Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Construction and Engineering Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 16, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies106
  • 7D0.7%
  • 3M-4.1%
  • 1Y-22.7%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Construction and Engineering industry has dropped 1.3%, driven by pullbacks in China Railway Group and Sinoma International EngineeringLtd of 2.7% and 12%, respectively. Overall the industry is down 23% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Construction and Engineering Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 16 Jul 2024CN¥1.2tCN¥7.3tCN¥162.2b18.4x7.5x0.2x
Thu, 13 Jun 2024CN¥1.3tCN¥7.3tCN¥162.2b20.7x7.8x0.2x
Sat, 11 May 2024CN¥1.3tCN¥7.3tCN¥162.6b22.9x8.1x0.2x
Mon, 08 Apr 2024CN¥1.3tCN¥5.9tCN¥120.6b20.5x10.5x0.2x
Wed, 06 Mar 2024CN¥1.3tCN¥7.0tCN¥149.8b21.2x8.4x0.2x
Fri, 02 Feb 2024CN¥1.2tCN¥7.0tCN¥150.6b19.6x8x0.2x
Sun, 31 Dec 2023CN¥1.2tCN¥7.0tCN¥150.8b23.6x8.2x0.2x
Tue, 28 Nov 2023CN¥1.3tCN¥6.9tCN¥150.5b24.6x8.4x0.2x
Thu, 26 Oct 2023CN¥1.3tCN¥6.9tCN¥156.4b21.5x8.5x0.2x
Sat, 23 Sep 2023CN¥1.4tCN¥6.9tCN¥156.2b21.7x9x0.2x
Mon, 21 Aug 2023CN¥1.5tCN¥6.8tCN¥155.7b21.6x9.5x0.2x
Wed, 19 Jul 2023CN¥1.5tCN¥6.8tCN¥155.5b20.6x9.6x0.2x
Fri, 16 Jun 2023CN¥1.5tCN¥6.8tCN¥153.7b21x9.8x0.2x
Sun, 14 May 2023CN¥1.6tCN¥6.8tCN¥153.6b22.1x10.5x0.2x
Tue, 11 Apr 2023CN¥1.6tCN¥6.5tCN¥156.2b25.5x10x0.2x
Thu, 09 Mar 2023CN¥1.5tCN¥6.5tCN¥146.3b26.6x10.4x0.2x
Sat, 04 Feb 2023CN¥1.4tCN¥6.5tCN¥145.2b24.4x9.6x0.2x
Mon, 02 Jan 2023CN¥1.3tCN¥6.5tCN¥145.0b22.4x8.9x0.2x
Wed, 30 Nov 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.5tCN¥145.1b24.5x9.6x0.2x
Fri, 28 Oct 2022CN¥1.3tCN¥6.4tCN¥141.8b22.3x9x0.2x
Sun, 25 Sep 2022CN¥1.3tCN¥6.4tCN¥142.5b22.4x9x0.2x
Tue, 23 Aug 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.3tCN¥137.2b23.6x9.9x0.2x
Thu, 21 Jul 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.3tCN¥136.5b23.5x10.3x0.2x
Sat, 18 Jun 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.3tCN¥136.4b23.8x10.2x0.2x
Mon, 16 May 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.3tCN¥136.5b23.4x10.4x0.2x
Wed, 13 Apr 2022CN¥1.5tCN¥6.1tCN¥149.8b23.7x9.8x0.2x
Fri, 11 Mar 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.1tCN¥152.5b22.5x9.4x0.2x
Sun, 06 Feb 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.0tCN¥153.6b20.2x8.9x0.2x
Tue, 04 Jan 2022CN¥1.4tCN¥6.0tCN¥153.6b21.1x9x0.2x
Thu, 02 Dec 2021CN¥1.3tCN¥6.0tCN¥153.3b19.9x8.4x0.2x
Sat, 30 Oct 2021CN¥1.3tCN¥6.1tCN¥153.3b17.5x8.5x0.2x
Mon, 27 Sep 2021CN¥1.4tCN¥6.1tCN¥152.2b18.5x9.1x0.2x
Wed, 25 Aug 2021CN¥1.2tCN¥6.1tCN¥153.1b17.8x8x0.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

7.7x


Total Market Cap: CN¥1.2tTotal Earnings: CN¥153.0bTotal Revenue: CN¥6.1tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Construction and Engineering Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Construction and Engineering industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 9.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.21x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Construction and Engineering industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 6.1% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does Chinese Construction and Engineering compare with similar industries?

CN Market2.20%
Industrials1.74%
Construction0.65%
Construction and Engineering0.65%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
601668 China State Construction EngineeringCN¥5.401.9%
+CN¥4.2b
-4.6%PE4.1x
601186 China Railway ConstructionCN¥8.321.1%
+CN¥1.2b
-19.1%PE4.8x
300284 JSTI GroupCN¥7.5912.1%
+CN¥1.0b
24.8%PE28.8x
600170 Shanghai Construction GroupCN¥2.173.8%
+CN¥710.9m
-20.2%PE12.1x
688248 China Southern Power Grid TechnologyLtdCN¥28.863.2%
+CN¥508.2m
-24.6%PE55.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

300284

CN¥7.59

JSTI Group

7D

12.1%

1Y

24.8%

601186

CN¥8.32

China Railway Construction

7D

1.1%

1Y

-19.1%

601390

CN¥6.18

China Railway Group

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-19.9%

002856

CN¥7.03

Shenzhen Magic Design & Decoration Engineering

7D

-15.9%

1Y

-30.0%

688248

CN¥28.86

China Southern Power Grid TechnologyLtd

7D

3.2%

1Y

-24.6%

603929

CN¥25.18

L&K Engineering (Suzhou)Ltd

7D

9.8%

1Y

48.8%

600528

CN¥7.18

China Railway Hi-tech Industry

7D

3.0%

1Y

-26.1%

601668

CN¥5.40

China State Construction Engineering

7D

1.9%

1Y

-4.6%

600970

CN¥10.50

Sinoma International EngineeringLtd

7D

-9.0%

1Y

-16.6%

600039

CN¥7.60

Sichuan Road & Bridge GroupLtd

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-23.4%