Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Electric Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D1.4%
  • 3M-8.0%
  • 1Y-21.3%
  • YTD-11.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Electric Utilities industry has risen 1.6%, driven by gains from Hangzhou Cogeneration Group of 8.4%. In contrast, the industry has lost 21% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 35% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Electric Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024CN¥127.7bCN¥111.0bCN¥3.4b23.9x37.3x1.2x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024CN¥130.5bCN¥111.0bCN¥3.4b26.1x37.9x1.2x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023CN¥146.3bCN¥111.0bCN¥3.4b30.5x42.6x1.3x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023CN¥139.5bCN¥111.0bCN¥3.4b28.2x40.6x1.3x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023CN¥138.4bCN¥115.8bCN¥1.8b29.8x75.9x1.2x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023CN¥145.9bCN¥115.8bCN¥1.8b31.2x80x1.3x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023CN¥164.2bCN¥114.6bCN¥1.1b41x149.3x1.4x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023CN¥171.4bCN¥114.5bCN¥1.1b43.3x156.7x1.5x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023CN¥169.4bCN¥115.2bCN¥1.1b40.1x151.2x1.5x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023CN¥153.5bCN¥114.9bCN¥1.3b37.2x118.9x1.3x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023CN¥154.9bCN¥110.7b-CN¥627,238,155.0032.6x-246.9x1.4x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023CN¥160.7bCN¥105.3b-CN¥287,987,466.0032.9x-558.2x1.5x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023CN¥154.2bCN¥105.2b-CN¥311,417,388.0031.4x-495.2x1.5x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022CN¥148.1bCN¥95.0bCN¥776.8m31.6x190.7x1.6x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022CN¥145.1bCN¥95.0bCN¥781.1m31.2x185.7x1.5x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022CN¥138.5bCN¥85.3bCN¥307.5m28.3x450.6x1.6x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022CN¥124.8bCN¥98.7b-CN¥2,494,458,191.0032x-50x1.3x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022CN¥120.3bCN¥98.9b-CN¥961,436,776.0029.1x-125.2x1.2x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022CN¥121.3bCN¥98.2b-CN¥1,029,338,699.0032.7x-117.8x1.2x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022CN¥111.1bCN¥98.2b-CN¥1,033,993,745.0031.7x-107.4x1.1x
Mon, 02 May 2022CN¥99.6bCN¥97.0b-CN¥1,134,160,992.0025.3x-87.8x1x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022CN¥112.0bCN¥87.5bCN¥781.6m31x143.2x1.3x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022CN¥116.6bCN¥84.8bCN¥3.2b34x36.4x1.4x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022CN¥124.5bCN¥84.7bCN¥3.2b35.1x39.2x1.5x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021CN¥130.4bCN¥84.6bCN¥3.2b39.2x41x1.5x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021CN¥124.0bCN¥84.6bCN¥3.2b36.8x39x1.5x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021CN¥115.6bCN¥95.3bCN¥4.8b39x24.2x1.2x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021CN¥124.3bCN¥96.0bCN¥4.9b33.6x25.3x1.3x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021CN¥107.5bCN¥95.3bCN¥4.8b30.3x22.5x1.1x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021CN¥98.6bCN¥88.5bCN¥4.6b31.3x21.5x1.1x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021CN¥88.5bCN¥82.5bCN¥4.6b28.1x19.3x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.3x


Total Market Cap: CN¥88.5bTotal Earnings: CN¥4.6bTotal Revenue: CN¥82.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Electric Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 65.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Electric Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 37.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 65.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Electric Utilities industry have declined 9.3% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Utilities industry?

CN Market1.80%
Utilities3.07%
Electric Utilities1.36%
Electric Utilities1.36%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
605011 Hangzhou Cogeneration GroupCN¥21.569.7%
+CN¥760.2m
35.8%PE41.4x
2608 Jiangsu GuoxinCN¥7.221.8%
+CN¥491.2m
12.6%PE19.2x
600509 Xinjiang Tianfu EnergyCN¥5.367.0%
+CN¥482.7m
-18.5%PE8.7x
1896 Henan Yuneng HoldingsLtdCN¥3.459.2%
+CN¥442.5m
-32.2%PS0.5x
37 Shenzhen Nanshan PowerCN¥7.477.8%
+CN¥325.5m
-11.8%PS7.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

600995

CN¥9.32

China Southern Power Grid Energy Storage

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-39.3%

600509

CN¥5.36

Xinjiang Tianfu Energy

7D

7.0%

1Y

-18.5%

605162

CN¥6.19

Zhejiang Xinzhonggang Thermal Power

7D

12.3%

1Y

-32.9%

600396

CN¥2.34

Huadian Liaoning Energy DevelopmentLtd

7D

7.8%

1Y

-11.0%

37

CN¥7.47

Shenzhen Nanshan Power

7D

7.8%

1Y

-11.8%

605011

CN¥21.56

Hangzhou Cogeneration Group

7D

9.7%

1Y

35.8%

600505

CN¥6.14

Sichuan Xichang Electric PowerLtd

7D

10.8%

1Y

-27.3%

1896

CN¥3.45

Henan Yuneng HoldingsLtd

7D

9.2%

1Y

-32.2%

600116

CN¥7.42

Chongqing Three Gorges Water Conservancy and Electric Power

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-20.4%

2608

CN¥7.22

Jiangsu Guoxin

7D

1.8%

1Y

12.6%