Header cover image

Botswanan (BSE) Financials Sector Analysis

UpdatedDec 03, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D0.3%
  • 3M3.7%
  • 1Y13.4%
  • YTD12.7%

In the last week, Financials has been flat. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 13% in that time.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Botswanan Financials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 03 Dec 2022P22.9bP11.4bP2.6b9.2x8.7x2x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022P22.6bP11.4bP2.6b9x8.6x2x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022P22.2bP11.2bP2.6b10.7x8.6x2x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022P22.0bP11.0bP2.4b11.1x9x2x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022P21.4bP11.0bP2.4b10.1x8.7x1.9x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022P21.4bP11.0bP2.4b9.8x8.7x1.9x
Thu, 19 May 2022P21.5bP11.0bP2.4b9.6x8.8x1.9x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022P21.5bP11.0bP2.4b9x8.8x1.9x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022P21.2bP10.9bP2.4b11.1x8.9x2x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022P20.5bP10.6bP2.3b10x8.8x1.9x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022P20.3bP10.6bP2.3b10x8.8x1.9x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021P20.2bP10.6bP2.3b10x8.7x1.9x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021P19.8bP10.6bP2.3b9.9x8.6x1.9x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021P19.7bP10.7bP2.4b9.3x8.3x1.8x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021P18.7bP10.6bP2.3b10.3x8.2x1.8x
Sun, 04 Jul 2021P18.1bP10.6bP2.3b10x7.9x1.7x
Wed, 07 Apr 2021P17.4bP10.5bP2.2b9.1x7.9x1.7x
Sat, 09 Jan 2021P18.5bP10.3bP2.1b9.3x8.6x1.8x
Fri, 02 Oct 2020P18.8bP10.6bP2.2b9.3x8.5x1.8x
Mon, 06 Jul 2020P19.0bP10.9bP2.3b9.1x8.2x1.7x
Thu, 09 Apr 2020P20.4bP11.1bP2.4b9.9x8.3x1.8x
Wed, 01 Jan 2020P20.3bP11.3bP2.6b9.2x7.9x1.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

8.8x


Total Market Cap: P20.3bTotal Earnings: P2.3bTotal Revenue: P10.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Botswanan Financials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.4x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Batswana Financials industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 8.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Financials industry have grown 4.3% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 2.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Botswanan Financials sector?

BW Market0.22%
Financials0.31%
Banks0.47%
Mortgage Finance0%
Mortgage REITs0%
Diversified Financial0%
Consumer Finance0%
Capital Markets0%
Insurance0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Insurance industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.6x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Consumer Finance industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 3.6x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FNBB First National Bank of BotswanaP3.360.6%
+P50.9m
34.9%PB2.6x
ABSA Absa Bank BotswanaP5.140.4%
+P17.0m
10.8%PB1.7x
STANCHART Standard Chartered Bank BotswanaP2.810.4%
+P3.0m
44.1%PB0.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ABSA

P5.14

Absa Bank Botswana

7D

0.4%

1Y

10.8%

FNBB

P3.36

First National Bank of Botswana

7D

0.6%

1Y

34.9%

STANCHART

P2.81

Standard Chartered Bank Botswana

7D

0.4%

1Y

44.1%