Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Media Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 02, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies116
  • 7D-2.2%
  • 3M16.5%
  • 1Y14.1%
  • YTD15.0%

In the last week, the Media industry is down 2.8% with TBS HoldingsInc down the most at 4.5%. Meanwhile, SKY Perfect JSAT Holdings actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 5.3% in the last week. In the past year, the industry has gained 14%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 17% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Media Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 02 Mar 2024JP¥5.9tJP¥6.8tJP¥254.0b15x23.3x0.9x
Mon, 29 Jan 2024JP¥5.5tJP¥6.8tJP¥263.1b16x21x0.8x
Wed, 27 Dec 2023JP¥5.0tJP¥6.8tJP¥261.9b15.1x19.2x0.7x
Fri, 24 Nov 2023JP¥5.1tJP¥6.8tJP¥261.5b16x19.4x0.7x
Sun, 22 Oct 2023JP¥5.2tJP¥6.7tJP¥305.3b14.6x16.9x0.8x
Tue, 19 Sep 2023JP¥5.5tJP¥6.8tJP¥309.3b15.7x17.8x0.8x
Thu, 17 Aug 2023JP¥5.4tJP¥6.8tJP¥309.0b15.5x17.4x0.8x
Sat, 15 Jul 2023JP¥5.7tJP¥6.7tJP¥345.3b15.2x16.6x0.9x
Mon, 12 Jun 2023JP¥5.5tJP¥6.7tJP¥345.3b14.8x16x0.8x
Wed, 10 May 2023JP¥5.6tJP¥6.6tJP¥359.7b15.1x15.5x0.8x
Fri, 07 Apr 2023JP¥5.3tJP¥6.6tJP¥352.4b14.3x15x0.8x
Sun, 05 Mar 2023JP¥5.2tJP¥6.6tJP¥351.8b14.5x14.8x0.8x
Tue, 31 Jan 2023JP¥5.0tJP¥6.5tJP¥374.0b13.9x13.3x0.8x
Thu, 29 Dec 2022JP¥4.8tJP¥6.5tJP¥385.1b13.3x12.5x0.7x
Sat, 26 Nov 2022JP¥5.2tJP¥6.5tJP¥385.2b14.5x13.5x0.8x
Mon, 24 Oct 2022JP¥5.1tJP¥6.5tJP¥451.9b13.4x11.4x0.8x
Wed, 21 Sep 2022JP¥5.1tJP¥6.5tJP¥450.2b14x11.4x0.8x
Fri, 19 Aug 2022JP¥5.6tJP¥6.5tJP¥449.8b14.5x12.4x0.9x
Sun, 17 Jul 2022JP¥5.3tJP¥6.4tJP¥470.7b14.3x11.2x0.8x
Tue, 14 Jun 2022JP¥5.2tJP¥6.4tJP¥469.5b13.5x11.1x0.8x
Thu, 12 May 2022JP¥5.6tJP¥6.5tJP¥400.8b15.8x14x0.9x
Sat, 09 Apr 2022JP¥5.8tJP¥6.4tJP¥398.9b14.9x14.5x0.9x
Mon, 07 Mar 2022JP¥5.5tJP¥6.4tJP¥398.6b14x13.8x0.9x
Wed, 02 Feb 2022JP¥5.4tJP¥6.5tJP¥236.5b15x22.7x0.8x
Fri, 31 Dec 2021JP¥5.9tJP¥6.5tJP¥232.9b16.8x25.2x0.9x
Sun, 28 Nov 2021JP¥5.9tJP¥6.5tJP¥231.8b17.2x25.6x0.9x
Tue, 26 Oct 2021JP¥6.0tJP¥6.4tJP¥112.6b20.1x53.7x0.9x
Thu, 23 Sep 2021JP¥6.3tJP¥6.4tJP¥106.2b19.8x58.9x1x
Sat, 21 Aug 2021JP¥5.6tJP¥6.5tJP¥106.9b16.7x52.8x0.9x
Sat, 05 Jun 2021JP¥5.9tJP¥6.4tJP¥17.2b24.2x345.4x0.9x
Tue, 09 Mar 2021JP¥5.6tJP¥6.3tJP¥48.6b22.4x114.6x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

114.6x


Total Market Cap: JP¥5.6tTotal Earnings: JP¥48.6bTotal Revenue: JP¥6.3tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Media Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 777.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Media industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 23.2x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 778x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 12.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.87x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Media industry have grown 74% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 2.7% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Telecom industry?

JP Market1.78%
Telecom-0.0058%
Media-2.18%
Cable and Satellite5.27%
Advertising-1.16%
Publishing-3.90%
Broadcasting-3.98%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Advertising industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 29.6%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 26.5% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Broadcasting industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 10.7x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Advertising industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 30% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 26% per year.
  • In contrast, the Broadcasting industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
9412 SKY Perfect JSAT HoldingsJP¥919.005.3%
+JP¥13.0b
80.2%PE14.6x
4751 CyberAgentJP¥1.04k1.3%
+JP¥6.6b
-6.8%PE53.5x
4326 INTAGE HOLDINGSJP¥1.94k5.7%
+JP¥4.0b
23.2%PE25.8x
7095 Macbee PlanetJP¥18.83k5.2%
+JP¥3.4b
50.6%PE29.9x
7063 BirdmanJP¥1.35k21.4%
+JP¥1.2b
-15.8%PS1.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

6177

JP¥156.00

AppBank

7D

51.5%

1Y

20.9%

4326

JP¥1,942.00

INTAGE HOLDINGS

7D

5.7%

1Y

23.2%

9404

JP¥2,144.00

Nippon Television Holdings

7D

-3.6%

1Y

92.1%

9401

JP¥4,057.00

TBS HoldingsInc

7D

-4.5%

1Y

131.0%

6572

JP¥268.00

RPA Holdings

7D

6.8%

1Y

-20.2%

4324

JP¥4,151.00

Dentsu Group

7D

-2.1%

1Y

-6.4%

9412

JP¥919.00

SKY Perfect JSAT Holdings

7D

5.3%

1Y

80.2%

9468

JP¥2,874.50

Kadokawa

7D

-6.6%

1Y

5.3%

7095

JP¥18,830.00

Macbee Planet

7D

5.2%

1Y

50.6%

9235

JP¥3,765.00

Ureru Net AdvertisingLtd

7D

-35.3%

1Y

n/a