Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Publishing Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies23
  • 7D-2.7%
  • 3M6.2%
  • 1Y-8.5%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Publishing industry has dropped 2.7%, driven by a pullback from Kadokawa of 5.0%. Overall the industry is down 8.5% in 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 17% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Publishing Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024JP¥635.4bJP¥599.5bJP¥27.8b12.7x22.9x1.1x
Tue, 21 May 2024JP¥664.3bJP¥598.9bJP¥27.9b12x23.8x1.1x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024JP¥603.8bJP¥589.5bJP¥24.0b12.1x25.1x1x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024JP¥657.6bJP¥758.0bJP¥27.0b13.1x24.3x0.9x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024JP¥669.6bJP¥755.6bJP¥27.4b14x24.4x0.9x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024JP¥688.6bJP¥750.6bJP¥25.6b15x26.9x0.9x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023JP¥621.8bJP¥750.7bJP¥25.6b14.3x24.3x0.8x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023JP¥675.4bJP¥743.9bJP¥24.0b16.6x28.1x0.9x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023JP¥689.0bJP¥734.5bJP¥26.6b16.8x25.9x0.9x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023JP¥745.0bJP¥762.7bJP¥27.7b15.9x26.9x1x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023JP¥764.9bJP¥761.3bJP¥31.8b16.8x24.1x1x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023JP¥752.9bJP¥761.0bJP¥31.9b15.8x23.6x1x
Wed, 24 May 2023JP¥716.0bJP¥757.7bJP¥31.5b17.5x22.7x0.9x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023JP¥675.0bJP¥740.7bJP¥33.3b17.2x20.3x0.9x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023JP¥625.3bJP¥715.0bJP¥32.4b15.3x19.3x0.9x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023JP¥600.9bJP¥714.4bJP¥32.1b14.2x18.7x0.8x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023JP¥573.7bJP¥684.6bJP¥35.0b13.2x16.4x0.8x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022JP¥607.7bJP¥684.7bJP¥35.0b13.5x17.4x0.9x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022JP¥585.2bJP¥684.8bJP¥34.5b13.5x16.9x0.9x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022JP¥626.1bJP¥665.0bJP¥35.3b12.9x17.7x0.9x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022JP¥681.8bJP¥664.9bJP¥35.3b13.9x19.3x1x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022JP¥685.7bJP¥639.2bJP¥31.7b13.7x21.6x1.1x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022JP¥645.9bJP¥638.7bJP¥31.8b14x20.3x1x
Thu, 26 May 2022JP¥644.2bJP¥638.7bJP¥31.8b13x20.3x1x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022JP¥688.1bJP¥614.8bJP¥26.8b15.4x25.7x1.1x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022JP¥711.0bJP¥614.6bJP¥26.7b14x26.6x1.2x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022JP¥625.8bJP¥614.0bJP¥26.6b14.1x23.5x1x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022JP¥679.5bJP¥614.8bJP¥25.4b15.4x26.8x1.1x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021JP¥698.9bJP¥624.0bJP¥24.5b15.9x28.5x1.1x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021JP¥727.1bJP¥621.6bJP¥23.5b19.5x30.9x1.2x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021JP¥692.9bJP¥617.3bJP¥21.6b23x32.1x1.1x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021JP¥662.3bJP¥641.2bJP¥21.9b22.4x30.2x1x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021JP¥639.8bJP¥641.2bJP¥21.9b24.1x29.2x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

27.8x


Total Market Cap: JP¥609.1bTotal Earnings: JP¥21.9bTotal Revenue: JP¥641.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Publishing Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Japanese Publishing industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.98x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Publishing industry have grown 8.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 2.2% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Publishing compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.62%
Telecom-0.28%
Media-0.58%
Publishing-2.66%
Broadcasting2.63%
Cable and Satellite-2.06%
Advertising-2.27%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
9474 ZenrinJP¥948.004.4%
+JP¥2.1b
3.6%PE24.3x
4298 ProtoJP¥1.44k1.8%
+JP¥1.0b
27.3%PE10.6x
9478 SE Holdings and IncubationsJP¥295.006.5%
+JP¥323.6m
19.0%PE7.3x
7849 Starts PublishingJP¥3.46k2.2%
+JP¥288.0m
-17.7%PE7.6x
3560 HobonichiJP¥3.46k2.4%
+JP¥185.6m
-5.6%PE15.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

6549

JP¥1,359.00

DM SolutionsLtd

7D

3.7%

1Y

17.0%

9471

JP¥1,179.00

Bunkeido

7D

-0.08%

1Y

4.0%

2408

JP¥642.00

KG Intelligence

7D

-4.7%

1Y

62.9%

9467

JP¥2,032.00

AlphaPolis

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-23.4%

3931

JP¥995.00

VALUE GOLF

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-27.3%

2139

JP¥524.00

Chuco

7D

3.8%

1Y

27.8%

4298

JP¥1,440.00

Proto

7D

1.8%

1Y

27.3%

2376

JP¥717.00

Scinex

7D

-3.5%

1Y

5.0%

9478

JP¥295.00

SE Holdings and Incubations

7D

6.5%

1Y

19.0%

4833

JP¥85.00

Success Holders

7D

3.7%

1Y

-25.4%

9782

JP¥1,836.00

DMS

7D

-1.8%

1Y

35.0%

3560

JP¥3,460.00

Hobonichi

7D

2.4%

1Y

-5.6%