Header cover image

U.S. General Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-0.7%
  • 3M-4.6%
  • 1Y30.3%
  • YTDn/a

The General Insurance industry has stayed flat over the last week. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 31% in that time. Earnings are forecast to grow by 1.4% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. General Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 20 Jun 2024US$59.4bUS$61.4bUS$5.6b11.4x10.6x1x
Sat, 18 May 2024US$62.8bUS$61.4bUS$5.6b11.9x11.2x1x
Mon, 15 Apr 2024US$60.2bUS$59.5bUS$4.3b14.1x14x1x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024US$61.8bUS$59.5bUS$4.3b17.7x14.3x1x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024US$61.1bUS$64.5bUS$4.9b18.5x12.5x0.9x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024US$58.7bUS$62.6bUS$4.6b16.7x12.7x0.9x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023US$56.6bUS$62.6bUS$4.6b14.6x12.2x0.9x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023US$75.0bUS$88.1bUS$7.6b13.2x9.8x0.9x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023US$74.6bUS$87.3bUS$7.2b16.5x10.4x0.9x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023US$71.7bUS$87.3bUS$7.2b16.2x10x0.8x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023US$74.6bUS$87.2bUS$8.2b12.3x9.1x0.9x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023US$71.1bUS$87.2bUS$8.2b13.3x8.6x0.8x
Sun, 21 May 2023US$69.3bUS$87.2bUS$8.2b14.1x8.4x0.8x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023US$67.5bUS$90.5bUS$12.3b15.2x5.5x0.7x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023US$63.1bUS$90.6bUS$12.3b14.9x5.1x0.7x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023US$78.5bUS$93.5bUS$15.8b15.8x5x0.8x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023US$81.4bUS$93.2bUS$16.1b18.1x5.1x0.9x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022US$78.1bUS$93.2bUS$16.1b19.7x4.9x0.8x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022US$74.5bUS$91.3bUS$15.0b20.6x5x0.8x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022US$65.4bUS$91.5bUS$15.3b15.9x4.3x0.7x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022US$71.5bUS$91.5bUS$15.3b17.6x4.7x0.8x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022US$72.9bUS$87.6bUS$13.0b8.3x5.6x0.8x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022US$75.8bUS$91.9bUS$13.7b8.3x5.5x0.8x
Mon, 23 May 2022US$82.3bUS$91.9bUS$13.7b8.3x6x0.9x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022US$93.4bUS$90.5bUS$13.2b11.1x7.1x1x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022US$88.3bUS$90.5bUS$13.2b8.6x6.7x1x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022US$90.4bUS$85.8bUS$9.4b9.6x9.6x1.1x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022US$91.1bUS$85.7bUS$9.1b10x10x1.1x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021US$96.3bUS$94.2bUS$10.5b8.4x9.1x1x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021US$103.4bUS$91.2bUS$9.2b11.2x11.3x1.1x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021US$99.1bUS$90.3bUS$9.1b9.8x10.9x1.1x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021US$98.8bUS$90.3bUS$9.1b10x10.9x1.1x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021US$88.7bUS$90.3bUS$9.1b9.1x9.8x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9.8x


Total Market Cap: US$88.7bTotal Earnings: US$9.1bTotal Revenue: US$90.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. General Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Multi-line Insurance industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 8.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.92x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Multi-line Insurance industry have declined 15% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 12% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. General Insurance compare with similar industries?

US Market0.72%
Financials0.48%
Insurance1.00%
General Insurance-0.71%
Property and Casualty Insurance1.34%
Reinsurance0.98%
Insurance Brokers0.89%
Life and Health Insurance0.65%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.