Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Apparel Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies39
  • 7D-1.4%
  • 3M-14.2%
  • 1Y8.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Apparel Retail industry has dropped 3.8%, driven by a pullback from Fast Retailing of 4.4%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 8.0%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 6.3% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Apparel Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 21 Jun 2024JP¥16.0tJP¥6.2tJP¥559.0b14.5x28.6x2.6x
Sun, 19 May 2024JP¥16.4tJP¥6.2tJP¥559.3b14x29.2x2.6x
Tue, 16 Apr 2024JP¥16.5tJP¥6.2tJP¥554.4b13.3x29.7x2.7x
Thu, 14 Mar 2024JP¥17.1tJP¥6.1tJP¥530.1b16.4x32.3x2.8x
Sat, 10 Feb 2024JP¥15.8tJP¥6.1tJP¥529.5b15.6x29.9x2.6x
Mon, 08 Jan 2024JP¥14.1tJP¥6.0tJP¥504.4b14.7x27.9x2.3x
Wed, 06 Dec 2023JP¥14.7tJP¥6.0tJP¥502.0b15.3x29.3x2.4x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023JP¥13.8tJP¥6.0tJP¥494.5b14.5x27.9x2.3x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023JP¥13.4tJP¥5.9tJP¥466.7b15.3x28.7x2.3x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023JP¥13.6tJP¥5.9tJP¥463.6b15.6x29.4x2.3x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023JP¥13.9tJP¥5.9tJP¥459.8b15.6x30.2x2.4x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023JP¥14.5tJP¥5.7tJP¥457.2b17.4x31.7x2.5x
Mon, 22 May 2023JP¥13.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥457.2b15.9x30.3x2.4x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023JP¥13.2tJP¥5.7tJP¥450.9b15.7x29.3x2.3x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023JP¥10.8tJP¥5.1tJP¥385.5b16.3x27.9x2.1x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023JP¥10.5tJP¥5.1tJP¥386.3b14.4x27.1x2.1x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023JP¥10.3tJP¥5.0tJP¥390.5b13.9x26.5x2.1x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022JP¥10.7tJP¥5.0tJP¥387.6b14x27.5x2.2x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022JP¥10.5tJP¥4.9tJP¥384.0b14.1x27.4x2.1x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022JP¥9.8tJP¥4.8tJP¥359.5b14.2x27.4x2.1x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022JP¥10.5tJP¥4.8tJP¥358.4b14.1x29.4x2.2x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022JP¥10.1tJP¥4.7tJP¥346.1b18.8x29.3x2.1x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022JP¥9.2tJP¥4.7tJP¥282.3b19.5x32.4x1.9x
Tue, 24 May 2022JP¥8.1tJP¥4.7tJP¥282.0b19.4x28.6x1.7x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022JP¥8.4tJP¥4.7tJP¥240.0b15.4x35.1x1.8x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022JP¥7.9tJP¥4.6tJP¥224.1b17x35.4x1.7x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022JP¥8.4tJP¥4.6tJP¥223.4b18.3x37.6x1.8x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022JP¥7.8tJP¥4.6tJP¥188.6b18.2x41.5x1.7x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021JP¥9.0tJP¥4.6tJP¥191.2b20.5x46.8x1.9x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021JP¥10.2tJP¥4.6tJP¥179.7b19.2x56.9x2.2x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021JP¥10.1tJP¥4.7tJP¥148.1b21.9x68.1x2.1x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021JP¥9.5tJP¥4.8tJP¥152.8b17.9x62.2x2x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021JP¥9.7tJP¥4.8tJP¥152.8b18.7x63.5x2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

70.5x


Total Market Cap: JP¥10.8tTotal Earnings: JP¥152.8bTotal Revenue: JP¥4.8tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Apparel Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 35.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Japanese Apparel Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 28.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 35.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Apparel Retail industry have grown 54% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 9.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Apparel Retail compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.038%
Consumer Discretionary-0.83%
Specialty Stores-0.79%
Apparel Retail-1.44%
Specialty Stores3.20%
Computer and Electronics Retail0.60%
Home Improvement Retail0.25%
Automotive Retail-0.082%
Home Furnishing Retail-0.39%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2670 ABC-MartIncJP¥2.93k2.2%
+JP¥15.7b
14.2%PE18.1x
3092 ZOZOJP¥3.89k0.3%
+JP¥3.9b
27.2%PE26x
2685 AdastriaJP¥3.60k2.1%
+JP¥3.4b
19.0%PE12x
8214 AOKI HoldingsJP¥1.28k2.6%
+JP¥2.7b
47.7%PE14.2x
3612 WorldJP¥2.07k2.0%
+JP¥1.4b
32.0%PE11.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

3092

JP¥3,885.00

ZOZO

7D

0.3%

1Y

27.2%

7683

JP¥2,221.00

WA

7D

5.2%

1Y

4.5%

7545

JP¥2,222.00

Nishimatsuya Chain

7D

-4.3%

1Y

31.7%

2670

JP¥2,928.50

ABC-MartInc

7D

2.2%

1Y

14.2%

7445

JP¥373.00

RIGHT ON

7D

-5.6%

1Y

-35.0%

3612

JP¥2,071.00

World

7D

2.0%

1Y

32.0%

2792

JP¥1,578.00

Honeys Holdings

7D

-1.9%

1Y

2.1%

5892

JP¥1,956.00

yutori

7D

-12.4%

1Y

n/a

9990

JP¥760.00

Sac's Bar Holdings

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-26.4%

8214

JP¥1,276.00

AOKI Holdings

7D

2.6%

1Y

47.7%