Header cover image

Japanese (NIKKEI) Medical Equipment Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies40
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M15.4%
  • 1Y16.9%
  • YTD14.4%

The Medical Equipment industry has stayed flat over the last week. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 17% in that time. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Japanese Medical Equipment Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024JP¥19.0tJP¥5.3tJP¥492.0b15.4x38.7x3.6x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024JP¥18.0tJP¥5.4tJP¥513.4b15.3x35x3.3x
Thu, 16 May 2024JP¥18.6tJP¥5.4tJP¥482.7b17.6x38.5x3.5x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024JP¥17.2tJP¥5.3tJP¥485.0b17.5x35.4x3.2x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024JP¥18.9tJP¥5.3tJP¥485.2b18.1x39x3.6x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024JP¥17.7tJP¥5.3tJP¥518.4b17.9x34.1x3.4x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024JP¥17.0tJP¥5.2tJP¥510.0b17.9x33.4x3.3x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023JP¥17.0tJP¥5.2tJP¥510.0b17.9x33.3x3.2x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023JP¥14.9tJP¥5.1tJP¥562.4b17.4x26.6x2.9x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023JP¥15.7tJP¥5.1tJP¥563.4b17.3x27.9x3.1x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023JP¥15.8tJP¥5.1tJP¥563.4b17.4x28.1x3.1x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023JP¥16.8tJP¥5.1tJP¥582.7b16.7x28.8x3.3x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023JP¥17.9tJP¥5.1tJP¥583.3b16.7x30.8x3.5x
Fri, 19 May 2023JP¥16.8tJP¥5.1tJP¥580.6b16.5x28.9x3.3x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023JP¥15.9tJP¥5.1tJP¥559.5b16.9x28.4x3.1x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023JP¥15.4tJP¥5.1tJP¥559.2b17x27.6x3x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023JP¥15.9tJP¥5.0tJP¥533.7b15.5x29.7x3.2x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023JP¥14.7tJP¥4.9tJP¥551.3b14.9x26.7x3x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022JP¥16.3tJP¥4.9tJP¥551.1b15x29.6x3.3x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022JP¥17.1tJP¥4.8tJP¥545.5b14.6x31.4x3.5x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022JP¥16.5tJP¥4.8tJP¥540.3b14.5x30.5x3.4x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022JP¥17.9tJP¥4.8tJP¥540.3b16x33.1x3.7x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022JP¥17.0tJP¥4.7tJP¥545.5b15.8x31.1x3.6x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022JP¥15.2tJP¥4.7tJP¥544.7b13.7x27.9x3.2x
Sat, 21 May 2022JP¥15.8tJP¥4.6tJP¥570.0b13.7x27.7x3.4x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022JP¥15.4tJP¥4.6tJP¥549.5b13.1x28.1x3.4x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022JP¥14.5tJP¥4.6tJP¥549.6b13.1x26.3x3.2x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022JP¥17.1tJP¥4.6tJP¥562.4b12.6x30.4x3.8x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022JP¥18.5tJP¥4.5tJP¥558.1b14.8x33.1x4.1x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021JP¥19.6tJP¥4.5tJP¥558.2b15.4x35.1x4.4x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021JP¥20.2tJP¥4.4tJP¥523.5b16.9x38.7x4.6x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021JP¥19.7tJP¥4.0tJP¥493.8b17.8x39.8x4.9x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021JP¥18.9tJP¥4.0tJP¥493.9b18.9x38.4x4.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

38.2x


Total Market Cap: JP¥18.9tTotal Earnings: JP¥493.9bTotal Revenue: JP¥4.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Japanese Medical Equipment Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 32.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Japanese Medical Equipment industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 38.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 32.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 3.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Medical Equipment industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 9.2% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Japanese Healthcare industry?

JP Market-1.20%
Healthcare-1.03%
Medical Equipment0.14%
Medical Equipment1.86%
Medical Supplies-1.84%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Medical Equipment industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 30.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 15.8%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 10.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Medical Supplies industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 34.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Medical Equipment industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 16% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Medical Supplies industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 11% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
4543 TerumoJP¥2.80k2.7%
+JP¥109.1b
28.0%PE39.1x
7733 OlympusJP¥2.70k1.8%
+JP¥57.1b
21.0%PE118.2x
7747 Asahi InteccJP¥2.50k4.5%
+JP¥29.1b
-10.7%PE44.9x
6849 Nihon KohdenJP¥2.44k7.4%
+JP¥28.1b
31.1%PE24x
197A TAUNS LaboratoriesIncJP¥510.0015.1%
+JP¥6.7b
n/an/a
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

7807

JP¥1,095.00

KowaLtd

7D

-16.9%

1Y

10.6%

7741

JP¥19,930.00

HOYA

7D

-2.9%

1Y

26.9%

3593

JP¥4,295.00

Hogy MedicalLtd

7D

2.8%

1Y

39.9%

7779

JP¥235.00

CYBERDYNE

7D

10.8%

1Y

-21.4%

7634

JP¥4,815.00

Hoshi Iryo-Sanki

7D

-3.7%

1Y

13.3%

4543

JP¥2,800.00

Terumo

7D

2.7%

1Y

28.0%

6869

JP¥2,574.50

Sysmex

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-18.4%

7447

JP¥2,684.00

Nagaileben

7D

3.5%

1Y

19.4%

197A

JP¥510.00

TAUNS LaboratoriesInc

7D

15.1%

1Y

n/a

4574

JP¥452.00

Taiko PharmaceuticalLtd

7D

-5.4%

1Y

31.8%

7749

JP¥3,100.00

MedikitLtd

7D

-1.0%

1Y

23.9%