Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Investment Banking and Brokerage Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies37
  • 7D-0.8%
  • 3M-9.3%
  • 1Y39.5%
  • YTDn/a

The Investment Banking and Brokerage is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but M&A Research Institute Holdings has stood out, gaining 25%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 39% in that time. Earnings are forecast to grow by 11% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Investment Banking and Brokerage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 25 Jun 2024JP¥5.8tJP¥3.4tJP¥370.7b13.5x15.6x1.7x
Thu, 23 May 2024JP¥5.9tJP¥3.4tJP¥370.7b13.9x16x1.7x
Sat, 20 Apr 2024JP¥5.5tJP¥3.2tJP¥278.2b18x19.6x1.7x
Mon, 18 Mar 2024JP¥5.6tJP¥3.2tJP¥278.1b18.4x20.3x1.8x
Wed, 14 Feb 2024JP¥5.3tJP¥3.2tJP¥276.4b17.9x19.2x1.6x
Fri, 12 Jan 2024JP¥4.0tJP¥2.8tJP¥218.6b18.1x18.1x1.4x
Sun, 10 Dec 2023JP¥3.8tJP¥2.8tJP¥218.6b16.7x17.2x1.3x
Tue, 07 Nov 2023JP¥4.3tJP¥3.1tJP¥262.1b16.9x16.2x1.4x
Thu, 05 Oct 2023JP¥5.3tJP¥4.0tJP¥306.7b16x17.4x1.3x
Sat, 02 Sep 2023JP¥5.2tJP¥4.0tJP¥307.4b17x16.9x1.3x
Mon, 31 Jul 2023JP¥5.0tJP¥3.8tJP¥243.9b19.5x20.7x1.3x
Wed, 28 Jun 2023JP¥4.7tJP¥3.8tJP¥236.4b20.7x19.8x1.2x
Fri, 26 May 2023JP¥4.5tJP¥3.8tJP¥236.4b21.4x18.9x1.2x
Sun, 23 Apr 2023JP¥4.5tJP¥3.5tJP¥238.9b22.6x18.9x1.3x
Tue, 21 Mar 2023JP¥4.2tJP¥3.5tJP¥240.7b22.1x17.6x1.2x
Thu, 16 Feb 2023JP¥3.7tJP¥2.8tJP¥175.9b23.1x20.8x1.3x
Sat, 14 Jan 2023JP¥4.3tJP¥3.4tJP¥544.7b15.4x8x1.3x
Mon, 12 Dec 2022JP¥4.2tJP¥3.4tJP¥544.7b14.4x7.7x1.2x
Wed, 09 Nov 2022JP¥3.4tJP¥2.7tJP¥505.8b13.4x6.7x1.2x
Fri, 07 Oct 2022JP¥4.2tJP¥3.3tJP¥586.2b12.1x7.2x1.3x
Sun, 04 Sep 2022JP¥4.3tJP¥3.3tJP¥586.2b11.9x7.3x1.3x
Tue, 02 Aug 2022JP¥3.4tJP¥2.7tJP¥586.8b10.7x5.8x1.3x
Thu, 30 Jun 2022JP¥4.2tJP¥3.3tJP¥693.1b9.7x6x1.3x
Sat, 28 May 2022JP¥4.1tJP¥3.3tJP¥716.0b9.8x5.8x1.3x
Mon, 25 Apr 2022JP¥4.4tJP¥3.2tJP¥571.7b8.2x7.7x1.4x
Wed, 23 Mar 2022JP¥4.7tJP¥3.2tJP¥571.0b9.2x8.2x1.5x
Fri, 18 Feb 2022JP¥4.6tJP¥3.1tJP¥306.6b9.3x15.1x1.5x
Sun, 16 Jan 2022JP¥4.7tJP¥3.1tJP¥347.3b8.9x13.5x1.5x
Tue, 14 Dec 2021JP¥4.6tJP¥3.1tJP¥347.8b8.7x13.2x1.5x
Thu, 11 Nov 2021JP¥4.6tJP¥3.1tJP¥350.1b9.1x13.1x1.5x
Sat, 09 Oct 2021JP¥4.7tJP¥3.1tJP¥364.7b9.6x12.8x1.5x
Mon, 06 Sep 2021JP¥4.8tJP¥3.1tJP¥363.3b10.5x13.3x1.6x
Wed, 04 Aug 2021JP¥4.5tJP¥3.1tJP¥363.3b9.8x12.3x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

12.8x


Total Market Cap: JP¥4.7tTotal Earnings: JP¥363.3bTotal Revenue: JP¥3.1tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Investment Banking and Brokerage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Investment Banking and Brokerage industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 15.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 13.7x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.4x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Investment Banking and Brokerage industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 3.3% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does Japanese Investment Banking and Brokerage compare with similar industries?

JP Market-0.62%
Financials0.32%
Capital Markets-0.62%
Investment Banking and Brokerage-0.80%
Diversified Capital Markets0%
Financial Exchanges and Data-0.046%
Asset Management-0.79%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
9552 M&A Research Institute HoldingsJP¥4.17k25.4%
+JP¥49.5b
8.6%PE57.4x
2127 Nihon M&A Center HoldingsJP¥838.205.3%
+JP¥13.4b
-23.4%PE24.8x
8604 Nomura HoldingsJP¥901.300.4%
+JP¥9.7b
66.6%PE16.1x
8628 Matsui SecuritiesJP¥833.004.5%
+JP¥9.3b
5.3%PE24.6x
6196 Strike CompanyLimitedJP¥4.58k8.5%
+JP¥6.9b
32.2%PE17.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

8698

JP¥726.00

Monex Group

7D

1.5%

1Y

33.7%

7185

JP¥3,970.00

Hirose Tusyo

7D

-1.5%

1Y

37.1%

8613

JP¥1,040.00

Marusan Securities

7D

4.9%

1Y

140.2%

8601

JP¥1,164.00

Daiwa Securities Group

7D

-0.4%

1Y

61.3%

8604

JP¥901.30

Nomura Holdings

7D

0.4%

1Y

66.6%

8742

JP¥280.00

Kobayashi Yoko

7D

-1.8%

1Y

19.7%

9552

JP¥4,170.00

M&A Research Institute Holdings

7D

25.4%

1Y

8.6%

8628

JP¥833.00

Matsui Securities

7D

4.5%

1Y

5.3%

8614

JP¥373.00

Toyo Securities

7D

-0.8%

1Y

18.8%

8473

JP¥3,904.00

SBI Holdings

7D

-0.7%

1Y

41.5%

6196

JP¥4,575.00

Strike CompanyLimited

7D

8.5%

1Y

32.2%

8609

JP¥758.00

Okasan Securities Group

7D

-1.8%

1Y

64.4%

8617

JP¥593.00

Kosei Securities

7D

-4.8%

1Y

10.4%