Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Food and Staples Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies26
  • 7D-1.7%
  • 3M-2.8%
  • 1Y-20.3%
  • YTD-14.0%

The Food and Staples Retail industry is down 1.7% over the last week with Shanghai Bailian (Group) the worst performer, down 4.4%. Overall the industry is down 20% in 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 34% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Food and Staples Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024CN¥234.9bCN¥380.6bCN¥3.4b28x68.6x0.6x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024CN¥240.5bCN¥380.2bCN¥4.1b29.2x59.2x0.6x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024CN¥242.0bCN¥380.9bCN¥4.6b24.7x52.6x0.6x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024CN¥264.2bCN¥381.0bCN¥4.5b29.5x58.6x0.7x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023CN¥273.6bCN¥381.0bCN¥4.5b31.8x60.7x0.7x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023CN¥266.6bCN¥380.4bCN¥4.5b30.3x59.7x0.7x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023CN¥272.4bCN¥381.1bCN¥3.9b35.2x69.1x0.7x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023CN¥281.0bCN¥380.7bCN¥3.9b35.4x71.4x0.7x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023CN¥316.0bCN¥386.3bCN¥3.1b33.8x102.8x0.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023CN¥291.4bCN¥386.5bCN¥3.1b32.2x94.7x0.8x
Mon, 29 May 2023CN¥296.4bCN¥386.5bCN¥3.1b34.7x96.3x0.8x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023CN¥296.5bCN¥383.3bCN¥4.3b36.1x68.5x0.8x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023CN¥309.1bCN¥318.3bCN¥1.7b39.5x178.7x1x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023CN¥322.5bCN¥315.8bCN¥2.1b42x156.2x1x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023CN¥326.1bCN¥318.7bCN¥2.1b43.6x154.6x1x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022CN¥343.6bCN¥318.7bCN¥2.1b44.5x162.9x1.1x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022CN¥281.9bCN¥318.7bCN¥2.1b39.3x133.6x0.9x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022CN¥248.8bCN¥316.5bCN¥1.7b35x149.2x0.8x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022CN¥272.3bCN¥315.8bCN¥1.7b37.9x162.1x0.9x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022CN¥263.8bCN¥313.0bCN¥1.7b37.8x150.9x0.8x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022CN¥280.9bCN¥312.8bCN¥1.7b38.4x161.9x0.9x
Tue, 31 May 2022CN¥267.5bCN¥312.8bCN¥1.7b34.9x154.2x0.9x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022CN¥232.5bCN¥307.7bCN¥4.5b27.4x51.8x0.8x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022CN¥260.8bCN¥308.3bCN¥5.1b33x51.5x0.8x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022CN¥287.9bCN¥307.6bCN¥4.5b40.1x64.4x0.9x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022CN¥311.1bCN¥307.6bCN¥4.5b43.8x69.7x1x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021CN¥295.1bCN¥307.6bCN¥4.5b42.3x66.1x1x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021CN¥271.9bCN¥298.5bCN¥4.1b38.9x66.4x0.9x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021CN¥280.0bCN¥294.7bCN¥6.9b31.9x40.8x1x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021CN¥282.3bCN¥296.2bCN¥7.0b30.4x40.5x1x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021CN¥260.2bCN¥295.9bCN¥7.0b28.4x37.4x0.9x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021CN¥337.8bCN¥289.5bCN¥8.2b33.5x41x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

41x


Total Market Cap: CN¥337.8bTotal Earnings: CN¥8.2bTotal Revenue: CN¥289.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Food and Staples Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 92.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Consumer Retailing industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 68.6x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 92.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.87x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Retailing industry have declined 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 9.6% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Consumer Staples industry?

CN Market-0.40%
Consumer Staples0.54%
Food and Staples Retail-1.75%
Drug Retail1.72%
Food Retail-4.88%
Big Box Super Stores-5.30%
Food Distributors-9.16%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Food Distributors industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 140x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Food Retail industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 58% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 23% per year.
  • In contrast, the Drug Retail industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 20% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
603883 LBX Pharmacy ChainCN¥32.373.0%
+CN¥544.0m
-3.7%PE21.2x
61 Shenzhen Agricultural Products GroupCN¥5.984.5%
+CN¥441.2m
-2.8%PE22.6x
2251 Better Life Commercial Chain ShareLtdCN¥4.225.8%
+CN¥186.9m
-17.9%PS1.1x
601933 Yonghui SuperstoresCN¥2.180.9%
+CN¥178.5m
-31.4%PS0.2x
605266 Jianzhijia Pharmaceutical Chain GroupCN¥46.401.4%
+CN¥85.0m
-16.8%PE13.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

603708

CN¥10.38

Jiajiayue Group

7D

-2.9%

1Y

-9.6%

61

CN¥5.98

Shenzhen Agricultural Products Group

7D

4.5%

1Y

-2.8%

3010

CN¥14.55

Guangzhou Ruoyuchen TechnologyLtd

7D

3.1%

1Y

-17.8%

601116

CN¥8.15

Sanjiang Shopping ClubLtd

7D

-5.5%

1Y

-32.7%

600361

CN¥3.94

Innovation New Material Technology

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-30.0%

2251

CN¥4.22

Better Life Commercial Chain ShareLtd

7D

5.8%

1Y

-17.9%

605266

CN¥46.40

Jianzhijia Pharmaceutical Chain Group

7D

1.4%

1Y

-16.8%

601933

CN¥2.18

Yonghui Superstores

7D

0.9%

1Y

-31.4%

605188

CN¥6.70

Jiangxi Guoguang Commercial Chains

7D

-8.2%

1Y

-3.7%