Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Media Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies74
  • 7D-2.0%
  • 3M7.2%
  • 1Y-17.5%
  • YTD-7.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Media industry has dropped 2.0%, driven by a pullback from China Science Publishing & Media of 7.5%. However, the industry is down 17% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 23% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Media Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024CN¥728.1bCN¥358.7bCN¥20.3b35.8x35.8x2x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024CN¥819.0bCN¥352.9bCN¥20.3b39.2x40.4x2.3x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024CN¥670.1bCN¥352.6bCN¥19.0b32.7x35.3x1.9x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024CN¥734.1bCN¥354.1bCN¥18.3b38x40x2.1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023CN¥874.6bCN¥354.3bCN¥18.3b45.6x47.8x2.5x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023CN¥822.0bCN¥354.3bCN¥18.3b40.5x45x2.3x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023CN¥787.8bCN¥344.4bCN¥16.3b39.6x48.5x2.3x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023CN¥839.1bCN¥337.7bCN¥16.0b41.9x52.5x2.5x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023CN¥821.0bCN¥335.8bCN¥15.4b48.5x53.2x2.4x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023CN¥864.8bCN¥338.4bCN¥16.3b50.2x53x2.6x
Mon, 29 May 2023CN¥831.9bCN¥335.7bCN¥15.7b51.3x53.1x2.5x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023CN¥878.2bCN¥344.5bCN¥16.9b44.9x52x2.5x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023CN¥831.5bCN¥340.3bCN¥19.3b40.3x43.2x2.4x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023CN¥713.0bCN¥340.4bCN¥19.4b35.3x36.8x2.1x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023CN¥675.6bCN¥337.7bCN¥19.3b33.8x35x2x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022CN¥658.1bCN¥337.8bCN¥19.3b32x34.1x1.9x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022CN¥627.0bCN¥337.8bCN¥19.3b32.2x32.5x1.9x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022CN¥572.9bCN¥340.8bCN¥20.7b26.5x27.7x1.7x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022CN¥644.2bCN¥342.7bCN¥20.9b31.2x30.9x1.9x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022CN¥601.0bCN¥347.5bCN¥22.5b27.2x26.7x1.7x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022CN¥638.9bCN¥347.1bCN¥22.5b28.1x28.3x1.8x
Tue, 31 May 2022CN¥622.4bCN¥347.2bCN¥22.5b25.9x27.7x1.8x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022CN¥558.9bCN¥351.4bCN¥26.0b22.5x21.5x1.6x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022CN¥654.9bCN¥352.7bCN¥20.5b29.3x31.9x1.9x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022CN¥728.1bCN¥352.5bCN¥20.1b30.9x36.3x2.1x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022CN¥786.1bCN¥353.4bCN¥20.1b36.7x39.1x2.2x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021CN¥750.2bCN¥353.4bCN¥20.1b31.4x37.3x2.1x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021CN¥683.0bCN¥350.6bCN¥19.7b25.9x34.7x1.9x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021CN¥670.9bCN¥346.2bCN¥24.3b23.9x27.6x1.9x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021CN¥715.4bCN¥346.2bCN¥24.3b23.8x29.4x2.1x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021CN¥642.1bCN¥345.8bCN¥24.4b22.5x26.3x1.9x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021CN¥691.3bCN¥322.9bCN¥19.7b26.3x35x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

35x


Total Market Cap: CN¥691.3bTotal Earnings: CN¥19.7bTotal Revenue: CN¥322.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Media Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 37.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Chinese Media industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 37.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Media industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 3.6% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Telecom industry?

CN Market-0.40%
Telecom-2.69%
Media-1.99%
Cable and Satellite-0.58%
Broadcasting-0.72%
Publishing-0.85%
Advertising-4.20%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Broadcasting industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 216x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 7.3%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 3.3% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Cable and Satellite industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 92% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 0.1% per year.
  • In contrast, the Broadcasting industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.3% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
601698 China Satellite CommunicationsCN¥15.633.7%
+CN¥2.4b
-24.0%PE189.3x
300770 Guangdong South New MediaLtdCN¥38.032.3%
+CN¥192.5m
-23.1%PE12.3x
2878 Beijing Yuanlong Yato Culture DisseminationLtdCN¥12.814.3%
+CN¥138.3m
-32.5%PE141.3x
2127 NanJi E-CommerceCN¥2.901.0%
+CN¥70.1m
-36.8%PE60.7x
603096 Thinkingdom Media GroupCN¥16.352.1%
+CN¥53.9m
-33.0%PE18.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2127

CN¥2.90

NanJi E-Commerce

7D

1.0%

1Y

-36.8%

600986

CN¥4.65

Zhewen Interactive Group

7D

-10.4%

1Y

-28.5%

2878

CN¥12.81

Beijing Yuanlong Yato Culture DisseminationLtd

7D

4.3%

1Y

-32.5%

603000

CN¥24.01

People.cn

7D

0.2%

1Y

12.7%

2131

CN¥2.03

Leo Group

7D

-5.1%

1Y

-8.6%

301313

CN¥22.30

Guangzhou Frontop Digital Creative Technology

7D

0.04%

1Y

-35.9%

601098

CN¥12.61

China South Publishing & Media Group

7D

-4.1%

1Y

-0.4%

601900

CN¥13.71

Southern Publishing and MediaLtd

7D

-7.4%

1Y

-10.9%

601858

CN¥22.48

China Science Publishing & Media

7D

-7.5%

1Y

-38.6%