Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Paper Products Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D-0.6%
  • 3M-21.7%
  • 1Y2.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Paper Products industry has remained flat, although notably Oji Holdings declined by 3.4%. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Paper Products Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 22 Jun 2024JP¥1.1tJP¥4.2tJP¥99.0b11.8x11.6x0.3x
Mon, 20 May 2024JP¥1.2tJP¥4.2tJP¥98.6b12.1x12.1x0.3x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024JP¥1.3tJP¥4.3tJP¥43.0b10.8x30.7x0.3x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024JP¥1.3tJP¥4.3tJP¥43.0b11.3x30x0.3x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024JP¥1.3tJP¥4.3tJP¥42.6b14.2x29.9x0.3x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024JP¥1.2tJP¥4.3tJP¥14.6b14.3x84.2x0.3x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥4.3tJP¥14.6b14.1x81.9x0.3x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥4.3t-JP¥11,670,000,000.0015.3x-109.3x0.3x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023JP¥1.3tJP¥4.3t-JP¥11,670,000,000.0014.4x-107.7x0.3x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023JP¥1.2tJP¥4.3t-JP¥11,670,000,000.0013.7x-101.4x0.3x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023JP¥1.1tJP¥4.2t-JP¥13,245,000,000.0010.4x-86.7x0.3x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023JP¥1.1tJP¥4.2t-JP¥13,245,000,000.0010.1x-83.7x0.3x
Tue, 23 May 2023JP¥1.1tJP¥4.2t-JP¥13,245,000,000.009.8x-81.2x0.3x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥4.1tJP¥21.0b11.2x49.4x0.3x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥4.1tJP¥21.0b11.1x48.3x0.2x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023JP¥1.0tJP¥4.1tJP¥34.7b12.5x29x0.2x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023JP¥982.7bJP¥4.0tJP¥76.9b9.2x12.8x0.2x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022JP¥997.9bJP¥4.0tJP¥76.9b8.4x13x0.3x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022JP¥989.6bJP¥3.9tJP¥128.5b7.3x7.7x0.3x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022JP¥1.0tJP¥3.9tJP¥128.5b7.4x7.9x0.3x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥3.9tJP¥128.5b7.6x8.3x0.3x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥3.8tJP¥142.5b10x7.6x0.3x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥3.8tJP¥142.5b9.7x7.6x0.3x
Wed, 25 May 2022JP¥1.1tJP¥3.8tJP¥142.5b9.5x7.4x0.3x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.7tJP¥151.9b10.8x7.8x0.3x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.7tJP¥151.9b11.1x7.7x0.3x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022JP¥1.3tJP¥3.7tJP¥154.0b10.6x8.2x0.3x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022JP¥1.2tJP¥3.7tJP¥159.1b9.6x7.8x0.3x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021JP¥1.2tJP¥3.7tJP¥159.1b9.4x7.6x0.3x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021JP¥1.3tJP¥3.6tJP¥143.6b12.7x8.8x0.3x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021JP¥1.2tJP¥3.6tJP¥122.2b13.2x10.2x0.3x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021JP¥1.3tJP¥3.6tJP¥122.3b14.4x10.7x0.4x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021JP¥1.3tJP¥3.6tJP¥122.3b13.7x10.5x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.4x


Total Market Cap: JP¥1.3tTotal Earnings: JP¥122.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥3.6tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Paper Products Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 4.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Paper Products industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 4.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.29x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Paper Products industry have declined 6.8% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 5.8% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Paper Products compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.038%
Materials0.62%
Paper and Forestry Products-0.56%
Paper Products-0.56%
Forestry Products-0.53%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
3880 Daio PaperJP¥877.201.8%
+JP¥2.5b
-19.9%PE32.4x
3865 HokuetsuJP¥1.15k1.2%
+JP¥2.4b
29.4%PE23.1x
3708 Tokushu Tokai PaperJP¥3.68k2.1%
+JP¥862.1m
13.4%PE9.2x
3863 Nippon Paper IndustriesJP¥959.000.3%
+JP¥346.2m
-20.5%PE4.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.