Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Marine Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 16, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D-0.6%
  • 3M31.6%
  • 1Y57.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Marine industry has dropped 1.4%, driven by Nippon Yusen Kabushiki Kaisha declining 1.0%. On the other hand Nippon Concept is actually up 10%. In the past year, the industry has gained 60%. As for the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 16% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Marine Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 17 Feb 2024JP¥6.2tJP¥5.6tJP¥705.1b7.9x8.8x1.1x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024JP¥5.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥1.0t8x5.8x1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023JP¥4.9tJP¥5.7tJP¥1.0t7.3x4.8x0.9x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023JP¥4.6tJP¥5.7tJP¥1.0t5.9x4.5x0.8x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023JP¥5.0tJP¥5.9tJP¥1.9t5.7x2.7x0.9x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023JP¥5.2tJP¥5.9tJP¥1.9t5.7x2.8x0.9x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023JP¥4.6tJP¥6.0tJP¥2.4t5.3x1.9x0.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023JP¥4.1tJP¥6.0tJP¥2.6t5.2x1.6x0.7x
Mon, 29 May 2023JP¥3.7tJP¥6.0tJP¥2.6t5x1.4x0.6x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023JP¥4.0tJP¥6.0tJP¥3.1t4.6x1.3x0.7x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023JP¥4.1tJP¥6.0tJP¥3.1t4.4x1.3x0.7x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023JP¥4.1tJP¥6.0tJP¥3.1t4.4x1.3x0.7x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023JP¥3.6tJP¥5.8tJP¥3.4t4.3x1.1x0.6x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022JP¥3.8tJP¥5.8tJP¥3.4t4.4x1.1x0.7x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022JP¥3.5tJP¥5.8tJP¥3.4t4.4x1x0.6x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022JP¥3.2tJP¥5.4tJP¥3.0t4.4x1.1x0.6x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022JP¥4.1tJP¥5.4tJP¥3.0t4.7x1.4x0.8x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022JP¥4.5tJP¥5.3tJP¥3.0t5.6x1.5x0.8x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022JP¥3.7tJP¥5.0tJP¥2.4t5.5x1.5x0.7x
Tue, 31 May 2022JP¥4.5tJP¥5.0tJP¥2.4t5.7x1.8x0.9x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022JP¥3.8tJP¥4.7tJP¥1.8t6.5x2.1x0.8x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022JP¥4.2tJP¥4.7tJP¥1.8t6.5x2.3x0.9x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022JP¥3.9tJP¥4.7tJP¥1.8t6.5x2.2x0.8x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022JP¥3.8tJP¥4.4tJP¥1.2t8.1x3.1x0.9x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021JP¥3.4tJP¥4.4tJP¥1.2t7.8x2.7x0.8x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021JP¥2.9tJP¥4.4tJP¥1.2t8.5x2.3x0.7x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021JP¥2.9tJP¥4.1tJP¥702.9b12.4x4.2x0.7x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021JP¥3.6tJP¥4.1tJP¥703.0b12.7x5.1x0.9x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021JP¥2.8tJP¥4.1tJP¥703.0b10.3x4x0.7x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021JP¥1.8tJP¥3.8tJP¥361.1b8.2x4.9x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

7.4x


Total Market Cap: JP¥1.3tTotal Earnings: JP¥176.9bTotal Revenue: JP¥3.8tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Marine Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 2.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Marine industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 2.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.73x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Marine industry have grown 59% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Marine compare with similar industries?

JP Market1.00%
Industrials0.93%
Marine and Shipping-0.60%
Marine-0.60%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
9107 Kawasaki Kisen KaishaJP¥7.06k8.1%
+JP¥124.4b
111.8%PE12.7x
9104 Mitsui O.S.K. LinesJP¥5.29k5.7%
+JP¥103.9b
53.9%PE6.9x
9101 Nippon Yusen Kabushiki KaishaJP¥4.77k3.7%
+JP¥81.1b
42.1%PE9.1x
9119 Iino Kaiun KaishaJP¥1.33k5.3%
+JP¥7.1b
37.7%PE7.6x
9110 NS United Kaiun KaishaJP¥5.20k5.5%
+JP¥6.4b
25.6%PE7.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

9386

JP¥1,919.00

Nippon Concept

7D

10.7%

1Y

47.2%

9310

JP¥610.00

Japan Transcity

7D

0%

1Y

9.7%

9384

JP¥2,361.00

Naigai Trans Line

7D

-1.7%

1Y

9.5%

9171

JP¥1,004.00

Kuribayashi Steamship

7D

3.7%

1Y

71.6%

9127

JP¥1,899.00

Tamai Steamship

7D

-0.1%

1Y

30.7%

9101

JP¥4,767.00

Nippon Yusen Kabushiki Kaisha

7D

3.7%

1Y

42.1%

9107

JP¥7,062.00

Kawasaki Kisen Kaisha

7D

8.1%

1Y

111.8%

9104

JP¥5,287.00

Mitsui O.S.K. Lines

7D

5.7%

1Y

53.9%

9119

JP¥1,327.00

Iino Kaiun Kaisha

7D

5.3%

1Y

37.7%

9115

JP¥791.00

Meiji Shipping Group

7D

4.8%

1Y

24.0%

9173

JP¥2,469.00

Tokai Kisen

7D

-0.4%

1Y

2.4%

9110

JP¥5,200.00

NS United Kaiun Kaisha

7D

5.5%

1Y

25.6%