Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Gas Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D-2.1%
  • 3M1.3%
  • 1Y27.8%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Gas Utilities industry has dropped 2.1%, driven by Osaka Gas declining 3.5%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 28%. In the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 5.6% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Gas Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024JP¥3.9tJP¥6.6tJP¥372.8b11.3x10.3x0.6x
Tue, 21 May 2024JP¥3.9tJP¥6.6tJP¥372.4b11.3x10.6x0.6x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024JP¥3.9tJP¥7.0tJP¥516.6b9x7.6x0.6x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024JP¥3.7tJP¥7.0tJP¥516.6b8.6x7.1x0.5x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024JP¥3.4tJP¥7.0tJP¥515.9b8.4x6.7x0.5x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024JP¥3.6tJP¥7.5tJP¥604.5b8.2x6x0.5x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023JP¥3.5tJP¥7.5tJP¥604.5b7.7x5.8x0.5x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023JP¥3.6tJP¥7.5tJP¥601.9b7.7x5.9x0.5x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023JP¥3.3tJP¥7.7tJP¥533.4b8x6.2x0.4x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023JP¥3.3tJP¥7.7tJP¥533.4b7.8x6.1x0.4x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023JP¥3.1tJP¥7.6tJP¥481.7b8x6.5x0.4x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023JP¥3.1tJP¥7.6tJP¥434.0b8.8x7.2x0.4x
Wed, 24 May 2023JP¥3.1tJP¥7.6tJP¥433.7b9.9x7.1x0.4x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023JP¥2.8tJP¥7.1tJP¥377.1b11.8x7.4x0.4x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023JP¥2.8tJP¥7.1tJP¥377.1b11.4x7.5x0.4x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023JP¥2.9tJP¥7.1tJP¥377.3b11.4x7.6x0.4x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023JP¥2.7tJP¥6.3tJP¥247.5b12.3x10.9x0.4x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022JP¥2.8tJP¥6.3tJP¥247.4b13.4x11.4x0.4x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022JP¥2.8tJP¥6.2tJP¥249.2b12.9x11.1x0.4x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022JP¥2.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥272.9b13.2x10.6x0.5x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022JP¥2.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥272.8b12.7x10.7x0.5x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022JP¥3.0tJP¥5.5tJP¥289.2b15.5x10.3x0.5x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022JP¥3.0tJP¥5.2tJP¥261.6b16.1x11.6x0.6x
Thu, 26 May 2022JP¥3.0tJP¥5.2tJP¥261.9b14.1x11.4x0.6x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022JP¥2.6tJP¥4.7tJP¥136.7b15.5x19.3x0.6x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022JP¥2.6tJP¥4.7tJP¥136.7b15.6x19.2x0.6x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022JP¥2.7tJP¥4.7tJP¥137.2b15.8x19.9x0.6x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022JP¥2.6tJP¥4.5tJP¥166.9b14.5x15.5x0.6x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021JP¥2.5tJP¥4.5tJP¥166.8b15.9x14.8x0.5x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021JP¥2.5tJP¥4.5tJP¥170.3b12.6x14.5x0.6x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021JP¥2.8tJP¥4.4tJP¥184.4b13.5x15x0.6x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021JP¥2.9tJP¥4.4tJP¥184.3b13.4x15.8x0.7x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021JP¥2.9tJP¥4.4tJP¥184.3b12.5x15.8x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

15.7x


Total Market Cap: JP¥2.9tTotal Earnings: JP¥184.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥4.4tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Gas Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Japanese Gas Utilities industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.51x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Gas Utilities industry have grown 26% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Gas Utilities compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.62%
Utilities-3.10%
Gas Utilities-2.10%
Gas Utilities-2.10%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
8174 Nippon GasJP¥2.36k0.5%
+JP¥1.2b
15.6%PE24.3x
9539 Keiyo GasJP¥2.88k2.0%
+JP¥610.9m
12.1%PS0.3x
9543 Shizuoka GasJP¥946.000.7%
+JP¥526.3m
-20.4%PE11.3x
3361 ToellLtdJP¥833.002.6%
+JP¥426.6m
10.6%PE7.8x
9536 Saibu Gas HoldingsLtdJP¥2.00k0.3%
+JP¥185.1m
-3.9%PE12x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

9536

JP¥2,002.00

Saibu Gas HoldingsLtd

7D

0.3%

1Y

-3.9%

1663

JP¥3,460.00

K&O Energy Group

7D

-16.7%

1Y

51.9%

9539

JP¥2,880.00

Keiyo Gas

7D

2.0%

1Y

12.1%

9543

JP¥946.00

Shizuoka Gas

7D

0.7%

1Y

-20.4%

3361

JP¥833.00

ToellLtd

7D

2.6%

1Y

10.6%

9533

JP¥3,952.00

Toho Gas

7D

-2.9%

1Y

55.6%

9537

JP¥3,350.00

Hokuriku GasLtd

7D

-1.0%

1Y

5.7%

9535

JP¥383.00

HIROSHIMA GASLtd

7D

0.3%

1Y

3.2%

9534

JP¥3,435.00

Hokkaido Gas

7D

-0.3%

1Y

44.5%