Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Consumer Finance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D2.6%
  • 3M7.1%
  • 1Y16.2%
  • YTD13.4%

In the last week, the Consumer Finance industry is up 2.6%, with AEON Financial Service up 7.4%. During this same period, the Daikokuya HoldingsLtd underperformed, falling 5.1%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 15%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 8.2% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Consumer Finance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Jul 2024JP¥2.5tJP¥2.0tJP¥211.6b12.7x12x1.3x
Mon, 17 Jun 2024JP¥2.4tJP¥2.0tJP¥211.7b11.3x11.3x1.2x
Wed, 15 May 2024JP¥2.4tJP¥2.0tJP¥203.3b12.3x12x1.2x
Fri, 12 Apr 2024JP¥2.5tJP¥1.9tJP¥206.1b11.8x11.9x1.3x
Sun, 10 Mar 2024JP¥2.4tJP¥1.9tJP¥206.1b10.5x11.6x1.2x
Tue, 06 Feb 2024JP¥2.3tJP¥1.9tJP¥205.4b10.8x11.4x1.2x
Thu, 04 Jan 2024JP¥2.2tJP¥1.9tJP¥204.8b10.7x10.9x1.2x
Sat, 02 Dec 2023JP¥2.2tJP¥1.9tJP¥204.8b11x10.9x1.2x
Mon, 30 Oct 2023JP¥2.2tJP¥1.9tJP¥199.1b10.7x10.8x1.1x
Wed, 27 Sep 2023JP¥2.3tJP¥1.9tJP¥206.5b10.8x11x1.2x
Fri, 25 Aug 2023JP¥2.1tJP¥1.9tJP¥206.5b10.3x10.4x1.1x
Sun, 23 Jul 2023JP¥2.2tJP¥1.8tJP¥213.8b10.2x10.1x1.2x
Tue, 20 Jun 2023JP¥2.1tJP¥1.8tJP¥213.7b9.8x9.9x1.1x
Thu, 18 May 2023JP¥2.1tJP¥1.8tJP¥208.3b9.7x10.1x1.1x
Sat, 15 Apr 2023JP¥2.0tJP¥1.8tJP¥190.3b13.1x10.5x1.1x
Mon, 13 Mar 2023JP¥2.1tJP¥1.8tJP¥189.9b13.3x11x1.2x
Wed, 08 Feb 2023JP¥2.1tJP¥1.8tJP¥186.7b12.5x11.2x1.2x
Fri, 06 Jan 2023JP¥2.0tJP¥1.8tJP¥187.0b11.2x10.6x1.1x
Sun, 04 Dec 2022JP¥2.1tJP¥1.8tJP¥187.0b11.2x11x1.2x
Tue, 01 Nov 2022JP¥2.2tJP¥1.7tJP¥184.3b10.7x11.7x1.2x
Thu, 29 Sep 2022JP¥3.9tJP¥1.8tJP¥180.5b11x21.4x2.2x
Sat, 27 Aug 2022JP¥2.2tJP¥1.8tJP¥180.5b11.4x12x1.2x
Mon, 25 Jul 2022JP¥2.1tJP¥1.7tJP¥176.5b12.2x12.1x1.2x
Wed, 22 Jun 2022JP¥2.0tJP¥1.7tJP¥176.6b11.1x11.3x1.1x
Fri, 20 May 2022JP¥2.0tJP¥1.7tJP¥176.5b11x11.1x1.1x
Sun, 17 Apr 2022JP¥1.9tJP¥1.7tJP¥179.1b9.6x10.7x1.1x
Tue, 15 Mar 2022JP¥1.4tJP¥1.5tJP¥174.2b8.7x7.9x0.9x
Thu, 10 Feb 2022JP¥1.5tJP¥1.5tJP¥164.0b9.2x9.1x1x
Sat, 08 Jan 2022JP¥1.5tJP¥1.5tJP¥182.8b9.5x8.4x1x
Mon, 06 Dec 2021JP¥1.5tJP¥1.5tJP¥182.8b9.3x8.2x1x
Wed, 03 Nov 2021JP¥1.7tJP¥1.5tJP¥179.5bn/a9.6x1.1x
Fri, 01 Oct 2021JP¥1.8tJP¥1.5tJP¥163.1b12.1x10.9x1.2x
Sun, 29 Aug 2021JP¥1.7tJP¥1.5tJP¥163.1b12.1x10.2x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.4x


Total Market Cap: JP¥1.7tTotal Earnings: JP¥163.1bTotal Revenue: JP¥1.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Consumer Finance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Consumer Finance industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 10.7x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Finance industry have grown 9.1% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 9.6% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Financials industry?

JP Market-1.90%
Financials-0.90%
Consumer Finance2.55%
Consumer Finance2.55%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
8253 Credit SaisonJP¥3.48k2.7%
+JP¥15.1b
57.0%PE7.8x
8572 AcomJP¥432.500.9%
+JP¥6.0b
22.1%PE12.8x
8584 JACCSJP¥4.83k2.0%
+JP¥3.3b
-5.2%PE7x
7383 Net Protections HoldingsJP¥224.008.2%
+JP¥1.7b
-29.6%PS1.1x
8570 AEON Financial ServiceJP¥1.36k0.2%
+JP¥539.7m
10.3%PE17.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.