Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies119
  • 7D-0.9%
  • 3M-1.7%
  • 1Y11.4%
  • YTDn/a

Last week, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry hasn't moved much but Toyo Suisan Kaisha is up 7.4% in that time. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 12% in that time. Earnings are forecast to grow by 5.1% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Packaged Foods and Meats Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 27 May 2024JP¥17.8tJP¥22.7tJP¥953.8b15.6x18.7x0.8x
Wed, 24 Apr 2024JP¥18.0tJP¥22.5tJP¥951.2b16.8x19x0.8x
Fri, 22 Mar 2024JP¥18.3tJP¥22.5tJP¥948.6b17.2x19.3x0.8x
Sun, 18 Feb 2024JP¥18.0tJP¥22.4tJP¥945.6b17.2x19.1x0.8x
Tue, 16 Jan 2024JP¥18.1tJP¥22.3tJP¥890.5b17.9x20.3x0.8x
Thu, 14 Dec 2023JP¥17.3tJP¥22.2tJP¥889.6b17.5x19.4x0.8x
Sat, 11 Nov 2023JP¥17.7tJP¥22.2tJP¥877.0b17.9x20.2x0.8x
Mon, 09 Oct 2023JP¥17.1tJP¥22.0tJP¥787.0b20.7x21.7x0.8x
Wed, 06 Sep 2023JP¥17.4tJP¥21.9tJP¥783.0b20.2x22.2x0.8x
Fri, 04 Aug 2023JP¥16.2tJP¥21.7tJP¥703.7b21.1x23.1x0.7x
Sun, 02 Jul 2023JP¥16.3tJP¥21.6tJP¥682.9b20.4x23.9x0.8x
Tue, 30 May 2023JP¥16.1tJP¥21.6tJP¥682.8b20.4x23.6x0.7x
Thu, 27 Apr 2023JP¥15.6tJP¥21.0tJP¥664.7b18.5x23.4x0.7x
Sat, 25 Mar 2023JP¥14.8tJP¥21.0tJP¥667.9b17.7x22.1x0.7x
Mon, 20 Feb 2023JP¥14.4tJP¥20.9tJP¥668.0b17.4x21.6x0.7x
Wed, 18 Jan 2023JP¥14.1tJP¥20.4tJP¥681.6b17x20.7x0.7x
Fri, 16 Dec 2022JP¥14.7tJP¥20.4tJP¥685.0b18.7x21.5x0.7x
Sun, 13 Nov 2022JP¥14.3tJP¥20.3tJP¥686.9b16.7x20.8x0.7x
Tue, 11 Oct 2022JP¥14.4tJP¥19.8tJP¥769.8b16.5x18.7x0.7x
Thu, 08 Sep 2022JP¥14.3tJP¥19.8tJP¥770.7b16.2x18.5x0.7x
Sat, 06 Aug 2022JP¥14.5tJP¥19.6tJP¥793.6b14.7x18.3x0.7x
Mon, 04 Jul 2022JP¥13.9tJP¥19.3tJP¥791.9b15x17.6x0.7x
Wed, 01 Jun 2022JP¥13.0tJP¥19.4tJP¥792.9b15x16.4x0.7x
Fri, 29 Apr 2022JP¥13.5tJP¥19.4tJP¥767.1b14.2x17.6x0.7x
Sun, 27 Mar 2022JP¥14.0tJP¥19.3tJP¥764.1b14.9x18.4x0.7x
Tue, 22 Feb 2022JP¥14.1tJP¥19.3tJP¥762.4b15.5x18.5x0.7x
Thu, 20 Jan 2022JP¥13.4tJP¥19.2tJP¥759.9b15.2x17.6x0.7x
Sat, 18 Dec 2021JP¥14.3tJP¥19.2tJP¥755.5b14.6x18.9x0.7x
Mon, 15 Nov 2021JP¥14.7tJP¥19.3tJP¥753.5b16x19.4x0.8x
Wed, 13 Oct 2021JP¥14.5tJP¥19.2tJP¥710.5b16.6x20.4x0.8x
Fri, 10 Sep 2021JP¥15.2tJP¥19.5tJP¥716.7b17.3x21.2x0.8x
Sun, 08 Aug 2021JP¥13.8tJP¥19.5tJP¥716.9b16.3x19.2x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20x


Total Market Cap: JP¥13.4tTotal Earnings: JP¥670.1bTotal Revenue: JP¥19.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Japanese Packaged Foods and Meats industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 20.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.74x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaged Foods and Meats industry have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 5.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Packaged Foods and Meats compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.30%
Consumer Staples-0.66%
Food-0.88%
Packaged Foods and Meats-0.87%
Agricultural Products-1.57%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2801 KikkomanJP¥1.86k2.1%
+JP¥36.6b
11.2%PE31.3x
2269 Meiji HoldingsJP¥3.52k1.6%
+JP¥15.1b
10.4%PE19.4x
2270 MEGMILK SNOW BRANDLtdJP¥2.60k4.5%
+JP¥7.6b
35.2%PE9x
2938 Okamura FoodsJP¥3.30k24.6%
+JP¥5.3b
n/aPE15.7x
2607 Fuji Oil HoldingsJP¥2.40k1.9%
+JP¥3.8b
21.1%PE31.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2003

JP¥6,280.00

Nitto Fuji Flour MillingLtd

7D

4.7%

1Y

35.8%

2267

JP¥2,881.50

Yakult HonshaLtd

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-36.7%

2871

JP¥3,622.00

Nichirei

7D

-3.2%

1Y

20.5%

2002

JP¥1,741.50

Nisshin Seifun Group

7D

-6.5%

1Y

-1.7%

2897

JP¥4,003.00

Nissin Foods HoldingsLtd

7D

-3.2%

1Y

0.8%

2875

JP¥11,290.00

Toyo Suisan Kaisha

7D

-2.1%

1Y

93.0%

2201

JP¥2,508.00

Morinaga&Co

7D

1.3%

1Y

10.2%

2607

JP¥2,400.00

Fuji Oil Holdings

7D

1.9%

1Y

21.1%

2212

JP¥3,482.00

Yamazaki Baking

7D

-2.2%

1Y

71.3%

2923

JP¥7,050.00

Sato Foods

7D

7.6%

1Y

41.0%

2938

JP¥3,300.00

Okamura Foods

7D

24.6%

1Y

n/a