.5tCN¥497.3bCN¥124.6b28.6x19.9x5x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023CN¥2.5tCN¥508.4bCN¥128.0b24.9x19.8x5x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023CN¥2.2tCN¥506.7bCN¥128.7b22.4x17.3x4.4x
Wed, 24 May 2023CN¥2.3tCN¥505.1bCN¥127.6b24.6x17.9x4.5x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023CN¥2.4tCN¥485.8bCN¥120.1b26.5x19.6x4.9x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023CN¥2.2tCN¥521.2bCN¥122.5b26.2x18.3x4.3x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023CN¥2.3tCN¥523.0bCN¥122.5b27x19x4.5x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023CN¥2.1tCN¥521.2bCN¥123.4b23.7x17.4x4.1x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022CN¥2.2tCN¥519.1bCN¥122.6b24.2x17.8x4.2x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022CN¥2.0tCN¥519.4bCN¥122.7b23.3x16.7x3.9x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022CN¥1.9tCN¥557.2bCN¥140.9b18x13.8x3.5x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022CN¥2.2tCN¥564.2bCN¥143.4b20.6x15x3.8x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022CN¥2.1tCN¥577.5bCN¥149.0b17.6x14.3x3.7x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022CN¥2.3tCN¥581.8bCN¥148.8b19.8x15.5x4x
Thu, 26 May 2022CN¥2.1tCN¥581.8bCN¥148.8b17.1x13.8x3.5x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022CN¥2.3tCN¥614.6bCN¥169.2b16.3x13.4x3.7x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022CN¥2.4tCN¥609.8bCN¥167.0b17x14.3x3.9x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022CN¥2.5tCN¥604.4bCN¥167.4b19.3x15.2x4.2x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022CN¥2.7tCN¥589.4bCN¥158.1b22.4x16.8x4.5x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021CN¥2.7tCN¥558.9bCN¥156.6b22.7x17x4.8x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021CN¥2.5tCN¥558.9bCN¥156.6b21.5x15.9x4.5x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021CN¥2.6tCN¥546.2bCN¥152.6b21.2x17.2x4.8x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021CN¥2.7tCN¥545.2bCN¥151.7b22.1x18x5x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021CN¥2.4tCN¥545.2bCN¥151.7b20x15.9x4.4x
Thu, 06 May 2021CN¥2.4tCN¥511.3bCN¥141.4b21.8x16.8x4.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

16.8x


Total Market Cap: CN¥2.4tTotal Earnings: CN¥141.4bTotal Revenue: CN¥511.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Investment Banking and Brokerage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Chinese Investment Banking and Brokerage industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 19.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 17.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Investment Banking and Brokerage industry have declined 7.6% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Chinese Investment Banking and Brokerage compare with similar industries?

CN Market-0.20%
Financials1.40%
Capital Markets0.32%
Investment Banking and Brokerage0.47%
Asset Management1.10%
Diversified Capital Markets0.26%
Financial Exchanges and Data-0.94%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
601136 Capital SecuritiesCN¥19.9010.4%
+CN¥5.1b
37.4%PE77.6x
600999 China Merchants SecuritiesCN¥14.224.3%
+CN¥5.1b
0.2%PE15.1x
2736 Guosen SecuritiesCN¥9.015.1%
+CN¥4.2b
-6.9%PE16.8x
166 Shenwan Hongyuan GroupCN¥4.542.5%
+CN¥2.8b
0.4%PE24.7x
601688 Huatai SecuritiesCN¥13.631.6%
+CN¥1.8b
-5.4%PE10x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2736

CN¥9.01

Guosen Securities

7D

5.1%

1Y

-6.9%

601555

CN¥6.38

Soochow Securities

7D

-5.8%

1Y

-12.4%

601788

CN¥15.77

Everbright Securities

7D

2.2%

1Y

0.1%

600837

CN¥8.06

Haitong Securities

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-13.8%

166

CN¥4.54

Shenwan Hongyuan Group

7D

2.5%

1Y

0.4%

712

CN¥9.94

Guangdong Golden Dragon Development

7D

-9.6%

1Y

-27.1%

2926

CN¥7.13

HUAXI Securities

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-12.6%

601688

CN¥13.63

Huatai Securities

7D

1.6%

1Y

-5.4%

600999

CN¥14.22

China Merchants Securities

7D

4.3%

1Y

0.2%

601901

CN¥7.72

Founder Securities

7D

-0.8%

1Y

7.8%

601211

CN¥13.44

Guotai Junan Securities

7D

1.3%

1Y

-11.3%

600030

CN¥18.21

CITIC Securities

7D

-0.7%

1Y

-15.5%

601136

CN¥19.90

Capital Securities

7D

10.4%

1Y

37.4%